What resolution do you use for everyday use? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I leave my media center PC in 1080P 60hz all the time (23hz when watching blu ray or MKVs).

Does this impact what I am watching via my Ceton card for live TV which is I believe is broadcast in 1080i at best (this is the best a set top cable box can do)? Should I be switching to 1080i for live TV and 1080p for blu ray and blu ray rip MKVs etc?

Just curious
moshster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Leave the resolution to the highest quality your display's NATIVE panel will do, always. The difference is deinterlacing the 1080i which is done in the PC easily... any 720p stations will be upscaled in the PC to 1080p as well. The short answer: NO
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 163
What he said.
captain_video is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
ozar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I too stick with 1080P at all times.

oz
ozar is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Live OTA tv @ 1080p. When i'm watching online video I switch to 720p.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-20-2012, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 163
There's no need to switch resolutions. Your graphics card will automatically render the video in the same resolution as the video file.
captain_video is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off