Toggle between tuners in infiniTV? - AVS Forum
Home Theater Computers > Toggle between tuners in infiniTV?
doozer12's Avatar doozer12 09:51 PM 03-30-2012
Im still learning the ins and outs of watching TV through my HTPC with the Ceton infiniTV 4 tuner. (so far I love it!) Is there a way to easily switch or toggle between all 4 tuners? Even if i am not recording anything, the other 3 tuners should be tuned to other channels as well, right? I remember years ago having a direcTV Tivo box with 2 tuners and you could flip between them if you wanted to.

Also, does the live tv buffer keep data from all 4 tuners, or just the one your watching?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

blueiedgod's Avatar blueiedgod 08:50 AM 04-02-2012
It has been answered before, and the asnwer is "no" unless you hit "record"
pittsoccer33's Avatar pittsoccer33 08:58 AM 04-02-2012
I think it has been speculated that Tivo has a patent on that capability.
almostinsane's Avatar almostinsane 10:15 AM 04-02-2012
That's the dual or quad buffer feature on Tivo's.
slowbiscuit 10:26 AM 04-02-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

I think it has been speculated that Tivo has a patent on that capability.

I doubt that's it, the Moto 34xx/64xx junk that Comcast rents can do it with a remote button press. It is odd that you can't do it in WMC.
doozer12's Avatar doozer12 10:46 AM 04-02-2012
I know with the old tivo, it would buffer both tuners. You could jump back and fourth and still rewind, pause etc.. That was pretty cool.

Does the infiniTV only buffer the tuner your watching? Or is it constantly buffering all 4?
pittsoccer33's Avatar pittsoccer33 10:53 AM 04-02-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by doozer12 View Post

I know with the old tivo, it would buffer both tuners. You could jump back and fourth and still rewind, pause etc.. That was pretty cool.

Does the infiniTV only buffer the tuner your watching? Or is it constantly buffering all 4?