*Official* NVIDIA Kepler (6xx) GPUs for HTPCs - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 238 Old 09-13-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespurgeon View Post

jakmal,
Don't you think that it would be a really good time for a top-level technology website to do a new HTPC card/driver roundup.
GT 640, GTX 650, throw in a 670 for good measure
HF 7750, HD 7780, HD 7870
Latest drivers - what has been fixed, anything still broken...
I'm just saying...

Agreed, but I am not comfortable slotting in the 650 as a HTPC card because of the external PCIe power connector. If there is some model released without that (AVSForum members purchasing the 650.. please let us know if it works properly without the PCIe power pin connected), then I will include in the roundup.

Currently, planning for passive HTPC card roundup. Have a passive GTS 450 (really outdated!), passive 7750 and passive DDR3 640. I think HTPC competition is basically shootout between the last two cards. Will update once that review goes out [ probably not for another month, given my current workload smile.gif ]

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 238 Old 09-13-2012, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Cheers man,
The power connection doesn't concern me, but I always want to be able to do some light gaming on my card as well. Looking forward to an updated HTPC review. Thanks to you guys for the recent mid-range gaming/workstation review btw.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #183 of 238 Old 09-14-2012, 12:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
The 650 is low enough on power to run passive without a power connector, i would really love if you just give the manufactures a bit of time to come up with a passive model (or probe them if they have something in the pipeline)
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #184 of 238 Old 09-19-2012, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX_650_Power_Edition/25.html

Power consumption on GTX 650 is very efficient, significantly lower than competitor's 28nm GPUs. Even at max power usage, it's only 62W, well below the PCIe slot's 75W.
HDGT is offline  
post #185 of 238 Old 09-19-2012, 07:30 AM
Member
 
jyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NewEngland
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

Agreed, but I am not comfortable slotting in the 650 as a HTPC card because of the external PCIe power connector. If there is some model released without that (AVSForum members purchasing the 650.. please let us know if it works properly without the PCIe power pin connected), then I will include in the roundup.

jakmal, I purchased a Dell OEM GT640 w/ DDR5. the only difference between this card and the recently released GTX650 is core clock (950Mhz vs 1058Mhz). This card does not come with 6pin and the max power it draws is about 55W. Just wait a few weeks and I'm sure someone will be able to prove that GTX650 can run without the 6pin power plugged in :-)

will post some pictures once I get home :-)
jyzz is offline  
post #186 of 238 Old 09-19-2012, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Nice card I suppose, but is it ~20USD nicer vs the 7750? Are CUVID and PhysX worth that?
Ruiner is offline  
post #187 of 238 Old 09-19-2012, 10:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, its no different than the 640GT except the DDR5 memory; which requires special cooling consideration. Theres a reason why there are no GTX650's that don't waste an extra PCI space just to keep it cool; even for base model non-overclocked cards. I really wish they would figure out how to keep the DDR5 memory cool without sacrificing another PCI slot. ATI has DDR5 cards that only tale up one slot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDGT View Post

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX_650_Power_Edition/25.html
Power consumption on GTX 650 is very efficient, significantly lower than competitor's 28nm GPUs. Even at max power usage, it's only 62W, well below the PCIe slot's 75W.

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #188 of 238 Old 10-17-2012, 12:35 AM
Member
 
Sandy B Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if Anandtech will update its HTPC card review soon. I'm itching to upgrade to a 650/650Ti or 7750 for MadVR purposes soon...
Sandy B Ridge is offline  
post #189 of 238 Old 10-17-2012, 10:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

My understanding is the primary benefits from MadVR doesnt have much to do with having faster DDR ram on the display card.  A fast CPU would be more useful.  The 640GT would still be ideal for HTPC usage; especially since it takes up only one card slot and very cheap.  So, maybe they might have a separate article for a lower-midrange gaming card.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #190 of 238 Old 10-18-2012, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I dunno, if you want quiet and powerful, sacrificing some space in your case seems like the smallest sacrifice to make. I'm sure you could build a single-slot card with a fan, but because of the smaller heat spreaders it just wouldn't be as effective (ie. quiet).

I recently got a GTX 660 (an ASUS Direct CU II model), and i really like it. The cooler is extremely silent, personally i don't hear it, so for the more-powerful cards with active cooling, its among the best, imho.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #191 of 238 Old 11-02-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nevcairiel: have you tested your 660 out yet to a receiver to see if you can get DTS-HD and Dolby True HD? I'm getting ready to build a SFF gaming HTPC and trying to decide between the GTX 660 Ti and the 7950. I know the 7950 will do what I need for blu-ray playback, but not sure on the 660 frown.gif

Was going to hook my gaming rig up to the receiver (it has a 690) and test, but really don't want to unhook it and lug it downstairs lol (it is a corsair 650D case so kinda big and bulky)
nintari is offline  
post #192 of 238 Old 11-02-2012, 12:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I'm curious what made you choose the 7950 as what you need for bluray playback?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintari View Post

Nevcairiel: have you tested your 660 out yet to a receiver to see if you can get DTS-HD and Dolby True HD? I'm getting ready to build a SFF gaming HTPC and trying to decide between the GTX 660 Ti and the 7950. I know the 7950 will do what I need for blu-ray playback, but not sure on the 660 frown.gif
Was going to hook my gaming rig up to the receiver (it has a 690) and test, but really don't want to unhook it and lug it downstairs lol (it is a corsair 650D case so kinda big and bulky)

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #193 of 238 Old 11-02-2012, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nintari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
MKA: just from dealings in the past with Nvidia (460, 470, 480) not putting out DTS-HD and Dolby True HD to my 3808CI, but several AMD cards I had would. Again though I'm going with a card like the 660, 670 possibly or 7950 because it is also a Gaming HTPC
TWheatley likes this.
nintari is offline  
post #194 of 238 Old 11-02-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
The 460 should have bitstreamed HD formats just fine (in fact, i had one and it did), however its a known fact that the 465, 470 and 480 never supported that (and never claimed to). The GF100 chip they were based on just didn't have this capability.

Any cards in the 5xx and 6xx series can bitstream just fine. I have tested on my 660 and it works perfectly.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #195 of 238 Old 11-02-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 341
All GeForce cards since GTX 460 support BD audio (TrueHD, DTS-HD), including:

- All Kepler-based 6xx cards: 640, 650, 650 Ti, 660, 660 Ti, 670, 680, 690.
- Fermi-based 6xx cards: 610 = 520, 620 = 430/2, 630 = 440.

Exceptions are 570, 580, 590. They were released later than 460, but based on GF110, the full version of GF100 on which 465, 470, 480 are based, hence do not support BD audio.

In summary, among the Fermi cards, the GF100/GF110-based cards do not support BD audio.
renethx is offline  
post #196 of 238 Old 12-17-2012, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hasn't that been released for sometime?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #197 of 238 Old 12-17-2012, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

Hasn't that been released for sometime?

The beta has been around for two weeks, the WHQL version has just been released.
carageuw is offline  
post #198 of 238 Old 12-25-2012, 04:28 PM
Member
 
fletcher6490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know why I can't get HD audio to bitstream using my GTX 650 to my Oppo 103? I use power DVD and I only have the two options - PCM decoded by PowerDVD or Non-Decoded dolby digital/dts to external device.

I used to have an AMD card and I didn't have any issues.
fletcher6490 is offline  
post #199 of 238 Old 12-26-2012, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Reading the spec sheet of the Oppo, it doesn't support HD Audio input over HDMI, just Dolby and DTS, and PCM.

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/
Quote:
HDMI Audio: Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, DTS, AAC, up to 5.1ch/192kHz or 7.1ch/96kHz PCM.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #200 of 238 Old 12-27-2012, 03:10 AM
Member
 
zacjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently converted my desktop to an HTPC. It's located in the office next to the theater, in a full tower case with a 750w power supply, so quiet and independent power are of no real value in my case.

I needed HDMI and bitstreaming audio so I upgraded the video card last week from an 8800GTS to a GT 630..

This is the actual card I bought: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130808

The MOBO is EVGA 780i, CPU C2D E6600 @ 3.2ghz., 4gb DDR2 RAM at 800mhz.

Reading this thread, though, I'm wondering if I was a little too cheap on the GPU though. I'm still under 30 days, so I could still return it. I paid $60 for the card. I could upgrade to the GTX 650 relatively painlessly.

Do you think it's worth the trouble/additional expense to go to a GTX 650? I'm watching on a JVC RS45 on a 130" diagonal 2.40:1 screen from about 10-12' away. Most of the video that we watch is in 1080p and compressed to 10gb or so. If I"m not going to notice a difference in 1080p audio/video playback, then I think it's probably not worth it for me to upgrade again. I will say, however, that I seem to think I suffered a hit in overall picture quality going from streaming through my PS3 with Universal Media Server to the HTPC/video card/HDMI cable route. Subtle, but it seems like I lost some contrast or something, even though the AVS test disc calibrates roughly the same.

I'm looking mainly at this GTX 650: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4501123 .

And this one with dual full-size HDMI outs that would come in handy: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4368604&CatId=7387

Currently using Mediabrowser and LAV splitter with WMC. Thanks for your input, and I hope this is the proper forum for asking. Zac.
zacjones is offline  
post #201 of 238 Old 01-13-2013, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
santiagodraco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I'm having an issue with my 670 that I didn't have with my Radeon cards before. Very annoying.

Whenever I play video, well "most" of the time, and it's full screen, I get a few second sync where the screen will go black and then finally come back and display the video. This occurs even with 1080p sources. It happens sometimes multiple times when playing back flash full screen as well.

I'm running my 670 into a Denon AVR-100 to a Sammy 55 inch display. As I mentioned before my old 7970 radeon didn't have this issue.

Any ideas on what might be causing the display to sync every time I play HD video?

Thanks!
santiagodraco is offline  
post #202 of 238 Old 01-14-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

This isn't normal behavior for Nvidia cards.  I also have a 55" Samsung.  This doesnt happen to me.  The only time my display blanks out is when changing to a new refresh rate; and, it only happens once.  Here are some questions that might help us help you:

 

1. What software are you using to playback the videos that have this issue?  Is that software set to use "EVR Exclusive full screen mode"?

2. Does the same behavior happen consistently to the same exact media files?

3. Are you using standard display resolutions or custom?

4. Are you using any software to change the refresh rates automatically (such as SetDisplayFrequency.exe from AnyDVD)?

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by santiagodraco View Post

All,

I'm having an issue with my 670 that I didn't have with my Radeon cards before. Very annoying.

Whenever I play video, well "most" of the time, and it's full screen, I get a few second sync where the screen will go black and then finally come back and display the video. This occurs even with 1080p sources. It happens sometimes multiple times when playing back flash full screen as well.

I'm running my 670 into a Denon AVR-100 to a Sammy 55 inch display. As I mentioned before my old 7970 radeon didn't have this issue.

Any ideas on what might be causing the display to sync every time I play HD video?

Thanks!

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #203 of 238 Old 01-14-2013, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
santiagodraco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post

This isn't normal behavior for Nvidia cards.  I also have a 55" Samsung.  This doesnt happen to me.  The only time my display blanks out is when changing to a new refresh rate; and, it only happens once.  Here are some questions that might help us help you:

1. What software are you using to playback the videos that have this issue?  Is that software set to use "EVR Exclusive full screen mode"?
2. Does the same behavior happen consistently to the same exact media files?
3. Are you using standard display resolutions or custom?
4. Are you using any software to change the refresh rates automatically (such as SetDisplayFrequency.exe from AnyDVD)?

This issue happens with any software package and any video that plays full screen.
Resolutions are standed (1080p, 60hz).
No refresh rate changes via software. At least not intentionally smile.gif

You mentioned "this should only happen once" when changing to a new refresh rate. Well, this is the heart of what I'm mentioning. It acts as if I am changing the refresh rate when I'm not. The screen refreshes as if it's resyncing.

The question I have is this. For those with an HTPC connected to a surround sound receiver (such as my Denon) does the screen "resync" when loading a video full screen? Mkanet I wasn't sure if you are saying yours does or doesn't.

I don't think it should do this as all since it didn't do it on my AMD card. So either there's a setting somewhere causing the video to resync or this is normal behavior for Nvidia (that's what I'd like to determine).

Thanks smile.gif
santiagodraco is offline  
post #204 of 238 Old 01-14-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 460 and a Pioneer AVR with a Panasonic plasma... I get it all the time. Have no idea what is causing it. I thought it "might" be a driver issue?

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #205 of 238 Old 01-14-2013, 01:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I'm not using an AVR to manage my HDMI; so maybe that's why I'm not having that issue?

 

This is a long shot; but, there should be a setting similar to the one below (Im not at home).  Try toggling it to see if the behavior changes at all.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #206 of 238 Old 01-14-2013, 10:51 PM
Member
 
allupons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do both the 650 and 7750 support actual 23.976 Hz playback? I am wanting to upgrade and get true 24p support. Thanks for any info.
allupons is offline  
post #207 of 238 Old 01-15-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Some food for thought...

 

A lot of people dont know this... original Cinema/theater playback speed of a movie (the way a movie was intended to be watched at) is 24.000fps.  Most bluray movies are encoded at a slower speed... 23.976fps.  So, you actually end up watching the movie at the wrong speed if you plan to do 23.976Hz/23.976fps on your HTPC.  If your eyes are very sensitive to video quality, you may notice a slightly more shuttered video effect at 23.976Hz playback.  Also, audio has a slightly lower pitch than the original recorded audio as well.  So, it actually takes a little longer to watch a bluray movie at home than in the theater.

 

If you really care about having the original Cinema/Theater experience, it would be ideal to set your PC to a "perfect" 24.000Hz/24.000fps output; which can be done with Reclock.  Reclock will "restore" the framerate (AND audio speed) to the way it was originally recorded.  After restoring original speed, movies will generally take less time to watch and video may appear to look more fluid (less of a shutter-effect). Also, audio sounds a little more "sharp", once corrected.  The only catch.... reclock the audio needs to be resampled; which is negligible under almost every circumstance IMO.  Some audiophiles would prefer to have bit-perfect audio no-matter-what; inadvertently at the cost of playing back movies NOT at the original speed.

 

Having said that, my experience is that at least Nvidia cards have a much easier time locking onto 24.000Hz and 60.000Hz, than 23.976Hz/59.940Hz.  My TV'; which is extremely sensitive to correct video timings, loves 24.000Hz/24.000fps input...which, in turn provides extremely fluid video.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by allupons View Post

Do both the 650 and 7750 support actual 23.976 Hz playback? I am wanting to upgrade and get true 24p support. Thanks for any info.

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #208 of 238 Old 01-16-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET 
Some food for thought...

A lot of people dont know this... original Cinema/theater playback speed of a movie (the way a movie was intended to be watched at) is 24.000fps. Most bluray movies are encoded at a slower speed... 23.976fps. So, you actually end up watching the movie at the wrong speed if you plan to do 23.976Hz/23.976fps on your HTPC. If your eyes are very sensitive to video quality, you may notice a slightly more shuttered video effect at 23.976Hz playback. Also, audio has a slightly lower pitch than the original recorded audio as well. So, it actually takes a little longer to watch a bluray movie at home than in the theater.

If you really care about having the original Cinema/Theater experience, it would be ideal to set your PC to a "perfect" 24.000Hz/24.000fps output; which can be done with Reclock. Reclock will "restore" the framerate (AND audio speed) to the way it was originally recorded. After restoring original speed, movies will generally take less time to watch and video may appear to look more fluid (less of a shutter-effect). Also, audio sounds a little more "sharp", once corrected. The only catch.... reclock the audio needs to be resampled; which is negligible under almost every circumstance IMO. Some audiophiles would prefer to have bit-perfect audio no-matter-what; inadvertently at the cost of playing back movies NOT at the original speed.

Having said that, my experience is that at least Nvidia cards have a much easier time locking onto 24.000Hz and 60.000Hz, than 23.976Hz/59.940Hz. My TV'; which is extremely sensitive to correct video timings, loves 24.000Hz/24.000fps input...which, in turn provides extremely fluid video.

+1 this needs to be spread more widely as the truth.

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #209 of 238 Old 01-16-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post


I recently discovered the joys of reclock. I am using an AMD Card, and I find that it does 23.976 better than it does 24.000, with 23.976 I can get it to where it has days on the frame repeat time, but on 24hz it hovers around 4-5 hours. I guess either way I am not getting dropped/repeated frames with this card, but I am curious to try an nvidia card with reclock now.
kaibrok is offline  
post #210 of 238 Old 01-16-2013, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
tman247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I just bought a GT640 to go in my 'second' Win7 HTPC, and have an odd problem. I'm currently connecting the PC straight into a monitor via VGA (DSUB). This is the only input this monitor has unfortunately. The GT640 has 1 x HDMI, 2 x DVI-D and 1 x VGA on the back. When I connect everything up, more often than not, I don't get any signal to the monitor at all using VGA. I can hear/see the PC booting, but nothing at all on the display. Tried different cables, bypassing the KVM etc, but nothing. I switched back to my old ATI 3650, and that works over VGA every time without problem.

So, is this a known problem, or is there any way round this? Seems a bit excessive to have to buy a new digital monitor just to use the card. I understand that VGA is 'old hat', and likely the GT640 has preference for digital outputs, but the VGA port should still work. I did get a display a couple of times, and everything seemed ok. I then put the HTPC to sleep, and when it resumed, no video again. Reboots/hard power off's also often dont fix the problem.

When it works the display is very good, but I did notice some very faint waves at the edges of windows on the desktop. I certainly don't see anything like this on the 3650 over VGA. That's rock steady.
tman247 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off