*Official* NVIDIA Kepler (6xx) GPUs for HTPCs - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 238 Old 04-11-2012, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New beta driver still no lossless bitstreaming.....

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 238 Old 04-11-2012, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by undermined View Post

unlike the 570 and 580 that were very powerful for CUDA the 680 and other kepler designs will have a lot less relative power for GPU computing compared to the older much less power efficient fermi designs.

they made the kepler chips extremely efficient the kinda of loads games put on a GPU but pure compute power is really never used in gaming and as opposed to furmark or folding no game will ever really peg a GPU so Nvidia focused on gaming performance and by doing so cut the power requirements a huge amount and still made a card that is a good deal faster than their prior models.

Nvidia made a couple of tradeoffs on the compute side of things.
I am wondering how the GK107/GTX650 will compare to the GTX560 in this respect.
There is going to be some settling in time as CUDA (esp 3.x) and
OpenCL performance is optimized on Kepler.

My interest is MadVR and SVP. SVP 3.1.x is quite compute intensive with its
new bicubic interpolation of the motion estimation vectors.
(GTX 460 hits about 75-80% load processing 1080p@24 to 60fps with this combo)
Tong Chia is offline  
post #63 of 238 Old 04-11-2012, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
The only tradeoff is that the 680 does not have full double-precision performance. If you only use single-precision calculations, it'll be as fast as any other cards.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #64 of 238 Old 04-11-2012, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

The only tradeoff is that the 680 does not have full double-precision performance. If you only use single-precision calculations, it'll be as fast as any other cards.

I was hoping for some improvements in the CUDA/OpenCL compute performance.

Up till now the GTX 560 was the fastest card for SVP use that passes HD bitstreams.

SVP + MadVR + LAVVideo is close to loading out the 560/460 class GPU

The GTX680 Kepler removes that restriction
Tong Chia is offline  
post #65 of 238 Old 04-11-2012, 11:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
The 560 also had limited double-precision performance.
The 680 is more similar to the 560 (the "normal" 560, not the "Ti") then to the 570 or 580.

I would actually be surprised if SVP used double-precision calculations, because even on a 580 they are much slower then single precision (factor 1/8 on the 580)

So, considering that, i don't think there are any "trade offs" that affect anyone but people that really need scientific double-precision GPGPU calculations.
If the 560 is too slow for you, the 680 is a nice replacement (although a bit pricey)
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #66 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 12:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

The 560 also had limited double-precision performance.
The 680 is more similar to the 560 (the "normal" 560, not the "Ti") then to the 570 or 580.

I would actually be surprised if SVP used double-precision calculations, because even on a 580 they are much slower then single precision (factor 1/8 on the 580)

So, considering that, i don't think there are any "trade offs" that affect anyone but people that really need scientific double-precision GPGPU calculations.
If the 560 is too slow for you, the 680 is a nice replacement (although a bit pricey)

I don't think SVP uses double precision extensively for the reasons you described.

The tradeoff I am thinking about is summed up by one of AnandTech's articles
"Because NVIDIA has essentially traded a fewer number of higher clocked units for a larger number of lower clocked units, NVIDIA had to go in and double the size of each functional unit inside their SM."

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5699/n...tx-680-review/

My initial impression is this iteration of Kepler has about the same performance as Fermi for GPU computing.

SVP is one HTPC centric use case. This puts it into the "wait and see" category for me as long as my SVP combo does not hit 90-100% GPU load on my current 460.

Perhaps that could change as more reviews/tests are done and the driver starts to mature.
Tong Chia is offline  
post #67 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still wondering when the supply shortage will end, this whole thing is starting to look like a paper launch.
carageuw is offline  
post #68 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by carageuw View Post

I'm still wondering when the supply shortage will end, this whole thing is starting to look like a paper launch.

I got one, and a quick check among prominent internet shops in my country shows that some also have some stock left.
So ... what? Its sure not in excess supply, as some shops indeed are out of stock, but its certainly available if you want it, at least here.

Don't buy from the biggest shop where everyone buys, because that one is for sure to be out of stock all the time.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #69 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I got one, and a quick check among prominent internet shops in my country shows that some also have some stock left.
So ... what? Its sure not in excess supply, as some shops indeed are out of stock, but its certainly available if you want it, at least here.

Don't buy from the biggest shop where everyone buys, because that one is for sure to be out of stock all the time.

I checked Newegg, TigerDirect, NCIX, MicroCenter, and Fry's daily.
carageuw is offline  
post #70 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Pre-order at one, otherwise everyone else that pre-orders get its first, or people that are faster when its in stock for a few minutes.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #71 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Pastuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post

New beta driver still no lossless bitstreaming.....

Can you elaborate, I thought bit-streaming works on the 680?

My Theater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pastuch is offline  
post #72 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastuch View Post

Can you elaborate, I thought bit-streaming works on the 680?

It does.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #73 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've yet to see one single person actually get it working. Everyone just keep saying it does. So far as I can tell it does not currently work.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #74 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
same here.... seen a whole lot of "it should", and quite a few "I have it and it doesn't" but no concrete yes Bitstreaming DTS-HD, Dolby True HD and etc fully work.
nintari is offline  
post #75 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone finally just told me they do have the options in their control panel audio section. So I guess it does work. But I'd sure LOVE to know why mine doesn't. It isn't like I can sweet talk it into being in the options...I mean WTF. Does it not work in vista 64 bit or something. I mean what the hell.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #76 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post

Someone finally just told me they do have the options in their control panel audio section. So I guess it does work. But I'd sure LOVE to know why mine doesn't. It isn't like I can sweet talk it into being in the options...I mean WTF. Does it not work in vista 64 bit or something. I mean what the hell.

You have a $500 video card but are using the horrid excuse that is Vista?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #77 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Comp625's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
hdtv00 - I saw your posts over at the EVGA forums as well.

I'm nervous because I, too, plan to have the GTX 680 hooked up into a Receiver, and from the Receiver into the TV. All devices are HDCP compliant.

Out of curiosity, does your Receiver allow for playback of loseless Multichannel PCM? Although it's loseless, bitstream audio (e.g. Dolby True HD) is still a compression method and a slight quality is lost upon playback (vs. having the Receiver truly decode the audio).

Of course, my question is moot if the GTX 680's HDMI won't even allow carrying the Audio File into the Receiver.
Comp625 is offline  
post #78 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea I'm still using vista because at the time I liked having my HTPC actually work and all the software and hardware vista drivers were working.

In the audio listings I see my receiver listed as a device connected to the hdmi but there is no sign of any lossless audio ability in any of the settings....

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #79 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post

Someone finally just told me they do have the options in their control panel audio section. So I guess it does work. But I'd sure LOVE to know why mine doesn't. It isn't like I can sweet talk it into being in the options...I mean WTF. Does it not work in vista 64 bit or something. I mean what the hell.

I think we have identified the problem here, get aboard with Windows 7...
carageuw is offline  
post #80 of 238 Old 04-12-2012, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comp625 View Post

Although it's loseless, bitstream audio (e.g. Dolby True HD) is still a compression method and a slight quality is lost upon playback (vs. having the Receiver truly decode the audio).

If your HTPC is setup properly, there is no quality loss. Lossless is lossless.
Assuming of course, your receiver handles Multichannel PCM the same as compressed bitstream signals (good ones do, cheap ones may not)
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #81 of 238 Old 04-17-2012, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
Chriss745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabuk View Post

So, got the 680 GTX installed and it's working great so far. I have the newest NVIDIA drivers installed and MKV playback via MPC Home Cinema, MadVR, LAV Filters work fine. I did have to un-check one setting in MadVR to get playback to work but no other issues. I will try bitstreaming this weekend as I have the 680 in my gaming PC.

The card runs quiet (about the same as my 560ti). Heat isn't an issue when I fired up World of Warcraft and MW3. I haven't tried any of the new TXAA features but will do so tonight.

However, ran into one issue. I have the beta version of Media Espresso that supports NVENC encoding but Media Espresso won't accept my uncompressed Blu-ray MKVs. It reports that it won't process the file due to the audio. It won't playback the MKVs in their player.

The MKVs can be processed in Cyberlink Media Director Ultra and Arcsoft's Media Converter 7.5 without issue. But these programs don't support NVENC at this time.

I am hoping the folks at Anandtech have better luck with getting Media Espresso to work with decrypted MKVs to test NVENC. I will try some other things and report back on encoding time and quality.

Can you tell me where did you find the beta MediaEspresso which supports NVENC? I have a GTX680 and I would like to try it out also.

Cheers,

Chriss
Chriss745 is offline  
post #82 of 238 Old 04-24-2012, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently someone got HD Audio bitstreaming working with GTX 680 SLI...
http://forum.pcdvd.com.tw/showpost.p...9&postcount=13
carageuw is offline  
post #83 of 238 Old 04-24-2012, 11:58 PM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nvidia has put up the specs for the GT 640 OEM and GT 630 OEM Kepler cards.

http://geforce.com/hardware/desktop-...specifications

http://geforce.com/hardware/desktop-...specifications

950MHz core for GT 640(Kepler) OEM with GDDR5 memory and 875MHz core for GT 630(Kepler) OEM.

Retail GK107/GT 640 cards can't be far off now.
HDGT is offline  
post #84 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Sandy B Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDGT View Post

Nvidia has put up the specs for the GT 640 OEM and GT 630 OEM Kepler cards.

http://geforce.com/hardware/desktop-...specifications

http://geforce.com/hardware/desktop-...specifications

950MHz core for GT 640(Kepler) OEM with GDDR5 memory and 875MHz core for GT 630(Kepler) OEM.

Aren't these the rebadged Fermi cards? Still no 4k output in the specs.

SBR
Sandy B Ridge is offline  
post #85 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They are NOT Fermi GPUs, these cards have 384 CUDA Cores which is what GK107 has, also note the processor clock is the same as the core clock where as Fermi GPUs have their processor clock at double the speed of the core clock.
HDGT is offline  
post #86 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
The 640 GDDR5 variant looks good, just need a retail version of that card, passive cooled (or extremely silent), and soon please.

PS:
The 640 192-bit DDR3 variant looks odd, more like indeed a Fermi card.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #87 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Avoid the 192bit DDR3 card, thats a rebadged Fermi GPU, it will not have Kepler improvements such as VP5 decoder, 4K HDMI output, NVENC etc.
HDGT is offline  
post #88 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All Kepler GK107 GPUs also support PCIe 3.0 where as Fermi GPUs only support PCIe 2.0, so you can easily tell the difference.
HDGT is offline  
post #89 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Sandy B Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

The 640 GDDR5 variant looks good, just need a retail version of that card, passive cooled (or extremely silent), and soon please.

Yup, I like the look of that one.
Slightly better texture fill rate than the 550 Ti and knocks spots off the 450.

Should be perfect for even the most strenuous MadVR action!

SBR
Sandy B Ridge is offline  
post #90 of 238 Old 04-25-2012, 02:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 120
The GTX690 (dual GK104), and possibly the GTX670 (slightly limited GK104) will most likely be announced on the 28th on some NVIDIA Gaming show.

I would hope they also sneak in announcements for the GK107 cards, but somehow i doubt it.
The OEM variant is rated for 75W, thats low enough for no external Power, and even low enough for efficient passive cooling. Want, now.
I even considered getting a passive 7750, because its just great performance at a great price for a passive model, hope someone builds a NVIDIA variant to compete with that, otherwise i might switch.
Nevcairiel is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off