Ripping my HD-DVD collection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hipnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I bet on the wrong pony a few years back and managed to amass quite a few HD-DVDs. I also picked up and X-Box 360 HD-DVD drive for $25 in order to cash in on the five free movie deal.

Recently, I built a HTPC, and I was thinking that I might rip my HD-DVDs and convert them to a format and a size that would be good to store on my NAS and playback through XBMC, but I am having no luck making MP4 or MKV files.

There are dozens of guides scattered all over the Internet but none of them seem to work for me. I've successfully managed to decrypt and demux the movies, but whenever I try to remux or convert the films to MP4s, etc. -- I invariably lose audio. Since it takes hours to make each attempt, this is increasingly frustrating.

I was hoping people with more experience than I or someone else who had some HD-DVDs could help me figure out where I am going wrong.

Thanks for your help in advance.
hipnerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
statious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are likely encountering a few different issues. My wife and I purchased several HD-DVDs about a year or two ago at around 1-5 dollars a disk. Picked up the entire Harry Potter series (what was available by then) for 10 or so dollars I believe. Matrix as well.

1) Check the firmware of the drive. I have an older LG that had to be updated to even read some of the HD-DVD's that we bought. Be very cautious when you do this and read twice and click once if you follow me. You can brick the drive if install the wrong firmware. There is a great website that you can follow (google).

2) AnyDVDHD + Make MKV is about all I use so I can play the movies in XBMC.

3) Not all disks are going to work. This is what always causes people to be upset but you are working with a dead format. I have HD-DVDs that would not rip and convert so I had to breakdown and purchase the Blu-Ray disk.


If you continue to run into issues, after doing step 1 and 2, it is because of 3. Bite the bullet and pick up either the DVD or Blu-Ray used. I refuse to buy a movie new. If you are willing to wait, you can easily find what are new movies used for easily 50-75% off after a month or two.
statious is offline  
post #3 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
HD-DVD's often had DD+ or TrueHD soundtracks, and the video encoding was more often than not VC-1 rather than AVC, but for the few I have, AnyDVD HD ripped them fine. I then converted the output to MKV, with the soundtrack remuxed to FLAC using eac3to. All the rips I have work perfectly.
tman247 is online now  
post #4 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DD+ is great. TMT so far plays them well. Clown BD converts them to BD.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #5 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 07:44 PM
Member
 
jdastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have the ability to just try the conversion on perhaps the first chapter of a movie, hence not wasting as much time on the rest of the film if it doesn't work. I've had to do that type of trial and error while trying to encode some BDs down that I ripped using MakeMkv. I've used handbreak in the past for encoding fwtw. Good luck
jdastas is offline  
post #6 of 47 Old 03-17-2012, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hipnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. I'll try AnyDVDHD. I was trying to avoid pay solutions. I felt so close. I had the discs decrypted and demuxed, I just couldn't get the audio to remux.

Ah well.

I have no idea how I would update the drive firmware. I don't have an Xbox 360. I just have the drive, and the firmware updates seem to only work via Xbox Live.

EDIT: I thought I'd posted this, but the windows was still open in Chrome.

Success! MakeMKV worked on "The Italian Job." Now using Handbrake to see if I can get a little smaller file size without completely hosing the quality.
hipnerd is offline  
post #7 of 47 Old 03-18-2012, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iam not sure howmany HDDVD you have
but AnydvdHD is 30day free trial period
if u have time u can dump all those or converting it to bd then to mkv when ur time permits
thats what i did especially the ones with HDDVD movies and not avaiable in Bluray
vamovie is offline  
post #8 of 47 Old 03-18-2012, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hipnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. I think I've figured out the source of most of my problems. I was generally keeping only the best available audio stream - DTS-HD. I don't think my PC or my HTPC can play back that format. So time after time, I was creating files with an audio format that I was unable to play. I am a genius.

Using Handbrake to downmix to Dolby Pro Logic II seems to solve my problems. And since the current goal is smaller file sizes to stock my HTPC, I think that's a reasonable compromise.

My process is MakeMKV to create a full-size MKV rip of the movie (about 20GB). Then a run through Handbrake to make an MP4 file. (6GB-7GB). I end up with full 1080p and Dolby Pro Logic II for audio.

Does that sound like a reasonable process to the experts in the room?
hipnerd is offline  
post #9 of 47 Old 03-18-2012, 12:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipnerd View Post

OK. I think I've figured out the source of most of my problems. I was generally keeping only the best available audio stream - DTS-HD. I don't think my PC or my HTPC can play back that format. So time after time, I was creating files with an audio format that I was unable to play. I am a genius.

Using Handbrake to downmix to Dolby Pro Logic II seems to solve my problems. And since the current goal is smaller file sizes to stock my HTPC, I think that's a reasonable compromise.

My process is MakeMKV to create a full-size MKV rip of the movie (about 20GB). Then a run through Handbrake to make an MP4 file. (6GB-7GB). I end up with full 1080p and Dolby Pro Logic II for audio.

Does that sound like a reasonable process to the experts in the room?

If it works and looks/sounds good to you then it doesn't matter what the experts in the room think.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #10 of 47 Old 03-18-2012, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hipnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

If it works and looks/sounds good to you then it doesn't matter what the experts in the room think.

True to a certain extent, but if I picked a poor codec or something and I could make it a little better with minimal effort, I'd like to know before I go too far. I'm testing the playback on my regular PC before moving them over so it's hard to get a feel for how good the output actually is.

At this point, I'm just thrilled to have a working process. I know that even if I screw up, I can always do it again -- better next time.

I can already see that if HDD capacities climb and the audio capabilities of the next HTPC improve, I might go back to those completely lossless MakeMKV rips. As it is, I don't have the storage.

Thanks for the help and suggestions everyone.
hipnerd is offline  
post #11 of 47 Old 06-16-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bumping this up....

What HD DVD players even existed for computers? I'd like to convert some if my HDs but can't find any external players.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #12 of 47 Old 06-16-2013, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
To my knowledge they aren't manufactured anymore but you should be able to find a used LG GGC-H20L. It's internal but you could always get an external case for it.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #13 of 47 Old 06-16-2013, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Try craigslist. That's how I found mine a few months ago.
Sonyad is offline  
post #14 of 47 Old 06-18-2013, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


If it works and looks/sounds good to you then it doesn't matter what the experts in the room think.
Wait, what? There are experts here? Who knew!
captain_video is offline  
post #15 of 47 Old 06-19-2013, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
junglalien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post

Bumping this up....

What HD DVD players even existed for computers? I'd like to convert some if my HDs but can't find any external players.

There were a few different external drives but they rarely show up on ebay. Just get an XBOX 360 HD DVD drive of ebay and use it with your computer.
user4avsforum likes this.
junglalien is offline  
post #16 of 47 Old 06-19-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by junglalien View Post

There were a few different external drives but they rarely show up on ebay. Just get an XBOX 360 HD DVD drive of ebay and use it with your computer.
I used the XBOX HD DVD drive to rip all of my HD DVDs to my NAS and it worked just fine. Now I just need to re-encode them all...
user4avsforum is offline  
post #17 of 47 Old 06-19-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I'm no expert but I would never remove an HD Audio track from a rip. You can always select the lower quality track if your equipment cannot play it back as your PC / HTPC should be able to decode and downmix. But why can't your PC / HTPC decode it?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #18 of 47 Old 06-24-2013, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
yanksno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried ripping a few of my HD-DVDs and something isn't right. I used my old Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive connected to my desktop computer. I would load up MakeMKV on it and have English selected as the defaults (DD+ as the main audio) and English subtitles. When done with the rip, I tested it on my desktop which seemed to play fine in WMP. I would then copy it over to my HTPC, and try playing it in WMP. There it would become all stuttery, and not play right. I'd try then playing it in XMBC, where it would play fine but all I would get is Stereo output. I checked my audio settings, and did see that I did have DD+ listed there. I did rip The Goonies BR disc on my HTPC and that played fine in WMP and XBMC. Any idea what might be happening?
yanksno1 is offline  
post #19 of 47 Old 06-24-2013, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Ryan L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I'm no expert but I would never remove an HD Audio track from a rip. You can always select the lower quality track if your equipment cannot play it back as your PC / HTPC should be able to decode and downmix. But why can't your PC / HTPC decode it?
The problem is that DD+ is a somewhat dead codec for HTPC users (that's what most HD-DVDs used). If you want to convert it to blu or MKV, I believe that you have to downmix it to vanilla DD or convert it to something else. The other guy who I think you were replying I believe (hipnerd who downmixed HD audio down to 2 channel PLII) went a little too far with cutting down the size. Have to at least keep 5.1 in there. Personally I find that DTS is perfectly fine for my needs (I honestly can't tell the difference between DTS-HD and DTS on my modest system). Now the difference between DD and DD TrueHD is extreme to me so I try to keep that stream when I can. Unfortunately Handbrake (my favorite converting program) still lacks TrueHD passthrough options.
Ryan L is offline  
post #20 of 47 Old 06-24-2013, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Ryan L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanksno1 View Post

I've tried ripping a few of my HD-DVDs and something isn't right. I used my old Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive connected to my desktop computer. I would load up MakeMKV on it and have English selected as the defaults (DD+ as the main audio) and English subtitles. When done with the rip, I tested it on my desktop which seemed to play fine in WMP. I would then copy it over to my HTPC, and try playing it in WMP. There it would become all stuttery, and not play right. I'd try then playing it in XMBC, where it would play fine but all I would get is Stereo output. I checked my audio settings, and did see that I did have DD+ listed there. I did rip The Goonies BR disc on my HTPC and that played fine in WMP and XBMC. Any idea what might be happening?
I gonna take a wild guess and say that you used MakeMKV to convert them. I believe many HD-DVDs are VC-1 which act up when put into a MKV container. Try running them through Handbrake (converts them to H.264) and I bet they'll play fine. Also, it wouldn't hurt to try out other players like VLC to see if that resolves your issues.
Ryan L is offline  
post #21 of 47 Old 06-30-2013, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
yanksno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan L View Post

I gonna take a wild guess and say that you used MakeMKV to convert them. I believe many HD-DVDs are VC-1 which act up when put into a MKV container. Try running them through Handbrake (converts them to H.264) and I bet they'll play fine. Also, it wouldn't hurt to try out other players like VLC to see if that resolves your issues.

Thanks, running them through handbrake seemed to do the trick converting them to x264.
yanksno1 is offline  
post #22 of 47 Old 08-07-2013, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 239
I am going to try and pick up a xbox 360 hddvd drive and see if I can rip mine to my NAS too. It would be nice to have them playable from XBMC like my other movies.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #23 of 47 Old 08-24-2013, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
Barnbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a few HD-DVDs as well that I'd like to get onto my hard drive.

What software are you using to rip the HD-DVDs to your hard-drive?

Also, what cables to you need to hook an X-Box HD-DVD player to your computer?

Thanks for any and all info....
Barnbaby is offline  
post #24 of 47 Old 08-24-2013, 11:48 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


If it works and looks/sounds good to you then it doesn't matter what the experts in the room think.

Do NOT say this in the speaker or AVR forums...you will quickly find yourself the subject of hate and derision.
cybrsage is offline  
post #25 of 47 Old 08-24-2013, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Do NOT say this in the speaker or AVR forums...you will quickly find yourself the subject of hate and derision.
I used to be of that mindset until it literally made me neurotic. Now I tell people the exact same thing that Assassin said. Don't ever let anyone tell you what sounds good to you. Tell 'em they can take their elitist BS and put it where the sun don't shine unless, of course, they want to buy you a pair of their preferred speakers.wink.gif I might make recommendations about particular models to audition if someone asks, but the bottom line is that it's their money and they're the ones that have to live with the purchase. If they want to buy a set of (cringe) Bose Lifestyle speakers then that's their business (just don't invite me over for movie night eek.gif).
captain_video is offline  
post #26 of 47 Old 08-26-2013, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnbaby View Post

I have a few HD-DVDs as well that I'd like to get onto my hard drive.

What software are you using to rip the HD-DVDs to your hard-drive?

Also, what cables to you need to hook an X-Box HD-DVD player to your computer?

Thanks for any and all info....

MakeMKV works fine with HD-DVDs.

Just hook it up to your computer with a USB cable. All the drivers you need should be installed automatically.
NNate is offline  
post #27 of 47 Old 08-26-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by NNate View Post

MakeMKV works fine with HD-DVDs.

Except for subtitles. PGS subtitles in MKV ripped with MakeMKV can't be displayable in any player.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #28 of 47 Old 08-26-2013, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Except for subtitles. PGS subtitles in MKV ripped with MakeMKV can't be displayable in any player.

Maybe I'm not understanding what you're saying but I haven't had any issues with PGS subtitles in any player.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #29 of 47 Old 08-26-2013, 12:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,177
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 369
politby reported the problem in this post (and subsequent conversation with me). I ripped a couple of HD DVDs and surely PGS subtitles rippled with MakeMKV were non-working with any subtitle filters I tried (MPC-HC's own, VSFitler, ffdshow).

Nobody has this problem? It's only politby and me?

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #30 of 47 Old 08-26-2013, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I only have a few HD-DVDs as I only pick them up when they are $2 or less typically. But I haven't heard of any subtitle issues until now.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off