Multiple TVs: HTPC connected to one, suggestions for the other? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 02-26-2012, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am a noob cord cutter. I have two TVs in the house. I have already built an HTPC and bought a Synology 212 NAS to store all my media. The HTPC takes care of one of the TVs in the house. But what should I use on my other TV in the house? I want the other TV to primarily be able to view media on the NAS, but if it can access the Internet too that would be nice.

I don't particularly want to build another HTPC for my second TV. Suggestions on solutions please? What do others do to cover multiple TVs in the household? Perhaps WD Live TV, Roku, Boxee, or something else altogether?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 02-26-2012, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 205
is your computer a dvr too or are you just trying to watch video files on the other televisions?

if you want live tv on the other televisions your only choice right now is an xbox 360 or the upcoming ceton echo. that is for windows media center.

if you just want to watch ripped movies first figure out what format(s) theyre in or which one you would like them to be. then head over to the digital media player forum where you will find more info on those.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
post #3 of 20 Old 02-26-2012, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter