**To all media storage server owners...power consumption** - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I would like to poll all media storage server owners to post their server's power consumption when idle. Currently, my server is using ~280W idling costing me about $70-75 per month in electricity usage. I would like to build a new server as a replacement that uses lower power consumption.

CASE: Dell Poweredge 2900 III
POWER SUPPLY: 930W
CPU: 2x Intel Xeon 5405
MEMORY: 8x 2GB FB-DDR2 ECC
CONTROLLER: PERC 6/i
HARD DRIVES: 3x 300GB SAS, 7x 2TB Hitachi 7K2000
ADD-ON1: Ceton InfiniTV CableCard Tuner
ADD-ON2: 2x eSATA port PCIe adapter
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2

POWER USAGE: ~380W (idle)

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
CASE: Lian-Li PC-Q07B
POWER SUPPLY: FSP Group FSP300-60GHS(85) 300W SFX12V 80+ BRONZE
CPU: AMD E-350 APU (ASUS E35M1-I)
MEMORY: 1 x 4GB Kingston DDR3 non-ECC
CONTROLLER: on-board (Realtek)
HARD DRIVES: 1 x Kingston V100 64GB SSD, 2 x 2TB Samsung HD204UI, 1 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1.5TB WD Green, 1 x 1TB Seagate
USB: UPS battery monitor
FANS: 1 x 140mm, 1 x 120mm
OS: WHS2011

POWER USAGE: ~30W (idle) (IIRC - will re-measure again with Kill-a-Watt)

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #3 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HP Media Smart x310
Upgraded to WHS 2011
Atom D510
2GB RAM
2x 2TB HDD
2x 3TB HDD

~20-30w (idle->load) IIRC. I will check again.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #4 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 03:13 PM
Member
 
paulinmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an inkling that your PSW might be the culprit. Maybe a bit overkill. You don't list the make or model. What energy certification is it? It might be more cost efficient to replace that if it is the issue than to entirely rebuild your server.
paulinmn is offline  
post #5 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
E6850 (65W max TDP)
PSU: Azza Dynamo 850W (70% efficiency)
Hard Drives: 9 (Green Drive)
Video Card: Silent HD5450
3 add-on cards
1 optical drive

Idle Power (measured with Kill-A-Watt): ~150W
hirent is offline  
post #6 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulinmn View Post

I have an inkling that your PSW might be the culprit. Maybe a bit overkill. You don't list the make or model. What energy certification is it? It might be more cost efficient to replace that if it is the issue than to entirely rebuild your server.

It's a Dell server...so it is a proprietary Dell power supply. I've looked for lower consumption replacements but no other manufacture makes it.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #7 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
H55M Pro w/Core i3-530
Unknown 250W power supply (came with a rescued 4U server case)
Highpoint RAID card + 4 1TB WD Green drives for data
1 640GB WD Caviar Black (running WHS 2011)

24 port D-Link 24 port "Green" switch
Motorola SB6120 cable modem
HDHomeRun Dual

All connected to the same UPS for a total of 64 watts.
kegobeer is offline  
post #8 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Freenas 8.2 BETA
ASROCK E350M1 {CPU fan lvl 1 in BIOS}
Pareema 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Intel EXPI9301CTBLK NIC
4 - WD20EARS 2TB HDD
1 - Barracuda 2TB HDD
picoPSU-150-XT PowerSupply
Raidmax ITX case
1 - Noctua NF-R8-1800 {lvl 1 manual speed control in BIOS}

16 W idle (HDD spindown) ~ 24 - 28 W max load

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #9 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 05:49 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yes, running a computer 24x7 can cost money. The only thing you can do, is utilize WOL, or start using stand-by settings, that it will wake up when it senses the HDMI port asking for a signal, then have it shut down after 30 min's or such, when it no longer senses the signal on the hdmi port.

There is no way around it, unless you start looking at habits and figuring how to change them to save money. Our household on average uses at the most 600kwh a month, and it costs us at the most about $75 for electric. Our average bill has been with Sewer, water, electric $106. I do not really worry about it, due to technology has become a everyday habit with most households.

I use a Ted5000 to keep track of what is using what, and can pretty much nail the bill down to the use per month for our household. In the middle of the night, it is funny to see our house only using one cent a hour, the most four cents per hour in the middle of the night.
gregzoll is offline  
post #10 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
case NORCO 16 bay
cpu/MB little Supermicro Atom board
6 HDD various sizes/brands
running unRAID
watt = ~20 idle

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #11 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Case: Antec 300
PSU: Corsair HX520
MB: ABIT AB9 Pro
CPU: Intel Celeron 430
RAM: Kingston 2x2GB DDR2 800
HDD: 9x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB
OS: unRAID

Code:
Boot                    264.0W
Idle (Spun-Up)          145.0W
Idle (7)                127.0W
Idle (5)                113.0W
Idle (3)                 99.5W
Idle (2)                 92.0W
Idle (1)                 84.5W
Idle (Spun-Down)         77.0W
Parity Check            169.0W
ilovejedd is offline  
post #12 of 61 Old 04-02-2012, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wow, why would you put a business/enterprise class server in your house?

Unless your transcoding or encoding for speed, then I can see why some use dual core desktop CPU's.

However serving files does not take much power. Once the madness dies down around Raspberry Pi and are readily available, I believe you can put FreeNAS on that and use a powered USB hub to put a few external drives on it.

That would be a seriously low powered server (9W maybe?), likely under 20W with drives connected.

A Zacate or Atom board is plenty for a home server, especially for WHS 2011.

I use a Dell Mid Tower P4 Prescott based PC. Not sure what it uses but reports show at idle P4's are around 65W and 90-100W at load, but its hardly ever under load. I don't have a Kill-A-Watt yet, being cheap I haven't purchased one yet. Limited income too...

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #13 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 06:40 AM
Member
 
packetlosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj4monie View Post

I use a Dell Mid Tower P4 Prescott based PC. Not sure what it uses but reports show at idle P4's are around 65W and 90-100W at load, but its hardly ever under load. I don't have a Kill-A-Watt yet, being cheap I haven't purchased one yet. Limited income too...

I had been using a P4 as my fileserver, but after I checked it's usage (around 70W idle and 110W under load), I replaced it with a G530 that idles at 30W.
packetlosss is offline  
post #14 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Pentium II 6 TB RAID 5 server, 60 watt full load, 30 watt idle.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #15 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj4monie View Post

Wow, why would you put a business/enterprise class server in your house?

Unless your transcoding or encoding for speed, then I can see why some use dual core desktop CPU's.

However serving files does not take much power. Once the madness dies down around Raspberry Pi and are readily available, I believe you can put FreeNAS on that and use a powered USB hub to put a few external drives on it.

That would be a seriously low powered server (9W maybe?), likely under 20W with drives connected.

A Zacate or Atom board is plenty for a home server, especially for WHS 2011.

I use a Dell Mid Tower P4 Prescott based PC. Not sure what it uses but reports show at idle P4's are around 65W and 90-100W at load, but its hardly ever under load. I don't have a Kill-A-Watt yet, being cheap I haven't purchased one yet. Limited income too...

I have a SNB Celeron in mine. I have to get my Kill-A-Watt back and will test it out. I would think its much less than 100 watts though with 4 green hard drives and a 400W PSU.
assassin is offline  
post #16 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post

Currently, my server is using ~280W idling costing me about $70-75 per month in electricity usage.

How did you compute $70-75?

280 watts * 24 hours * 30 days = 201.6 kWh. Highest average electricity cost in the nation is Hawaii at ~$.25/kWh. That would only be ~$50/month.
cdru is offline  
post #17 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj4monie View Post

Wow, why would you put a business/enterprise class server in your house?

Unless your transcoding or encoding for speed, then I can see why some use dual core desktop CPU's.

It was a refurbished unit from Dell Outlet, I got it REALLY cheap. I do run 5 VMs on Hyper-V on the box running AD, DNS, and other infrastructure services. I work in IT so I use my home as a test lab so to speak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdru View Post

How did you compute $70-75?

280 watts * 24 hours * 30 days = 201.6 kWh. Highest average electricity cost in the nation is Hawaii at ~$.25/kWh. That would only be ~$50/month.

Sorry the wattage I typed in the first post is wrong, it's 380W. :P And my tiered rate is at 0.28 per kwh.

I've since pulled out the 2nd CPU and removed 8GB of memory dropping the power consumption to about 300W.

I would love to go with Unraid with hard drive spin down but I absolutely need to run Windows so I can run VMs.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #18 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Why do we need to run 24/7? I only power up when needed.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #19 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

Why do we need to run 24/7? I only power up when needed.

How do you power up?

Also, how would you power up if you're not home and some someone wants to watch a movie or listen to music?
Mrkazador is offline  
post #20 of 61 Old 04-03-2012, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
brianley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

How do you power up?

Also, how would you power up if you're not home and some someone wants to watch a movie or listen to music?

WOL (Wake On LAN) / magic packet I expect.
brianley is offline  
post #21 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Whoa the OP is drawing some serious juice. I run an athlon quad (actually an unlocked tri) with like 7 hard drives. Don't have a kill a watt though. Hoping its under 100 watts.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #22 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianley View Post

WOL (Wake On LAN) / magic packet I expect.

so every time he wants to use any networking (DNS/Active Directory/etc server), you needs to send a magic packet, and wait for not just the server to come up, but also wait for all the VM's to come up?

I would just rather get a more power efficient server and leave it on 24/7... but hey, that's just me...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #23 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm getting curious now myself...

I have a Core2Quad 6600 and 8 hard drives.

I would immediately downgrade to some atom system, but I have virtual machines running so I need Intel VT-D.

If I find that my cpu usage is very high in my server I would consider buying a newer sandybridge i3...

Guess I won't know until I use a kill-a-watt.
FantaXP7 is offline  
post #24 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Whoa the OP is drawing some serious juice. I run an athlon quad (actually an unlocked tri) with like 7 hard drives. Don't have a kill a watt though. Hoping its under 100 watts.

Your processor TDP is 65 watts, and the average 3.5" hard drive is around 5 watts idle. It's a pretty safe presumption that you're over 100 watts.
cdru is offline  
post #25 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Whoa the OP is drawing some serious juice. I run an athlon quad (actually an unlocked tri) with like 7 hard drives. Don't have a kill a watt though. Hoping its under 100 watts.

Depending on which athlon you have, some are 125 watt and some are 65 or 95 watt.

but, you are probably over 100.

I had a dual core Atom N330 for HTPC and it peaked at 30 watts, and idled at 5 watts. That was with 2x ATI DCT's.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #26 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdru View Post

Your processor TDP is 65 watts, and the average 3.5" hard drive is around 5 watts idle. It's a pretty safe presumption that you're over 100 watts.

Yah I guess your right. Don't think it would be worth it for me right now to do an upgrade.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #27 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
-Axle-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada, Ont
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It all depends on how intensive your server needs are. I just use mine as a server backup and media streaming (video and audio).

I'm batting about 30W idle and 50W-60W or so under load.

CASE: InWin somethingorother
POWER SUPPLY: 300W
CPU: Intel E3300
MEMORY: 2GB DDR2 800
CONTROLLER: N/A
HARD DRIVES: 1x WD 2TB 7200RPM SATA
OS: Windows 7 32-bit
-Axle- is offline  
post #28 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
-Axle-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada, Ont
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somewhatlost View Post

so every time he wants to use any networking (DNS/Active Directory/etc server), you needs to send a magic packet, and wait for not just the server to come up, but also wait for all the VM's to come up?

I would just rather get a more power efficient server and leave it on 24/7... but hey, that's just me...

If I could have gotten it to work, I would've done it the same way.

I tried initially setting my server to suspend to S3 state, but it would take quite a while for it to come out of suspend AND respond to network demands. So I just left it on 24/7, but if the other guy go it to work for his needs, good for him.
-Axle- is offline  
post #29 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 12:59 PM
Member
 
maxpower47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdru View Post

Your processor TDP is 65 watts, and the average 3.5" hard drive is around 5 watts idle. It's a pretty safe presumption that you're over 100 watts.

TDP is a specification of the maximum cooling capacity needed for the processor. Your idle power usage by the cpu is much lower than that. Under media server type workloads, the average power usage by the cpu should be very close to the idle usage.
maxpower47 is offline  
post #30 of 61 Old 04-04-2012, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpower47 View Post

TDP is a specification of the maximum cooling capacity needed for the processor. Your idle power usage by the cpu is much lower than that. Under media server type workloads, the average power usage by the cpu should be very close to the idle usage.

Yah that part didn't make sense to me. But I think the fact that mine is unlocked will raise the power a bit. But I keep cool and quiet on. Just checked and it was sitting at 800mhz.
whiteboy714 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off