*Official* NVIDIA Kepler (6xx) GPUs for HTPCs - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 238 Old 01-16-2013, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tman247 View Post

I just bought a GT640 to go in my 'second' Win7 HTPC, and have an odd problem. I'm currently connecting the PC straight into a monitor via VGA (DSUB). This is the only input this monitor has unfortunately. The GT640 has 1 x HDMI, 2 x DVI-D and 1 x VGA on the back. When I connect everything up, more often than not, I don't get any signal to the monitor at all using VGA. I can hear/see the PC booting, but nothing at all on the display. Tried different cables, bypassing the KVM etc, but nothing. I switched back to my old ATI 3650, and that works over VGA every time without problem.

So, is this a known problem, or is there any way round this? Seems a bit excessive to have to buy a new digital monitor just to use the card. I understand that VGA is 'old hat', and likely the GT640 has preference for digital outputs, but the VGA port should still work. I did get a display a couple of times, and everything seemed ok. I then put the HTPC to sleep, and when it resumed, no video again. Reboots/hard power off's also often dont fix the problem.

When it works the display is very good, but I did notice some very faint waves at the edges of windows on the desktop. I certainly don't see anything like this on the 3650 over VGA. That's rock steady.

Probably a bad VGA connector on your GT440 card, especially if the connector is attached via a ribbon cable and IDC connector, these sometimes go bad.

You might consider getting a replacement for the card.
Tong Chia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 238 Old 01-17-2013, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Is forcing your FPS to 24 a hard thing to do? I would like to try this.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #213 of 238 Old 01-21-2013, 11:28 PM
Member
 
smidley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a new receiver: Harman Kardon AVR 1700, and hooked it up to my computer that has a GTX 650 ti via HDMI. The computer is running Windows 8 Pro. If I look at the audio properties, under the supported formats tab, I see DTS and Dolby Digital, but none of the HD formats (Master Audio / TrueHD). I have tried playing a sample .ts file for each of the new HD audio formats, and I don't get any audio. Any other audio format works fine. What do I need to do in order to play HD audio streams through my computer to my receiver?
smidley is offline  
post #214 of 238 Old 01-24-2013, 05:14 PM
Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by smidley View Post

I just bought a new receiver: Harman Kardon AVR 1700, and hooked it up to my computer that has a GTX 650 ti via HDMI. The computer is running Windows 8 Pro. If I look at the audio properties, under the supported formats tab, I see DTS and Dolby Digital, but none of the HD formats (Master Audio / TrueHD). I have tried playing a sample .ts file for each of the new HD audio formats, and I don't get any audio. Any other audio format works fine. What do I need to do in order to play HD audio streams through my computer to my receiver?
The player you're using on the computer has to support bitstreaming those audio types.
w1retap is offline  
post #215 of 238 Old 01-24-2013, 05:21 PM
Member
 
smidley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post

The player you're using on the computer has to support bitstreaming those audio types.

I figured it out. Even though I had installed the newest Nvidia drivers, they didn't auto override the audio drivers. I manually installed the nvidia drivers for the audio device and then the supported formats showed up. Thanks for the reply! smile.gif
smidley is offline  
post #216 of 238 Old 02-03-2013, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
fschris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
help me decide.... HD7750 or GT640 for HTPC duty. I am looking for something that can get me 23.976 or 24fps. Can reclock be used with both Nvidia and GTI cards ?

FSChris
ASROCK H67 GE / HT
Core i3

Carver AV-705 5Channel AMP
Zaph 2.5MM TT'S DIY

Emotiva XPA3

Emotiva UMC 200

2 x MFW 15 Clones DIY

fschris is offline  
post #217 of 238 Old 02-03-2013, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I recently got the following card. There are some things a 7750 can't handle.

ASUS HD7770-1GD5
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121663

It's an easy fit being somewhat small and is very quiet and cool.

I am absolutely thrilled with the performance. There's no visible stuttering, frame drops, frame repeats, or video corruption and it handles 25fps PAL superbly. The timings are much better than any other card I've had so that I am only getting frame drop or repeat in the days rather than minutes or seconds. Some examples.

23.976: actual 23.97609
29.970: actual 29.97021
30.000: actual 29.99997
50.000: actual 50.00017
59.940: actual 59.94037

Here are the rendering times using madVR Jinc3+AR for chroma and image upscaling to 1080

1080 6.31 ms
480 8.34 ms
720 11.54 ms
JMGNYC is offline  
post #218 of 238 Old 02-03-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17

My keplar based GPU card, the GT640, can lock onto 24.000Hz (and 59.940hz) pretty easily.  If you want an authentic cinema experience, you would actually want your refresh rate to be 24.000Hz synched with Reclock "Cinema" frame rate of 24.000fps, not 23,976Hz.  Video reproduction doesnt get any better than that.  Having said that, I have a feeling both ATI and Nvidia cards can lock onto 24.000hz equally as well; producing comparable picture quality on both brands.  I just picked Nvidia because their control panel GUI has a much nicer (and easier to use) layout than the Catalyst equivalent.  BTW:  If you use a normal 1080p TV and bluray material, you wont need MadVR... just plan reclock+EVR would be more enough.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #219 of 238 Old 02-04-2013, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
fschris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post

My keplar based GPU card, the GT640, can lock onto 24.000Hz (and 59.940hz) pretty easily.  If you want an authentic cinema experience, you would actually want your refresh rate to be 24.000Hz synched with Reclock "Cinema" frame rate of 24.000fps, not 23,976Hz.  Video reproduction doesnt get any better than that.  Having said that, I have a feeling both ATI and Nvidia cards can lock onto 24.000hz equally as well; producing comparable picture quality on both brands.  I just picked Nvidia because their control panel GUI has a much nicer (and easier to use) layout than the Catalyst equivalent.  BTW:  If you use a normal 1080p TV and bluray material, you wont need MadVR... just plan reclock+EVR would be more enough.

Thanks, I agree with you and thanks for making me remember the really bad Catalyst GUI. I had an old 5550 and remember the catylyst driver GUI was not that great. I think I am going to pick up that GT640. It should be a huge improvement over the Corei3 IGP.

FSChris
ASROCK H67 GE / HT
Core i3

Carver AV-705 5Channel AMP
Zaph 2.5MM TT'S DIY

Emotiva XPA3

Emotiva UMC 200

2 x MFW 15 Clones DIY

fschris is offline  
post #220 of 238 Old 03-18-2013, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d.j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can the GTX680 do 4K ( or UHD 3840x 2160P at 24,25 and 30P ) or not ?


TIA



dj
d.j. is offline  
post #221 of 238 Old 03-24-2013, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
Marco Procida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smidley View Post

I just bought a new receiver: Harman Kardon AVR 1700, and hooked it up to my computer that has a GTX 650 ti via HDMI. The computer is running Windows 8 Pro. If I look at the audio properties, under the supported formats tab, I see DTS and Dolby Digital, but none of the HD formats (Master Audio / TrueHD). I have tried playing a sample .ts file for each of the new HD audio formats, and I don't get any audio. Any other audio format works fine. What do I need to do in order to play HD audio streams through my computer to my receiver?

Hi, I have the same problem here, but with a msi gtx 660, and windows 7. I cannot bitstream HD Audio like DTS HD and TrueHD, and in the audio control panel those formats are not showed. My HT receiver is an Onkyo sr 508. I know it works fine with DTS HD MA, because when playing blue ray through Playstation 3 slim it does bitstream correctly.



How can i make it work? I tried several video players ( all versions of Power DVD, XMBC and Media Player classic Home cinema) , and tried also older nvidia driver, but it' simoly not working. All i can send to the receiver is PCM 24 bit 5.1, or lossy DTS Core trhough HDMI. frown.gif
Marco Procida is offline  
post #222 of 238 Old 03-25-2013, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
HDGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDGT is offline  
post #223 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
betomnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, new here. Can somebody help me to choose which car is better for my HTPC-Gamer PC. My options are: Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X and asus gtx 670 direc cu ii (non Top).
I own a sapphire 6670 and works perfect, no issues. Never try a nvidia and have some doubts about the drivers for the HTPC purpose.
I want the most quiet card, i've read some reviews from those cards but i'm no clear which one is the quietest.
I know that the 7950 is cheaper and if i overclock it can performance like 670, but i really want to avoid the hard overclock because i'm afraid that the card turns too loud.

So, 670 looks good for the gaming performance but i don`t know if it would be great for the HTPC since i`ve read this thread and looks like the nvidia drivers doesn't do very well. I play mostly videos in 23 hz mode (23.96), but also 24, 25, 29, 50 and 60, with madVr switching automatically the refresh rate.

By the other hand, i know that the 7950 will work like HTPC, because i know the amd drivers, and for the gaming purpose too, but i don't know how far i have to go with the overclock to max out like 670, and doing that i don't know how much louder the card will be.

I hope somebody help me.
Thanks.

biggrin.gif
betomnn is offline  
post #224 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17

Most game developers do most of their development and beta testing on Nvidia based PCs.  I know that because I used to work for a very large gaming company.  You're probably going to get the best gaming experience with Nvidia since they work on a daily basis with game developers to produce frequent driver updates specifically optimized for popular games.

 

It would be good idea to get the fastest card that's compatible with your system without trying to overclock it.  Most higher end cards are already maxed out in clock frequencies.  I doubt you would get much real benefit in overclocking without introducing heating/stability related issues (loud fan noise, system lockups or reboots, graphics distortion,etc).  Both ATI and Nvida have their share of driver related glitches in respect to HTPC related tasks.  Nvidia also has CUDA based hardware acceleration; which many 3rd party software developers have supported for years.  I personally use CUDA acceleration for a bunch of different software (Splashtop Remote desktop, Wondershare Media Converter, LAV video decoder, etc).

 

It looks like, getting the fastest single Nvidia card your PSU can handle, would be best; if money is no object.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by betomnn View Post

Hi everyone, new here. Can somebody help me to choose which car is better for my HTPC-Gamer PC. My options are: Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X and asus gtx 670 direc cu ii (non Top).
I own a sapphire 6670 and works perfect, no issues. Never try a nvidia and have some doubts about the drivers for the HTPC purpose.
I want the most quiet card, i've read some reviews from those cards but i'm no clear which one is the quietest.
I know that the 7950 is cheaper and if i overclock it can performance like 670, but i really want to avoid the hard overclock because i'm afraid that the card turns too loud.

So, 670 looks good for the gaming performance but i don`t know if it would be great for the HTPC since i`ve read this thread and looks like the nvidia drivers doesn't do very well. I play mostly videos in 23 hz mode (23.96), but also 24, 25, 29, 50 and 60, with madVr switching automatically the refresh rate.

By the other hand, i know that the 7950 will work like HTPC, because i know the amd drivers, and for the gaming purpose too, but i don't know how far i have to go with the overclock to max out like 670, and doing that i don't know how much louder the card will be.

I hope somebody help me.
Thanks.

biggrin.gif

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #225 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
betomnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks MKNET.

I really like the idea to get the 670 over the 7950, it have great performance without tweaking and has some cool stuff like CUDA and Physx.

The build is totally new. I'm getting a i5 3570k, asus z77 and a PSU above 600W.

Just a gonna know tow simple things about the Nvidia drivers.

I don't use the 3D (i don't like it) so, it will be a problem setting the 23p,24p,25p,29p,30p,50p and 60p modes??? And can i put the RGB Limited Studio in those modes without too many troubles??

Looks like some of the problems about 23.96 fps is when use the 3D Vision. I'm no sure, just tellin'

Thanks again.
betomnn is offline  
post #226 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 03:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17

I just have a low-end Keplar card; since I dont use my htpc for games.  I only use my HTPC for watching 2D/3D Bluray and 1080i/720p TV; I dont have any issues with refresh rates.  The Nvidia card handles 24.000FPS/24.000Hz or 59.940fps/59.940Hz very well... smooth as silk on my Samsung D8000 LCD TV.  I'm not sure what all the fuss is about regarding 23.976hz; especially, when you get nicer/more pleasant video/audio playback at the original 24.000fps speed; which Nvidia cards can definitely handle very well (I use Reclock to return to original Cinema speed).  I dont use MadVR since it wouldn't make any real difference on the display resolutions I use.

 

I had to apply a tweak to my Nvidia driver before installing it in order to get "real" 0-255RGB on it's default 1080p/720p HDMI resolutions; otherwise, the colors aren't right.  Also, when watching 3D bluray, I have to manually enable Nvidia 3D mode before starting the movie; since it has to share it's 1080p/24Hz resolution settings between 2D and 3D modes.  On ATI, its fully automatic.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by betomnn View Post

Thanks MKNET.

I really like the idea to get the 670 over the 7950, it have great performance without tweaking and has some cool stuff like CUDA and Physx.

The build is totally new. I'm getting a i5 3570k, asus z77 and a PSU above 600W.

Just a gonna know tow simple things about the Nvidia drivers.

I don't use the 3D (i don't like it) so, it will be a problem setting the 23p,24p,25p,29p,30p,50p and 60p modes??? And can i put the RGB Limited Studio in those modes without too many troubles??

Looks like some of the problems about 23.96 fps is when use the 3D Vision. I'm no sure, just tellin'

Thanks again.

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #227 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I would point out an issue I am having with Nvidia and cable TV playback from a Ceton. I have started a topic to which no one has yet responded. Anyway, I get audio break on certain cable channels. CNNHD for example will drop audio at the same places in certain commercials. A behavior that does not occure with the iGPU. The occurs with both a GTS 450 and a GTX 454. The video is much smoother than the intel graphics but I can't fix the audio issue and it has prevented me from buying something like the GTX 650Ti Boost.

I just ordered an HIS Radeon HD 7790. I really prefer Nvidia due to general driver stability but I can't get past this issue with cable TV and Nvidia. I have duplicated it on W7 32 and 64 bit and on H67 (intel board) and an H61.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #228 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by betomnn View Post

I don't use the 3D (i don't like it) so, it will be a problem setting the 23p,24p,25p,29p,30p,50p and 60p modes??? And can i put the RGB Limited Studio in those modes without too many troubles??

The default 23Hz refresh rate is the worst (~23.971Hz), so you will have to do either of the two:

1. Create a custom resolution. Then output B&W levels will be only full range RGB at 23Hz.
2. Use ReClock (or JRiver MC's VideoClock) with media adaptation (then you will lose compressed audio bitstreaming, no real problem, though).
renethx is offline  
post #229 of 238 Old 04-05-2013, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
betomnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answers. Very helpful.

smile.gif
betomnn is offline  
post #230 of 238 Old 04-07-2013, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
A 600W PSU will be more than ample for a single GTX670 as they are very energy efficient cards. I've overclocked both my i7 and GTX670 on my gaming rig and it draws at most 350W under a full system stress test based on the reading from my UPS.

The ASUS GTX670 Direct CU II has one of the best stock GPU coolers on the market, and you should be able to easily squeeze significant extra performance from the GPU through an overclock without introducing too much instability. There is a great guide at www.overclock.net/t/1265110/the-gtx-670-overclocking-master-guide/. It takes probably 3-4 hours to find the maximum stable overclock, but once you've found that point it's pretty robust. The biggest gains come from overclocking the VRAM and when combined with increasing the GPU clock will give you the equivalent performance above a stock GTX680. Overclocking may add 5-10C to the GPU temps at full load, but the way the kepler series is designed it adjusts the GPU clock based on load. Running MadVR mine never goes over 7% load and the GPU fans stay around 20-25% which is inaudible. I have it set for the fan speed to peak at 55% when gaming and it is only just audible at that point. It's very easy to set custom fan curves based on your desired noise levels. The overclocking software also allows you to save different settings profiles, so you can have one setup with stock settings, and then another overclocked profile which you can switch to when you need the extra grunt.

kesawi is offline  
post #231 of 238 Old 04-19-2013, 10:49 PM
Member
 
ShadowJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys need some help,

I hooked up my Denon 1713 to my EVGA 660 Ti card and I'm not getting any sound, what exactly is the problem? I did download the latest drivers.
ShadowJ20 is offline  
post #232 of 238 Old 04-19-2013, 11:10 PM
Member
 
ShadowJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nevermind I got it.
ShadowJ20 is offline  
post #233 of 238 Old 04-21-2013, 12:07 AM
Newbie
 
DMuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Procida View Post

Hi, I have the same problem here, but with a msi gtx 660, and windows 7. I cannot bitstream HD Audio like DTS HD and TrueHD, and in the audio control panel those formats are not showed. My HT receiver is an Onkyo sr 508. I know it works fine with DTS HD MA, because when playing blue ray through Playstation 3 slim it does bitstream correctly.



How can i make it work? I tried several video players ( all versions of Power DVD, XMBC and Media Player classic Home cinema) , and tried also older nvidia driver, but it' simoly not working. All i can send to the receiver is PCM 24 bit 5.1, or lossy DTS Core trhough HDMI. frown.gif

Exactly the same problem here with a Gigabyte GTX660 Ti on Windows 7 connected to a Denon AVR-1910. No HD audio formats are shown under the supported formats tab in the audio control panel. mad.gif I've made sure that the correct HD audio driver is used but still nothing. Marco, have you found a solution?
DMuzik is offline  
post #234 of 238 Old 04-21-2013, 06:32 PM
Member
 
ShadowJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe you guys will find this thread of some use, let me know if it works.


http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=128480
ShadowJ20 is offline  
post #235 of 238 Old 04-24-2013, 02:25 AM
Newbie
 
DMuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, turned out I had an EDID-problem. Solved by using a modified monitor driver/inf file.
DMuzik is offline  
post #236 of 238 Old 04-24-2013, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
carageuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post

Most game developers do most of their development and beta testing on Nvidia based PCs.  I know that because I used to work for a very large gaming company.  You're probably going to get the best gaming experience with Nvidia since they work on a daily basis with game developers to produce frequent driver updates specifically optimized for popular games.

It would be good idea to get the fastest card that's compatible with your system without trying to overclock it.  Most higher end cards are already maxed out in clock frequencies.  I doubt you would get much real benefit in overclocking without introducing heating/stability related issues (loud fan noise, system lockups or reboots, graphics distortion,etc).  Both ATI and Nvida have their share of driver related glitches in respect to HTPC related tasks.  Nvidia also has CUDA based hardware acceleration; which many 3rd party software developers have supported for years.  I personally use CUDA acceleration for a bunch of different software (Splashtop Remote desktop, Wondershare Media Converter, LAV video decoder, etc).

It looks like, getting the fastest single Nvidia card your PSU can handle, would be best; if money is no object.

AMD recently kicked up the notch with their "Never Settle" campaign. They seem to have more A-list titles now.
In addition, considering AMD also scored design wins for the next generation Microsoft and Sony consoles, it won't be surprising to see if the new games ported from consoles all suddenly run better on AMD architecture. rolleyes.gif
carageuw is online now  
post #237 of 238 Old 04-24-2013, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I maybe the only one in the world who is reporting this bug but I am seeing audio and video glitches in WMC with cable content using Nvidia. This occurs only on Ceton. My provider is Comcast. On CNNHD for example the audio will stutter during commercials but not actual news programming. I have seen this with both a GTS450 and a GTX545. The same Ceton Comcast material plays via these cards fine in JRiver MC.The issue is very annoying and on some cable channels it is both commercials and programming misbehaving.

Intel and AMD do no exhibit this bug which can cause all the content on certain cable channels in WMC to have audio stutter. Stutter is probably the wrong word as the audio drops out and will come back on at some point or it might the whole commercial that does it, or just a certain portion. Whenever that commercail plays the audio defect exhibits at exactly the same time for the same duration.

I generally prefer Nvidia but since I could find no resolution to my audio issues I went with AMD, otherwise I would have looked at a GT 650Ti Boost.

Anyway, for my main HTPC I invested in an HD 7790 and it is working well for WMC and JRiver with ATSC and Cable. I use MadVR in JRiver and I did overclock the board slightly as I am using Jinc 3 AR. I find it runs slightly smoother with the 15% overclock.I had tried an HD 7770 and while it was very good in WMC it would not handle Jinc3 AR in MadVR without frames drops on 1080i content.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #238 of 238 Old 08-03-2013, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you hook it up directly to your TV the problem may go away, that's if you don't already!

I have the EXACT same problem and I am using a GT430, so I will switch over to my HD 6670, and if I ever decide to use MadVR I will get the 7790.

it is so much worse when I have it going through my HDMI inputs on my Marantz.

I am using the HDhomerun Prime and just like you, my provider is Comcast and on CNNHD for example the audio will stutter during commercials but not actual news programming.

thanks for this information! I will give it a try and report back.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post

I maybe the only one in the world who is reporting this bug but I am seeing audio and video glitches in WMC with cable content using Nvidia. This occurs only on Ceton. My provider is Comcast. On CNNHD for example the audio will stutter during commercials but not actual news programming. I have seen this with both a GTS450 and a GTX545. The same Ceton Comcast material plays via these cards fine in JRiver MC.The issue is very annoying and on some cable channels it is both commercials and programming misbehaving.

Intel and AMD do no exhibit this bug which can cause all the content on certain cable channels in WMC to have audio stutter. Stutter is probably the wrong word as the audio drops out and will come back on at some point or it might the whole commercial that does it, or just a certain portion. Whenever that commercail plays the audio defect exhibits at exactly the same time for the same duration.

I generally prefer Nvidia but since I could find no resolution to my audio issues I went with AMD, otherwise I would have looked at a GT 650Ti Boost.

Anyway, for my main HTPC I invested in an HD 7790 and it is working well for WMC and JRiver with ATSC and Cable. I use MadVR in JRiver and I did overclock the board slightly as I am using Jinc 3 AR. I find it runs slightly smoother with the 15% overclock.I had tried an HD 7770 and while it was very good in WMC it would not handle Jinc3 AR in MadVR without frames drops on 1080i content.
RobbyTV is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off