HDMI /DVI (PC) input samsung - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
franky932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SOREL-TRACY ,QC, CANADA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
samsung hdmi input

why the HDMI/DVI (for PC) input can not handle sound like other's hdmi input

alll my hdmi inputs are connected...so i have to pass a long audio cable SPDF (optical )from my PC to my amplifier..............

or next to the the HDMI/DVI (for PC) input ,a little cable in the 1/8'' input.

hdmi input with no sound :what is the purpo
franky932 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I am not sure your premise (that it cannot handle sound) is correct.
Roussi is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
franky932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SOREL-TRACY ,QC, CANADA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have 4 hdmi input total.

1 is named hdmi/dvi........in the book and on the HDTV Samsung . no sound pass trough(t) because there is a 1/8 in audio IN beside that input.
franky932 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
franky932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SOREL-TRACY ,QC, CANADA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post

I am not sure your premise (that it cannot handle sound) is correct.

must connect audio from PC too.

i try it no sound


so why is that? reason?
franky932 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
that sound input is for using DVI on that port...because DVI doesnt carry sound. if you have and nvidia card, make sure that the output in the control panel is hdmi-audio and not hdmi-no audio
mcantu1 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-28-2012, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
franky932's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SOREL-TRACY ,QC, CANADA
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcantu1 View Post

that sound input is for using DVI on that port...because DVI doesnt carry sound. if you have and nvidia card, make sure that the output in the control panel is hdmi-audio and not hdmi-no audio


i know that.........the 3 other HDMI IN have sound with my HDMI OUT of my PC.


Question: why HDMI/DVI can not pass sound
what special have that INPUT.
franky932 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-29-2012, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Did you try a different input setting on that hdmi?
I forgot what the options were, but remember I had to change mine to connect the htpc.
Roussi is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-29-2012, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
tlniec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not sure what exact Samsung TV you have, but you may have to rename the input to just "PC". On my PN50B650, naming it "PC" is required to have input from the HTPC work correctly. Never tried "HDMI/DVI" so I can't comment on whether that kills the sound. But I did try "STB" for the name once, and found I was getting black crush (figure only with "PC" input will it handle the reference levels correctly).
tlniec is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-29-2012, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
yes, that was it, "PC" rather than "STB" (on a PN50c490).
Roussi is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off