HTPC-Media Server Advice - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 54 Old 03-21-2012, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Lars99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, if you're going to have that much data I strongly suggest you look into a raid solution like unRaid, FlexRaid, SNAPRaid, or Windows based raid.
Lars99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobNY View Post

Also would like to know about HD's I've heard that the green drive (assuming environmental crap) aren't good....Should I spend more to get a non-green drive?

They are "green" because they are lowered power and/or 5400 RMP, not "environmental crap". Lower powered generally means cooler and quieter, both traits that are desired in most HTPC. 5400 RPM drives are more than adequate, especially if they are a RAID array or effectively "striped" across multiple drives, for a home storage pool.
cdru is offline  
post #33 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
IDK if anybody mentioned this or not but striped drives are not such a grand idea as a failure of one results in a loss of data on all.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #34 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


And an i3 2100 has roughly the same computing power as your i5 Clarkdale.

Its by no means an "entry level" CPU.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post


Except the cores and hyperthreading.

I want to correct myself here.. what I meant to say was Turboboost not hyperthreading. Turboboost allows an unused core to basically supply its power to another core and "overclock" that core. Whether that results in much performance increase may be questionable.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #35 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RobNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

IDK if anybody mentioned this or not but striped drives are not such a grand idea as a failure of one results in a loss of data on all.

I was planning on installing Windows 8 and was going to run raid 5 unless there is a better alternative?

-RobNY
RobNY is offline  
post #36 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobNY View Post


I was planning on installing Windows 8 and was going to run raid 5 unless there is a better alternative?

-RobNY

I don't have much experience with RAID but others on here do. There's a whole site dedicated to storing media on a server also.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #37 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
assassin is offline  
post #38 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

The best way to backup data is to backup data.

Not use a RAID.

Yes that is true.. right now I have 17TB and counting. I'm trying to figure out where and how to accomplish backing it all up.

17TB space but over half of it occupied.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #39 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Yes that is true.. right now I have 17TB and counting. I'm trying to figure out where and how to accomplish backing it all up.

Understood. Eventually you get to the point where you need a better and more cost effective solution like in your scenario.

But for the average guy with 1-4TB of data buying duplicate drives isn't out of the question. Just depends on how much data you think you will end up with.

I have about 4TB of data and 12TB of total storage space. So I have it duplicated on other drives and don't really need or want RAID. If I was really anal I would build a external enclosure and store that 4TB of duplicate data somewhere else like my parents' house.
assassin is offline  
post #40 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm curious Assassin, or whomever, for a htpc/media server, does it make sense to use a core i7?

Say one day he is watching a bluray and recording live tv, streaming tv to another client, and another client is doing a back up over the network...you get the picture. Multiple processes going on.

I would think hyperthreading would help here and the extra horsepower. Most of the i5s, as far as I know don't have hyperthreading.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #41 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

I'm curious Assassin, or whomever, for a htpc/media server, does it make sense to use a core i7?

Say one day he is watching a bluray and recording live tv, streaming tv to another client, and another client is doing a back up over the network...you get the picture. Multiple processes going on.

I would think hyperthreading would help here and the extra horsepower. Most of the i5s, as far as I know don't have hyperthreading.

Absolutely no need for an i7. You could get an i5 Quad Core if you have mutliple extenders but someone in my sticky thread just tested the i3 with 3 or 4 extenders and it used only about half the CPU. So I think even the i3 would handle those chores. And I doubt that the average person would be doing that much multitasking on a regular basis.

The i3 doesn't get enough respect. Its a hell of a HTPC CPU.

I would also recommend going with 8GB RAM if you were running that many processes instead of my usual 4GB RAM recommendation (although given today's prices 8GB isn't much more anyway).
assassin is offline  
post #42 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Absolutely no need for an i7. You could get an i5 Quad Core if you have mutliple extenders but someone in my sticky thread just tested the i3 with 3 or 4 extenders and it used only about half the CPU. So I think even the i3 would handle those chores. And I doubt that the average person would be doing that much multitasking on a regular basis.

The i3 doesn't get enough respect. Its a hell of a HTPC CPU.

I would also recommend going with 8GB RAM if you were running that many processes instead of my usual 4GB RAM recommendation (although given today's prices 8GB isn't much more anyway).

It is a hell of a cpu. I agree 100% there.

I just have never pushed it to this extent.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #43 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

I'm curious Assassin, or whomever, for a htpc/media server, does it make sense to use a core i7?

Say one day he is watching a bluray and recording live tv, streaming tv to another client, and another client is doing a back up over the network...you get the picture. Multiple processes going on.

I would think hyperthreading would help here and the extra horsepower. Most of the i5s, as far as I know don't have hyperthreading.

I believe all the i series processors have hyperthreading. It is Turboboost that nearly all i3's don't have.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #44 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I believe all the i series processors have hyperthreading. It is Turboboost that nearly all i3's don't have.

actually a good amount of the i5's do not have hyperthreading.

HOWEVER some of the latest i5's appear to include hyperthreading.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #45 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

IDK if anybody mentioned this or not but striped drives are not such a grand idea as a failure of one results in a loss of data on all.

I guess "striped" wasn't quite what I was looking for. I was meaning more along the lines of files being evenly distributed across multiple drives in the array. Something like WHS's drive extender where multiple physical drives appear as a single logical drive, but files are distributed across the board. A single drive grinding away doing something doesn't automatically degrade performance of a video streaming from a different drive for instance.
cdru is offline  
post #46 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hyperthreading is not the most important feature, especially when talking about HTPC processes, however if you have a desktop with several high intensity tasks running I like to think hyperthreading is valuable here.

As with my question earlier with having say a ceton card sending out multiple streams to clients, playing blu ray, serving media to other pc's, and acting as a back up location for other clients, I figured that maybe hyperthreading with a powerful i7 would make sense.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #47 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

Hyperthreading is not the most important feature, especially when talking about HTPC processes, however if you have a desktop with several high intensity tasks running I like to think hyperthreading is valuable here.

As with my question earlier with having say a ceton card sending out multiple streams to clients, playing blu ray, serving media to other pc's, and acting as a back up location for other clients, I figured that maybe hyperthreading with a powerful i7 would make sense.

My i5-650 has it and it is two years old. Here's a list of the nearly 400 intel CPU's with it.

EDIT: Maybe you are confusing HT with turboboost like I was yesterday?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #48 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

My i5-650 has it and it is two years old. Here's a list of the nearly 400 intel CPU's with it.

EDIT: Maybe you are confusing HT with turboboost like I was yesterday?

The majority of the later i5's there have an "m" indicating mobile I believe.

A lot of the core i5's when LGA 1155 came out do not have hyperthreading.

The lga 1156 that I believe you have, perhaps there were more i5's with hyperthreading...

But the majority of the i5's for desktop do not include hyperthreading. I think Intel does this as incentive to move up to the i7 range.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #49 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RobNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was looking at Flexraid but not sure if that would be the right solution for me. Is hardware raid5 or software raid better? All I'm looking for is to protect from a single drive failure and want something easy/effective.

-RobNY
RobNY is offline  
post #50 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Lars99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobNY View Post

I was looking at Flexraid but not sure if that would be the right solution for me. Is hardware raid5 or software raid better? All I'm looking for is to protect from a single drive failure and want something easy/effective.

-RobNY

Hardware and software raid have advantages and disadvantages.
For the most simple solution, FlexRaid is probably the easiest solution.

Assassin's opinions on raid are in the minority and not the most efficient use of drives or dollars.
Lars99 is offline  
post #51 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

My i5-650 has it and it is two years old. Here's a list of the nearly 400 intel CPU's with it.

EDIT: Maybe you are confusing HT with turboboost like I was yesterday?

You have "previous generation" i5.

Look at this 2nd gen core i5 list I applied hyperthreading as a filter. Note that there are like 3 listed without "m" at the end.

http://ark.intel.com/search/advanced...Threading=true
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #52 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

You have "previous generation" i5.

Look at this 2nd gen core i5 list I applied hyperthreading as a filter. Note that there are like 3 listed without "m" at the end.

http://ark.intel.com/search/advanced...Threading=true

IDK, but it looks like every single one in that list have hyperthreading?

And each one of these i3's have it too.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #53 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

IDK, but it looks like every single one in that list have hyperthreading?

It does, but, the ending with "m" indicates for laptops. Which leaves three desktop cpu's, which are fairly new, with hyperthreading.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #54 of 54 Old 03-22-2012, 08:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars99 View Post

Hardware and software raid have advantages and disadvantages.
For the most simple solution, FlexRaid is probably the easiest solution.

Assassin's opinions on raid are in the minority and not the most efficient use of drives or dollars.

What? That RAID isn't a true backup? How is that the minority?

RAID (or UNraid) is a great option. Its just not a true backup. But when you get about 4TB or so then its a very good --- and maybe only --- option from a cost perspective.
assassin is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off