Noob Needs Help: MKV NO HD Audio from Laptop to AVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks in advance for the help! I have a Dell XPS 17 (L702x) laptop with an Nvidia GT 550m card. I have ripped some blu-ray discs to MKV with MakeMKV. I am now playing back the MKVs on my laptop with it hooked up to my system but I'm not getting HD sound. I have it set up like this:

Laptop -HDMI cable- Pioneer Elite VSX-94TXH AVR -HDMI cable- Sony HDTV

I can play back the files fine and watch them on my TV but no HD sound. I can get the AVR to display DTS (or Dobly Digital depending on the movie), "stereo", or PCM sound but no bitstream HD audio. I don't really care that it's bitstreamed per se but I don't think the PCM audio is decoded HD audio (LPCM). The files definitely have the HD audio tracks as part of the file, every program I use shows the lossless track is there.

I have tried play back via VLC, XMBC (with and without the HD bitstream patch) and Potplayer. I have installed FFD show and LAV Audio. Still can't get it to work. I must be missing something. Please let me know what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks again!
pbmpharmacist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 49
update nvidia drivers.

that will do it.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

update nvidia drivers.

that will do it.

Thanks for the suggestion but, unfortunately, I tried that. I had been using older drivers (no reason to update often on a laptop that I wasn't gaming on) and I installed with very latest version last night and it didn't change anything.
pbmpharmacist is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Do you have your Pioneer set to pass the signal through to your TV? If so change that and have the Pioneer decode it first.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Do you have your Pioneer set to pass the signal through to your TV? If so change that and have the Pioneer decode it first.

Hmm... I hadn't thought about the receiver being the problem. I'll check the settings. For what it's worth, I have no trouble at all getting HD audio from my blu-ray player to my receiver.
pbmpharmacist is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,666
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Do you get any audio at all by way of your laptop's HDMI connection?
Like the various chimes generated by desktop operations?

If you haven't already, open Control Panel's Audio menu and use its test options.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

Do you get any audio at all by way of your laptop's HDMI connection?
Like the various chimes generated by desktop operations?

If you haven't already, open Control Panel's Audio menu and use its test options.

Yes, I get sound from the laptop to the AVR with no problem. I can get the following soundtracks when watching movies: DTS, Dobly Digital, "stereo", or PCM sound. I don't think the "PCM" sound is HD, but it was hard to tell. Definitely no bitstream HD audio.
pbmpharmacist is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-26-2012, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I figured it out. Had to remove everything and install Shark007 codecs per Assassin's website. Then I tried Mediabrowser and it would crash with some of my files. XBMC is working perfectly though
pbmpharmacist is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off