Problem With Internal Drives - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-21-2012, 10:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I been having a problem with my hard drives recently in my HTPC. For some reasons, my hard drives don't show up sometimes. It prevents me from even starting up my HTPC when my ssd doesn't want to communicate. My blu ray drive has the biggest problem, it seems to work once a week. Should I buy a new motherboard? That's what I think, but I want to have a little advice first
blee0120 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
subpixel8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like it could be power supply related. Do the hard drives spin up at all? Double check all the power connections.

Have you recently added any new components (blu-ray drive, video card, additional hard drives, etc)? Is the system trying to draw more power than your PSU can provide? Do you have a spare PSU you could swap out to test?

I'd try to rule the PSU out before buying a new motherboard.
subpixel8 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Agreed. Sounds like a PSU or even PSU connection issue.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Do the hard drives show up in the BIOS?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Ok, I have to check to see if it comes up in the BIOS. Also, when the blu ray drive doesn't show up when I go to my computer on the network drives, I can still open and eject blu rays from the drive. It still has power to work but it doesn't play anything or show up. If I'm watching a ripped movie on my drive, the movie stops or the player that I used, powerdvd 11, shuts down. It's been frustrating
blee0120 is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
If it's the SATA chip, you could buy a PCIE 4 or 6 port SATA card for around $20. Cheaper and a lot easier than buying a new motherboard.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-22-2012, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
razafina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you do any MS updates or any new software upgrades. I had the same problem and uninstall all my software that had to do with my dvd/bluray/cd drive and reinstalled and that solved my problem.
razafina is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-24-2012, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I had read about motherboard recalls in the early part of 2011 because of sata problems. May want to check with your board manufacturer.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-24-2012, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieTheater View Post

I thought I had read about motherboard recalls in the early part of 2011 because of sata problems. May want to check with your board manufacturer.

Ok, will do
blee0120 is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-24-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Make sure your motherboard has the latest bios, and your drives have the latest firmware available. You might also try setting a spinup delay in the BIOS for the HDs.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off