Catalyst 12.2 Released.. Anyone try it yet? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 03-07-2012, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
a2clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like AMD Catalyst 12.2 was released today. Has anyone tried it for HTPC use? Any bugs or fixes?
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...n_win7-64.aspx
a2clark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 03-07-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,764
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2clark View Post

Looks like AMD Catalyst 12.2 was released today. Has anyone tried it for HTPC use? Any bugs or fixes?
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...n_win7-64.aspx

Been out for a while.

It crashed on install the first time.

Second time it installed fine.

No issues so far.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 28 Old 03-07-2012, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I believe they released a non WHQL version a few weeks ago, and only now have the Microsoft certification.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 03-08-2012, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Other than h/w acceleration support for 3D Blu-Ray playback, there's nothing in the 12.2 release notes to tempt an upgrade for HTPC's. I'll stick with 11.8.
tman247 is online now  
post #5 of 28 Old 03-08-2012, 06:51 AM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wouldnt that be a big one for those of us with 3D capable ATI cards and TV's?
moshster is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 03-08-2012, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Actually the released WHQL versions were yesterday and seem to correct a issue with resetting the display which the pre-released versions had some problems and caused some BSOD issues.

Rew
Rew452 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 03:21 AM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
for me the deinterlacing bug is still there, if you set it to vector adaptive, it seems to fall back to other types of deinterlacing. im using a sapphire hd5670 1gb gddr5
funnyfuka is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 07:41 AM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took the bait and updated my drivers (after un-installing and using driver sweeper as I always do).

So far so good, I am able to play everything back however I am still seeing high CPU usage when playing back a 3D Blu Ray ISO. What should we be expecting when hardware acceleration is checked?

I have an ATI 6450.

When playing back 1080P MKVs my CPU using is about 5% (ehshell)

When playing back 3D BluRay ISO from within media center I was seeing 60-80% being used by cyberlink process...
moshster is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
a2clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone for the replies. I am still usuing an ATI 5850. I play back mainly using MakeMkv 1080p files from Blu-ray and I haven't gone 3D yet. So not sure if updating is worth it for me. It is good to hear others experiences with these driver updates that are HTPC related and not just gaming.
a2clark is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 01:35 PM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just let a 3D Blu Ray disc play in its entirety this afternoon without issue, so far looks stable.
moshster is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 10:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Working stable for me with a 7770...I have NOT played back 3D content however.
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 03-09-2012, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuka View Post

for me the deinterlacing bug is still there, if you set it to vector adaptive, it seems to fall back to other types of deinterlacing. im using a sapphire hd5670 1gb gddr5

That bug has been there forever. The way I finally fixed it was to set deinterlacing to auto and uncheck enforce smooth playback. This always uses vector adaptive on my 5450. Give it a try.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 07:31 AM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never changed this setting, what is the desired interlacing for all content? Vector Adaptive? Can you explain why?

I am having my system tuned today by a pro ISF calibrator, want to ensure I have everything set properly in CCC
moshster is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

That bug has been there forever. The way I finally fixed it was to set deinterlacing to auto and uncheck enforce smooth playback. This always uses vector adaptive on my 5450. Give it a try.

Whenever I uncheck enforce smooth playback my HD TV content via my Ceton card is jerky and not watchable
moshster is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 07:40 AM
Member
 
moshster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else notive the app the new drivers placed in the startup folder in Win7 now? AML something?
moshster is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshster View Post

Did anyone else notive the app the new drivers placed in the startup folder in Win7 now? AML something?

Not until you mentioned it: AML Device Install. I'm not sure what it does.

So far, things seem to be running OK with my 6450 and Cat 12.2 (ATSC, DVD, and BD, but I don't do gaming or 3D BD on it).

FWIW, I uncheck "Enforce Smooth Video Playback", and I uncheck "Pulldown detection". My ATSC shows play back smoother that way.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Other people have noticed this, too.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1216640/a...all-what-is-it
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33987648

I'm pretty sure AML stands for application markup language, but other than what I've read from different websites, no one is certain exactly what that file does.
kegobeer is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshster View Post

I have never changed this setting, what is the desired interlacing for all content? Vector Adaptive? Can you explain why?

I am having my system tuned today by a pro ISF calibrator, want to ensure I have everything set properly in CCC

Long story short it's the sharpest with the least jagged lines. All the other deinterlacing modes are garbage IMO. Once you see vector you can't ever go back to bob, weave or any of that other crap.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 03-10-2012, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post


FWIW, I uncheck "Enforce Smooth Video Playback", and I uncheck "Pulldown detection". My ATSC shows play back smoother that way.

I have to do that too or else some 1080i videos stutter.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 03-11-2012, 12:06 PM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
i still couldnt get vector adaptive to stick on 12.2 no matter what i tried. vector adaptive sticks on 11.4. if i use automatic deinterlacing in ccc 12.2 your never really sure what method of deinterlacing is going on
funnyfuka is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 03-11-2012, 01:00 PM
Member
 
liquisonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*edit* solved

Everything under the Sun is in tune...
But the Sun is eclipsed by the Moon.
liquisonic is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 03-11-2012, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuka View Post

i still couldnt get vector adaptive to stick on 12.2 no matter what i tried. vector adaptive sticks on 11.4. if i use automatic deinterlacing in ccc 12.2 your never really sure what method of deinterlacing is going on

I run test patterns from the avs calibration disk periodically, plus I know what it does to text when it changes and ever since I put it on auto about a year ago it has never switched from VA. This is with the 5450 not sure if it works the same on other gfx cards.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 03-12-2012, 12:00 PM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
StinDaWg could you link me to where i can download the avs calibration disk. also when you got automatic deinterlacing checked do you uncheck pulldown detection
funnyfuka is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 03-12-2012, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Wodde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
12.2 breaks Hardware Acceleration for 3DBD on my 6770 in Total Media Theater 5 and PowerDVD 11.
Wodde is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 03-12-2012, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Not sure if related but they also seemed to have not fixed the display reset introduced in the earlier builds of 12.2.

I have a 5750 and occasional reboots after a couple of sleep cycles.

Switched back to 12.1a

Alll seems well again.

Rew
Rew452 is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 03-17-2012, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Bob1174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not been here for a long time (since 2009 I guess). And this question might be completely irrelevant from the issues you are discussing. I don't remember if it was an ATI driver issue or hardware limitation; could some one please point me to the right information on getting stereo output out of my ATI 6xxx card if I play an audio CD on my HTPC instead of 7.1 LPCM. My receiver Denon 3808CI doesn't allow me to select Direct mode on a 7.1 signal but will allow it on a Stereo one. I don't even remember what this issue is called (Silent Stream??).

cheers!!
Bob
Bob1174 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 03-17-2012, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuka View Post

StinDaWg could you link me to where i can download the avs calibration disk. also when you got automatic deinterlacing checked do you uncheck pulldown detection

Yes uncheck pulldown.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496
StinDaWg is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 03-18-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob1174 View Post

I have not been here for a long time (since 2009 I guess). And this question might be completely irrelevant from the issues you are discussing. I don't remember if it was an ATI driver issue or hardware limitation; could some one please point me to the right information on getting stereo output out of my ATI 6xxx card if I play an audio CD on my HTPC instead of 7.1 LPCM. My receiver Denon 3808CI doesn't allow me to select Direct mode on a 7.1 signal but will allow it on a Stereo one. I don't even remember what this issue is called (Silent Stream??).

The only way I know how to do that is manually:
Bring up the sound properties,
Select the "AMD HDMI Output" on the Playback tab
Hit "Configure"
Select "Stereo" instead of 5.1 or 7.1

(Repeat the steps to get back to a 5.1 or 7.1 config once you are done listening to stereo music)

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off