Cedar Trail (Atom D2700 2.13GHz/GMA 3650): 1080p using only 12W - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 53 Old 03-30-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by coppertubing View Post

Now here is the perfect case for it.

Lian Li PC-Q05

No, this is the perfect case for it



 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 53 Old 03-30-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Well since HD Netflix isn't CPU limited I wonder if its being efficiently off loaded to the gpu. Maybe this will be solved with driver or software updates.
jeffkro is offline  
post #33 of 53 Old 03-30-2012, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Well since HD Netflix isn't CPU limited I wonder if its being efficiently off loaded to the gpu. Maybe this will be solved with driver or software updates.

It was a world of difference between Silverlight 4 and 5. Silverlight 4 it would freeze. Silverlight 5 it was a bit jerky here and there. It is of course impossible to know what else plays into that being a network / internet stream. I am not sure how one would play a Silverlight HD video off a local drive.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #34 of 53 Old 03-30-2012, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Some results from some quick testing.

Configuration:
Intel BOXD2700DC
4GB Kingston DDR3-800 SO-DIMM
Kingston 64GB SSD
12V120W DC board with 12V 5A AC adapter

Kill-A-Watt readings:
Sitting at desktop: ~14W
Watching MKV 1080p h.264 BD rip: ~17W
Prime95: ~19.5W

Speedfan reported the highest temp during Prime95 at ~120F. The system is in a 9.4" x 8" x 3" case and the system is totally passive.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #35 of 53 Old 03-31-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Interesting, StardogChampion. So how close to 23.976 Hz does your BOXD2700DC get? Totally passive systems are cool. I have my main HTPC in as quiet and cool of a config as possible, but it still has a low RPM 120mm fan for the CPU.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #36 of 53 Old 03-31-2012, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

Interesting, StardogChampion. So how close to 23.976 Hz does your BOXD2700DC get? Totally passive systems are cool. I have my main HTPC in as quiet and cool of a config as possible, but it still has a low RPM 120mm fan for the CPU.

The next step is to hook it up to a plasma TV, install MPC-HC, and give it a run. I'll post back the results.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #37 of 53 Old 03-31-2012, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

Interesting, StardogChampion. So how close to 23.976 Hz does your BOXD2700DC get? Totally passive systems are cool. I have my main HTPC in as quiet and cool of a config as possible, but it still has a low RPM 120mm fan for the CPU.

Yes this should be interesting because its power vr graphics
jeffkro is offline  
post #38 of 53 Old 04-01-2012, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker View Post

Is the CPU running 24x7?

20w * 24 * 365 / 1000 = 175 kwh

In Mass, I pay about $.17 /kwh

175 * .17 = $30

In NorCal, tier 1 and tier 2 are like $0.12-0.13. Tier 3 and tier 4 are over $0.30/kwh. I am very interested in the DN2800MT too.
dksc318 is offline  
post #39 of 53 Old 04-02-2012, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Initial review of Cedar Trail notebook: http://www.anandtech.com/show/5701/q...nd-cedar-trail.

Pretty much the same issue I've found. N2600 though so grain of salt required.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #40 of 53 Old 06-16-2012, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Alfred E Newman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings All
This mobo is a big No! No! It can't give smooth Blu Ray let alone DVD at 1920X1080 lower res a bit better but in general the mobo is not suited to HTPC. Unless I have got a crap mobo The whole series of mobos is missing something. Of course one of the real poblems is the lack of full 64bit drivers due to intels policies, what ever they are.
Alfred E Newman is offline  
post #41 of 53 Old 06-16-2012, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfred E Newman View Post

Greetings All
This mobo is a big No! No! It can't give smooth Blu Ray let alone DVD at 1920X1080 lower res a bit better but in general the mobo is not suited to HTPC. Unless I have got a crap mobo The whole series of mobos is missing something. Of course one of the real poblems is the lack of full 64bit drivers due to intels policies, what ever they are.

I had this problem until I downloaded the latest Intel drivers. The ones that come on the CD are no-go.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #42 of 53 Old 06-17-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Well since HD Netflix isn't CPU limited I wonder if its being efficiently off loaded to the gpu. Maybe this will be solved with driver or software updates.

I reckon it's still CPU limited. The D2700 has hyperthreading so if you're getting 50% CPU utilization, that means you're already maxing out two cores. HT probably just doesn't help much.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #43 of 53 Old 06-17-2012, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
One thing I didn't try was medium quality setting for Netflix HD (it's something you can select in your account apparently). I still have the motherboard so maybe I'll give it a try when I build the system back up.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #44 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

One thing I didn't try was medium quality setting for Netflix HD (it's something you can select in your account apparently). I still have the motherboard so maybe I'll give it a try when I build the system back up.
That should work fine. I remember the Atom 330 doing well enough before Netflix went HD. Scratch that. I think you're probably referring to the 2000+Kbps 720p stream. Both my Atom 330 and Zacate choked on that. Not sure if Cedar Trail has improved enough to be able to handle it.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #45 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovejedd View Post

That should work fine. I remember the Atom 330 doing well enough before Netflix went HD.

All non-HD Netflix material worked fine on the D2700DC. Any local HD material worked fine too (though it was all progressive -- I did not try any HD interlaced material). I need to try HD on medium next. I should also try SD interlaced material. I'll have to do this before I give the PC to Mom. It's not an HTPC it's going to be her surfing/Etsy store PC smile.gif. It has been interesting to have the platform and test some HTPC features on it though. It feels like it's just one generation away from being there for HTPC.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #46 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 08:29 AM
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post


$15.77 a year where I live. Assuming 24/7

So your cost is about $.09/kwh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


So its about $8/year for me I would bet as mine is probably awake only half the day.

Wow, your cost is even cheaper. Where do you live? Niagara Falls? That's $.05/kwh.
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #47 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 08:40 AM
Member
 
wsume99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker View Post

Wow, your cost is even cheaper. Where do you live? Niagara Falls? That's $.05/kwh.
No, it's still $.09/kwh. You may want to reread his post. (Hint - he's not using the system 24/7)
wsume99 is offline  
post #48 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm trying the sleep and wake to record thing again on my llano system. I'm leaving it alone for three weeks and will see if it locks up or misses and recordings. My last system would keep waking and sleeping constantly I think because of my microsoft bluetooth dongle and with enough wake and sleep cycles eventually something happens. Anyways if you saw the trinity system post in here you will see that it idles at 10W which kind of negates the need for zacate or atom system.
jeffkro is offline  
post #49 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Anyways if you saw trinity system post in here you will see that it idles at 10W which kind of negates the need for zacate or atom system.

I wouldn't go that far. Efficiency at idle is not the only consideration. I can build a passive D2700 system in a regular or very small case (no HSF height to worry about) and usually find the board for $80 shipped. For my "just surfing and emailing" customers who don't want a laptop being able to use the smallest case with no fans is a big consideration for me.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #50 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 10:27 AM
Member
 
gtmtnbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

I'm trying the sleep and wake to record thing again on my llano system. I'm leaving it alone for three weeks and will see if it locks up or misses and recordings. My last system would keep waking and sleeping constantly I think because of my microsoft bluetooth dongle and with enough wake and sleep cycles eventually something happens. Anyways if you saw trinity system post in here you will see that it idles at 10W which kind of negates the need for zacate or atom system.

With my Logitech K400 keyboard, I don't have this issue. On my desktop, I'm using the Microsoft 7000 keyboard which also has the mouse. I get the constant wakeup unless I disable both devices (mouse & keyboard) from doing the wakeup. It seems that I cannot just specify the keyboard only to do the wakeup. This stinks. Any thoughts on a workaround or fix?
gtmtnbiker is offline  
post #51 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker View Post

With my Logitech K400 keyboard, I don't have this issue. On my desktop, I'm using the Microsoft 7000 keyboard which also has the mouse. I get the constant wakeup unless I disable both devices (mouse & keyboard) from doing the wakeup. It seems that I cannot just specify the keyboard only to do the wakeup. This stinks. Any thoughts on a workaround or fix?

Most bios's have setting for what wakes up the computer, you could turn off all the wake options and wake by power button. I would do this but my asrock bios doesn't seem to have wake options, or a bunch of other options for that matter.
jeffkro is offline  
post #52 of 53 Old 06-18-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I wouldn't go that far. Efficiency at idle is not the only consideration. I can build a passive D2700 system in a regular or very small case (no HSF height to worry about) and usually find the board for $80 shipped. For my "just surfing and emailing" customers who don't want a laptop being able to use the smallest case with no fans is a big consideration for me.

Yes, the trinity system I assume had laptop parts so its pretty expensive, but it should have low cooling requirements.
jeffkro is offline  
post #53 of 53 Old 11-18-2012, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
Delgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Im new in it so i need some help. I want to know something about d2700dc. I wanna buy it with 4gb 1066MHz ram. I want just quiet computer so my first question.
1. Can i watch 720p videos 10h non-stop or should i mayby buy fan.
2. Will it work well on my monitor 1920x1200
3. Can i watch wideos in 720 on youtube or somewhere else? Flash player is consume much cpu so i want to know.
4. Can u reffer my any power adapter?

Thank you for help and sorry for my english smile.gif.
Delgon is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off