HTPC With Component Out Video Card - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-05-2012, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bill75080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to build a HTPC to connect to my system but I need a video card that has component out instead of HDMI. My Denon AVR-3805 and Yamaha DPX 1000 projector only accepts Component In. The card should be compatible with Win 7.

Looked at HDMI to component converters but noticed that it is hit or miss as to whether or not they work with different video cards.

Unable to afford a new AV receiver and projector at this time.

My goal is to be able to use the web browser to connect to all the sites I would like to see instead of being limited by what the current crop of smart blu-ray players, apple tv and roku limit you to.

Would appreciate suggestions.
bill75080 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-05-2012, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
There are video cards that have S-Video and other analog inputs.

Problem with most of those is that they usually don't support HDCP.

There are sound cards that have analog outputs.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-05-2012, 11:09 AM
t-c
Member
 
t-c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill75080 View Post

Trying to build a HTPC to connect to my system but I need a video card that has component out instead of HDMI. My Denon AVR-3805 and Yamaha DPX 1000 projector only accepts Component In. The card should be compatible with Win 7.

I have NVIDIA 8600 GTS and 9600 GT silent pipe cards for sale on ebay and I have the component out dongles for them. The cards work great for HTPC builds.

Gigabyte 8600 GTS
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320875965815...84.m1555.l2649

Gigabyte 9600 GT
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320875966760...84.m1555.l2649
t-c is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-05-2012, 11:44 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:


There are video cards that have S-Video and other analog inputs.

He's looking for a card with a component output.

Quote:


Problem with most of those is that they usually don't support HDCP.

What's that got to do with anything?

Quote:


There are sound cards that have analog outputs.

Yup, 99% of them have analog outputs.

None of them have component video outputs though.
SAM64 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-05-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I believe ATI cards still support converting DVI to component with a ~$20 (special to ATI) converter. I have one laying in a box somewhere...
Personally, I would look at an HD Fury, as that can attach to any DVI/HDMI output and convert to component, so that would give him some more device flexibility.

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-06-2012, 06:22 AM
Member
 
mrstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was in the same boat as you. My solution was to use an the EVGA 01G-P3-N959-TR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB HDCP Video Card. It contains the appropriate dongles to connect to component video.

The fan on these things is super noisy so I ended up replacing the fan later with a Zalman VF700 VGA Cooler. Note that you will need to either leave the PCI express slot open next the video card to accommodate the fan or have a very short/small card next to it. I have an ASUS PCE-N13 wireless card next to mine and it fits.

As others mentioned the card will get you connected to your TV, however the media police won't let you automatically HD or hi-res content to your TV. So you will be stuck in 480. When I was putting my system together, the HD Fury was getting hard to find and it was pretty pricy. I ended up using a software solution called AnyDVD HD. I highly recommend this. While it was hard to get over the sticker shock of the software all I can say is it "just works." The developers actively work to make sure that you can watch the latest content.

Warning: RANT
It's a shame that we have to go this route to watch content that we have a legitimate right to (purchased or rented DVD's and Bluray). Manufacturers have left us out to dry with their planned obsolescence and wanting us to buy the latest and greatest, although I just did that less than 10 years ago and still have a better picture than most TV's today. Media companies don't want to face the real issue and evolve. Instead, they would rather place these restrictions and burdens on us consumers. Unfortunately, their lobby has more dollars and hence more power then us, even though we ultimately pay the bill...
mrstop is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-06-2012, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
lsilvest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a couple of people have pointed out, some of the older cards, both nVidia and ATI. I also had an nVidia 8600 with the dongle that worked perfectly. I've had a number of ATI cards, 3xxx series and older that had the dongle. You're more likely to find one of the ATI cards, especially on eBay. I just gave away about 4 of them.

Also, you can try this adapter. I have used it with up to a 4xxx series ATI card.
lsilvest is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-06-2012, 07:08 AM
Member
 
mrstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsilvest View Post

you can try this adapter. I have used it with up to a 4xxx series ATI card.

Note that the adapter only works on ATI cards and not Nvidia. I picked one up not paying enough attention and seeing the "9500." If you go the ATI route, PM me and I can make you a deal on one.
mrstop is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off