Which video card has NO HDCP/Hanshake issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-21-2012, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help!

I have the nvidia gt 430 video card. If the computer boots up without the monitor turned on it cannot sync without a complete reboot.

Which video card can sync / handshake without needing to have the monitor powered on during boot?

Thanks!
mkedda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does this mean there are no?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkedda View Post

Help!

I have the nvidia gt 430 video card. If the computer boots up without the monitor turned on it cannot sync without a complete reboot.

Which video card can sync / handshake without needing to have the monitor powered on during boot?

Thanks!

mkedda is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 06:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Depends on the other components (AV recevier, HDTV, etc) in your chain. I don't think there is one universal card that has no issues no matter what the setup.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Only reliable and easy option is HDMI Detective:



You could have a look at the EDID hack thread but it depoends how you value your time!
Heuer is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heuer View Post

Only reliable and easy option is HDMI Detective:



You could have a look at the EDID hack thread but it depoends how you value your time!

I think for about 90% of people, these things work without any need for such complications. Most people have no need of an HDMI Detective.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020 View Post

I think for about 90% of people, these things work without any need for such complications. Most people have no need of an HDMI Detective.

That's a last resort option. If you need to buy one, you'll figure it out after a bunch of testing. I have several HTPCs, and only one of them needs the HDMI Detective Plus - the other two have no issues at all.
kegobeer is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-22-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am surprised that you expect a video card to sync with a monitor that is not turned on. My monitor is in standby when it is not fully turned on and the boot process causes it to fully power on(wake up) and then sync. I also have it set to wake up if the keyboard is used or if the mouse is moved. The settings for waking up are in the system BIOS and are not tied to the graphics card.
walford is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-23-2012, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mkedda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the video card should be able to remember the edid of the last device it connected to... i hated paying nearly 100 for the hdmi detetive...

i ran out to the store and purchased a zotac nvidia gt 545 and dropped it into the box, it works perfectly, it syncs to the monitor with the device powered off.
mkedda is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-23-2012, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkedda View Post

the video card should be able to remember the edid of the last device it connected to... i hated paying nearly 100 for the hdmi detetive...

i ran out to the store and purchased a zotac nvidia gt 545 and dropped it into the box, it works perfectly, it syncs to the monitor with the device powered off.

Some will. Some won't. Only way to know is to test every single option out there on your specific setup.

Again, there is no universal answer here.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-23-2012, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is a big difference between setting the power button to off (which is normally standby) and actually unplugging a system.
walford is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-23-2012, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Bignickfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope this helps...
I have one HTPC that has the 450GTS, I can boot up with the LCD on standby, I have not tried it with power off.
Sony 40" LCD connected via HDMI.
PS I have had various other HTPC's with ATI card's that cannot do this.
Bignickfly is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-23-2012, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Acesfullup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I reboot my Win 7x86 XBMC Eden Beta 3 every night with my Toshiba Regza monitor off. I have never had this issue.
Acesfullup is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-24-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I am using onboard Radeon 4250, and NEVER had any HDCP issues. It boots with or without the TV on.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off