Help needed : bluray playback on i3-2100 is not good - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sanjaay12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have recently built a new htpc with the below specs..

1. 13-2100
2. asrock z68 pro-m
3. crosair 4gb ddr3 (1600 mhz)
4. Win 7 ultimate ( 32 bit version )
5. LG 16x bluray drive
6. LG 23 inch LED monitor ( Full HD )
7. Software used : powerdvd 9 / power dvd 12 ( 30 day trial ) / MPC HC / VLC media player

I tried playing couple of bluray discs and the output and PQ was not satisfactory. I have tried using all of the above media players. There were several 'grains' and sometimes 'shades' / shadows on the screen. I have also tried some 1080p HD videos from 'you tube' and it wasnt smooth or impressive either.

But, when I played the same blu ray discs with a bluray player ( connected to LED tv or asus projector ) the PQ was impressive!!!!

why would there be a difference between 'bluray player' and 'bluray drive' playback?...how can I achieve similar PQ on a HTPC as well?...pls help.
sanjaay12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You posted every spec about your system except for the most important one, the video card (and driver version) you are using. Please provide.

HTPC Enthusiast
Scallica is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sanjaay12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no discrete card yet. I am using the integrated one ( HD2000 with i3-2100 )
sanjaay12 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
blackangst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
do you have the latest Intel driver? Have you tried playback with something like Shark007 codec pack and WMC or WMP classic?

edit: the latest Intel driver can be found HERE for 32 bit and HERE for 64 bit. Do NOT NOT NOT install the Intel driver via Windows update. In fact, I make it a practive on ALL my PC's to NEVER intall hardware drivers from Windows update. It's a good practive to get in to.
blackangst is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The REAL most imporant question is what codecs do you have installed.

From another thread here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

If you want to play blu-ray from the disk, why are you using an HTPC? A stand alone player is much cheaper and does the job very well.

Rip your BRD's to mkv and play away using MPC-HC with LAV installed.


Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sanjaay12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Installing the latest drivers doesnt help
sanjaay12 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
sdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried installing the Shark007 codec yet like someone else mentioned?
sdriver is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 11:05 AM
Member
 
gaidin43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Replace the i3 2100 with a 2105
gaidin43 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaidin43 View Post

Replace the i3 2100 with a 2105

That definitely isn't his problem.
assassin is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
To each his own but I'm still trying to figure out why play a BRD from an HTPC when there are better ways to play the disc or watch the content with neither being dependent on the other.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
daidavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using an i3-2120T with HD2000 graphics, 16gb ram, Win 7 x64, no codec packs or anything like that installed. Playback in both 2D and 3D is working fine using the latest version of Total Media Theatre (5.2). So I'd think your processor should be capable ... good luck!
daidavel is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
A few thoughts...

Have you changed or adjusted the settings for the input that your HTPC is connected to in your HDTV? This can make a big difference.

Have you installed ALL the drivers including ALL the Intel drivers?

I don't use the HTPC to playback Bluray discs (I have a Panny bluray player) but I would try a different program. Also I would consider ripping to another format like MKV and playing it back outside the player altogether in something like MPC-HC, WMC, XBMC, etc to see if that changes things.
assassin is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
blackangst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
OP: most TV's have something where you can see what kind of signal the TV is getting. For example, on mine, if I hit the info button on the TV remote, it tells me 1080p. Do you have something similar? What Im after is...are you sure the TV is getting the proper signal?

Also, are you using a receiver?
blackangst is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-21-2012, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ghostlobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the blu ray disk playback only, how is the pc connected to the display? Don't most playback apps scale down if you are analog connected via VGA?
Rather than crawling around to reconnect the cable, just slap the trial of anydvd hd in place and that will stop it from scaling down.
Also, yes, the 2100 IGP is 100% capabale of great quality blu ray.

Ray
===Ghostlobster===
ghostlobster is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off