backing up BD 1:1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 12:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbates58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all

i have purchased a lifetime licence for anydvd HD and i want to start to backup my BD movies i want to make a 1:1 copy of them for perfect playback on my htpc.

what is the best way to go about this? just using the rip to iso feture of anydvd? and should i enable the protection?

but im after a near perfect 1:1 backup.

cheers

jbates58
jbates58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 01:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbates58 View Post

hi all

i have purchased a lifetime licence for anydvd HD and i want to start to backup my BD movies i want to make a 1:1 copy of them for perfect playback on my htpc.

what is the best way to go about this? just using the rip to iso feture of anydvd? and should i enable the protection?

but im after a near perfect 1:1 backup.

cheers

jbates58

Want menus/extras/alternate endings/warnings/ads/etc plus the movie? Then use iso.

Want just the movie? Use mkv.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbates58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks assassain. i have also purchased you guide. it is ultimatley helpfull in setting up my htpc. i realy apreciate the effort you have put into it.

and yes, i want everything. an exact 1:1 backup of the original. but what program should i use anydvd HD or img burn? and if anydvd, do i enable the protection on not?

cheers

jbates58
jbates58 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 03:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbates58 View Post

thanks assassain. i have also purchased you guide. it is ultimatley helpfull in setting up my htpc. i realy apreciate the effort you have put into it.

and yes, i want everything. an exact 1:1 backup of the original. but what program should i use anydvd HD or img burn? and if anydvd, do i enable the protection on not?

cheers

jbates58

There are a bunch of iso options and others that use them more frequently can better comment. I don't want everything (I just want the movie) so I use makemkv.

Oh, and thanks for using the guides. Glad I could help you get into HTPC!
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 04:41 AM
Member
 
tooler40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out this thread which suggests .iso over folder format

http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=45692
tooler40 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I rip to BDMV, using My Movies on my WHS 2011 to do all of the work. I put in the disc and come back an hour later, and the movie is in the WHS video share, the meta-data is downloaded and stored, and I can play the movie from my Dune player or any of my PCs and HTPCs.

I don't want to mount an ISO in order to play back the movie, so that's why I opted for BDMV. I use TMT3 and TMT5 on my PCs, so I have no issues playing back the folder format.
kegobeer is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you want ISO, try the free program ImgBurn http://www.imgburn.com/
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
He already has AnydvdHD so just use the "rip to image" option and you'll get an exact 1:1 copy of the entire disc.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
wiggindude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I use DVDFab to rip the main movies only. Mount using VCD with TMT5 through MyMovies.
wiggindude is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-11-2012, 03:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I use Clown BD to rip just the movie to iso. I haven't really gotten into MKV, but I'm thinking of doing just that because my BD iso's tend to stutter. I'm told that that may be because iso's are not treated as media files. Are MKV's?

hogues is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off