Freenas - ZFS - is it reliable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 03-12-2012, 03:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive just bought an HP Proliant home server to replace the box of bits I slapped together last year.

Ive been running WHS, but have had a few minor irritations with it.

I am thinking of going the Freenas route. This would be RAID-Z over two 2TB drives, with a third, external device, as backup.

So here's my concern:

I have had a stab at Ffreenas (without redundancy) and it ate my data. ZFS data recovery is a nightmare (I work as a PC tech full time, and its diabolical compared to NTFS, which I can do relatively easily if something did go wrong).

So Im a bit wary.

SO before putting my head on the block again... I wanted to ask the community:

What has your experience been like with ZFS/Freenas?

Has it worked reliably for you?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 03-12-2012, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 13
I can't speak for FreeNAS specifically, but ZFS on FreeBSD is quite reliable. There are a bunch of very smart people, in the FreeBSD community, working on it right now. I don't use it at home but I'm involved with commercial products that do use it, at my day job. If I had to choose between traditional software RAID, hardware RAID or ZFS, I'd pick ZFS any day.

Now, ZFS might not be the best solution for some. While it has many advantages over traditional RAID and other filesystems, you still have many of the same negatives that come with using traditional RAID. For example, you pretty much need to always use the same size drives. You also cannot extend the size of a RAIDZ (you can grow it by replacing the drives and you can expand a pool by adding another RAIDZ but you can't add drives to an existing RAIDZ). Those are some reasons why you see a lot of people using unraid and whatnot around here.

Quote:

(without redundancy) and it ate my data