Intel HD3000 59p or 59i - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 03-18-2012, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
With the latest Intel HD3000 driver update from Microsoft, I've notice that I have more frequency options than before. Specifically, 59i and 60i. I've switched over to 1080/59i and reran the TV setup in WMC to see if there are any advantages to this mode.

I assume that my TV is now doing the deinterlaceing instead of the HTPC for 1080i content.

Any one else try these new options?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 03-18-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Interesting.

May have to check this out.
assassin is online now  
post #3 of 29 Old 03-18-2012, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Did this fix the 29/59 frame rate issue?
shortcut3d is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 03-18-2012, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

Did this fix the 29/59 frame rate issue?

Not for me.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #5 of 29 Old 03-19-2012, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May fix the combing issue though. HD3000 seems to struggle with 480i, the TV will most likely do a better job on interlaced material.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 03-19-2012, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

I assume that my TV is now doing the deinterlaceing instead of the HTPC for 1080i content.

It's most likely happening in both places actually. AFAIK there's no way to actually disable deinterlacing, the framebuffer is alwasy a progressive surface that the video is rendered to.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 03-19-2012, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

It's most likely happening in both places actually. AFAIK there's no way to actually disable deinterlacing, the framebuffer is alwasy a progressive surface that the video is rendered to.

Yeah..I was thinking that may be the case but I don't know for sure.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #8 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
caeguy, where did you find the options for interlaced output. I just updated the driver and dont see the option in the Intel setup.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieTheater View Post

caeguy, where did you find the options for interlaced output. I just updated the driver and dont see the option in the Intel setup.

Here...

LL

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #10 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^ As you can see, I switched back to 60P. I was seeing significant combing on fast transition scenes. I also turned off film detection so I'm not sure if the frequency or the film detection helped the combing issue. More testing to follow.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #11 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 08:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,078
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
So
Old New  
29 Hz/30 Hz 59i Hz/60i Hz outputting interlaced video
- 29p Hz/30p Hz outputting progressive video, new addition (not every display supports it)
renethx is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 11:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

^ As you can see, I switched back to 60P. I was seeing significant combing on fast transition scenes. I also turned off film detection so I'm not sure if the frequency or the film detection helped the combing issue. More testing to follow.

Very interesting, those options are not available to me. Did you update through windows or download from Intel? (nevermind, just seen you said microsoft)

BTW, thanks for the screen shot

edit: I got the update from Intel's site but there is no " i or p " suffex on the refresh rate options. Also noticed windows still wants to update this driver. Is your driver 8.15.10.2622?
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 03-20-2012, 11:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Using interlaced output from a HTPC is generally not recommended.
You'll most likely deinterlace twice, once in the HTPC, then the HTPC will interlace it again, and the TV will then deinterlace again. This whole process does not ensure that the original interlacing pattern will be reproduced on the TVs end.

Those interlaced modes are really only useful if your TV does not accept progressive for some reason.

Anyway, they are only renamed options. 29i/30i were present before, which are the same options just with another notation.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 03-21-2012, 12:23 AM
Member
 
tiorapatea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I mentioned on the 24p thread, back in the day (1997-2004 or so), HTPC was all about dealing with interlaced broadcast material (4:3 and 16:9), as well as coping with DVDs at 480p or 576p.

Most people still had CRT televisions, and most of these couldn't accept progressive signals. The big thing in HTPC was to try to get high-quality interlaced signals into these TVs. In Europe, we had SCART inputs (still do), and you could persuade certain Matrox and ATI video cards to output interlaced video over a VGA to RGB-SCART cable. You had to be careful not to fry your TV when messing with custom resolutions in Linux (or Powerstrip under Windows). See, e.g. this related How-to on the DirectFB project .

Fun times. So you really had a lot of interlaced source material, and TVs that were well-adapted to displaying interlaced material. I still have a machine with a Matrox G400, but it seems to have died - I think it is the curse of the dodgy capacitors on my Abit NF7-S Rev2.
tiorapatea is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 03-21-2012, 03:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,078
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieTheater View Post

Is your driver 8.15.10.2622?

8.15.10.2622 is older. It's 8.15.10.2653. Download (the same as Windows update).
renethx is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 03-21-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiorapatea View Post

As I mentioned on the 24p thread, back in the day (1997-2004 or so), HTPC was all about dealing with interlaced broadcast material (4:3 and 16:9), as well as coping with DVDs at 480p or 576p.

Most people still had CRT televisions, and most of these couldn't accept progressive signals. The big thing in HTPC was to try to get high-quality interlaced signals into these TVs. In Europe, we had SCART inputs (still do), and you could persuade certain Matrox and ATI video cards to output interlaced video over a VGA to RGB-SCART cable. You had to be careful not to fry your TV when messing with custom resolutions in Linux (or Powerstrip under Windows). See, e.g. this related How-to on the DirectFB project .

Fun times. So you really had a lot of interlaced source material, and TVs that were well-adapted to displaying interlaced material. I still have a machine with a Matrox G400, but it seems to have died - I think it is the curse of the dodgy capacitors on my Abit NF7-S Rev2.

Yep - I have fond memories of my first home made HTPC with a Radeon running a VGA to SCART cable with a custom 1024x576/50i resolution in Powerstrip.

I'm pretty certain that the PC was de-interlacing and re-interlacing (and I remember having to use an XPMCE registry hack to get overscan compensation disabled)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 03-21-2012, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

8.15.10.2622 is older. It's 8.15.10.2653. Download (the same as Windows update).

Thank you, odd that I don't see 2653 on Intel's site, wonder whats with that.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 03-21-2012, 08:02 AM
Member
 
tiorapatea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

Yep - I have fond memories of my first home made HTPC with a Radeon running a VGA to SCART cable with a custom 1024x576/50i resolution in Powerstrip.

I'm pretty certain that the PC was de-interlacing and re-interlacing (and I remember having to use an XPMCE registry hack to get overscan compensation disabled)

I think maybe only the Matrox cards could really do interlaced output along the whole video path. You also had to use the right software. Popular PC software such as mplayer couldn't handle interlaced video properly. See this thread, for example.
tiorapatea is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 03-23-2012, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, got 2653 loaded. My first impression without making any changes was the combing I had seen is almost completely gone, even looking for its hard to spot. Looking through the driver options, seems this driver is geared towards HTPC use. There is now an option to output YCbCr. The 3D options have been widdled down to two selections, and some of the choice descriptions have changed.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 03-23-2012, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any benefits to engage YCbCr?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is online now  
post #21 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 04:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,078
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
The driver supports YCbCr 4:4:4. RGB full can't stick (reset to limited at each boot).
renethx is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 05:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

The driver supports YCbCr 4:4:4. RGB full can't stick (reset to limited at each boot).

Don't shut down the htpc routinely. I can't remember the last time I turned mine off.

Thats one easy simple solution anyway.
assassin is online now  
post #23 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 07:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,078
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Don't shut down the htpc routinely. I can't remember the last time I turned mine off.

Thats one easy simple solution anyway.

Unfortunately it reverts to "Limited" at each wake up from sleep too. (Or does this happen only in my system?)
renethx is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Unfortunately it reverts to "Limited" at each wake up from sleep too. (Or does this happen only in my system?)

Mine too, I think it gets reset during the HDMI handshake. It knows its a TV and not a monitor so it wants to pass 16-235
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Unfortunately it reverts to "Limited" at each wake up from sleep too. (Or does this happen only in my system?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieTheater View Post

Mine too, I think it gets reset during the HDMI handshake. It knows its a TV and not a monitor so it wants to pass 16-235

Did you all change the registry files to switch it to full?
assassin is online now  
post #26 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Any benefits to engage YCbCr?

I think it depends on the source to display chain. Film and video are encoded in YCbCr and pc signals and video games are encoded as RGB. Ideally you want to convert the least amount of times possible.

Example: film=YCbCr >pc output=RGB >display input=RGB >display converts back to YCbCr.

Its hard to know what the display is actually doing though, converting back and forth can create errors in the process. I think errors will show up as banding in gradients.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Did you all change the registry files to switch it to full?

I haven't messed with that yet. You change the registy along with a custom resolution setting to get "full", is that correct?
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieTheater View Post

I haven't messed with that yet. You change the registy along with a custom resolution setting to get "full", is that correct?

Correct. Question is whether it applies to WMC or all of Windows.
assassin is online now  
post #29 of 29 Old 03-24-2012, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose you could set up two resolutions, 1080i RGB limited for WMC and 1080p RGB full for desktop and the display would auto switch. Then there would be the issue of Netflix/Hulu... I think they will run at the desktop rez. Might be a little cumbersome to calibrate.
ZombieTheater is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off