Are there ANY good alternatives to PowerDVD for BluRay??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sick to death of dealing with PDVD. I've never liked it. I hate the interface, I hate the features, I hate the restrictions, and I hate the GUI. I just hate it.

What are some other software media players out there that plays BluRay? I really really really REALLY cannot believe after all this time, the guys behind both VLC and Media Player Classic has not released a version of their players that plays BluRay discs. Unbelievable(unless I'm wrong? )
isamu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
MPC does play blurays with AnyDVD, without the menues.
Roussi is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ScoHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah both PowerDVD and TotalMedia Theatre (the two big commercial products) are terrible.

I'm pretty sure XBMC can play Blurays now (but probably not menus).
ScoHo is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

cannot believe after all this time, the guys behind both VLC and Media Player Classic has not released a version of their players that plays BluRay discs. Unbelievable(unless I'm wrong? )

You want to play disks? Personally I think Win DVD Pro is the best for this. It's not the best for playing ripped blurays, but for playing disks, I think it works great.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks guys I'll check into them. @ roussi, I have AnyDVD. So once I remove the protection I can play the discs on MPC?
isamu is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 04-05-2012, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

Thanks guys I'll check into them. @ roussi, I have AnyDVD. So once I remove the protection I can play the discs on MPC?

I'm not roussi but "yes". you can.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 150
You can rip your Blu-Rays to mkv files using MakeMKV. It allows you to strip out the unwanted extras and retain only the video clips, audio, and subtitles you want, including HD audio. It's free while in beta version (it's been in beta forever with no indication it will be released commercially). XBMC will play back the mkv files if you install a patch. Otherwise, MPC-HC will play them.
captain_video is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Speqtre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NoVA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second the recommendation for WinDVD Pro - it's relatively cheap (always a coupon to be found), lightweight, and robust. It plays ripped BD ISOs from my network just fine, too (opens automatically after mounting with Virtual Clonedrive.)

I, too, HATE PDVD with its 110MB 'patch' files that always break something.
Speqtre is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I'm noy interested in ripping, I have very little hard drive space left and quite a few discs, so I'd much rather just watch directly from disc if I can. Maybe I'll give WinDVD a gander.

Oh and I tried watching a disc on MPC-HC after removing the protection using ANYDVD-HD yesterday, and it wouldn't work
isamu is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What do you guys like better between Arcsoft TotalMedia Theatre and WinDVD?
isamu is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 11:14 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Arcsoft TMT 5, imo.
cybrsage is offline  
post #12 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 33
JRiver Media Center can aso play Blu-ray discs or rips. You need a reader.

http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Blu-ray

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #13 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post

JRiver Media Center can aso play Blu-ray discs or rips. You need a reader.

http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Blu-ray

Does it offer full BD menu support?
kegobeer is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by kegobeer View Post


Does it offer full BD menu support?

No it doesn't, but it dies have many other great features for BD.
fitbrit is offline  
post #15 of 36 Old 04-06-2012, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ScoHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

What do you guys like better between Arcsoft TotalMedia Theatre and WinDVD?

Haven't tried WinDVD in years but I can't imagine it's any worse than TotalMedia Theatre. But TotalMedia plays 3D Bluray ISOs, which is the only reason to use it.
ScoHo is offline  
post #16 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 03:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
In my opinion, all commercial PC players claiming to have full BR disc support always have one problem or another...

Funniest is when there is new patch that is supposed to make something work better which usually breaks another thing that was working okay...

You will end up paying for each one like some of us have done and also end up using the non commercial players most of the time...

If all you really want is to just play the disc, I think you're better off getting a standalone...

The HTPC only comes in handy if you have storage containing ripped movies which you want to share / access from anywhere...

If you insist on using your PC, MPC-HC with LAV filters installed will play the disc, but you will need to have anydvd HD running in the background...

I think XBMC Eden can also play discs as I have seen it play BR .iso

If you're a quality freak who wants the best without much work, Jriver is it for you, but you also need anydvd HD and a license...

Compare costs and you should be able to make a decision...
balky is offline  
post #17 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 03:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoHo View Post

Haven't tried WinDVD in years but I can't imagine it's any worse than TotalMedia Theatre. But TotalMedia plays 3D Bluray ISOs, which is the only reason to use it.

You will be surprised...
balky is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Mac25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ms gulf coast
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
standalone player and regain your sanity
Mac25 is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

I'm sick to death of dealing with PDVD. I've never liked it. I hate the interface, I hate the features, I hate the restrictions, and I hate the GUI. I just hate it.

What are some other software media players out there that plays BluRay? I really really really REALLY cannot believe after all this time, the guys behind both VLC and Media Player Classic has not released a version of their players that plays BluRay discs. Unbelievable(unless I'm wrong? )

Bluray can play in zbmc with the bluray plugin and makemkv. You just pop in the disc click the plugin and it will start makemkv in background and decrypt it.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello and thanks everyone for the replies. Question @ balky...

Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post

If you insist on using your PC, MPC-HC with LAV filters installed will play the disc, but you will need to have anydvd HD running in the background...

...I have anydvd HD already and tried to play the disc MPC-HC but nothing happened. Can you please please PLEASE walk me through how to play the discs in MPC-HC? What is the LAV filter you speak of and where can I get it?

MPC-HC is my all time preferred player so i could play the discs in there I would very happy!
isamu is offline  
post #21 of 36 Old 04-07-2012, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

Hello and thanks everyone for the replies. Question @ balky...



...I have anydvd HD already and tried to play the disc MPC-HC but nothing happened. Can you please please PLEASE walk me through how to play the discs in MPC-HC? What is the LAV filter you speak of and where can I get it?

MPC-HC is my all time preferred player so i could play the discs in there I would very happy!

You can get the latest version of LAV filters here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156191

Basically, once you have installed LAV, you need to open up MPC-HC,

Go to view - options - external filters

here you will click on the Add Filter button, browse and add everything LAV related.

Don't forget to place a check in front of each filter and the prefer radio button

This basic setup will allow you to play your BR disc with anydvd HD running in the background.

If you want more fine tunning, here is a link to an advanced MPC-HC setup giude:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1357375

Have fun...
balky is offline  
post #22 of 36 Old 04-08-2012, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by balky View Post

You can get the latest version of LAV filters here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156191

Basically, once you have installed LAV, you need to open up MPC-HC,

Go to view - options - external filters

here you will click on the Add Filter button, browse and add everything LAV related.

Don't forget to place a check in front of each filter and the prefer radio button

This basic setup will allow you to play your BR disc with anydvd HD running in the background.

If you want more fine tunning, here is a link to an advanced MPC-HC setup giude:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1357375

Have fun...

Balk, you are a GOD amongst men!! This worked!!! Thank you SO much!!!! OMFG I can't believe it!!!! BluRay playback on MPC-HC!!

I am already familiar with how to tweak MPC so i will proceed to make further tweaks but was totally unaware that I lacked the proper filters needed to play back BDs.

Keep in mind I cannot simply run the disc from the "open dvd" menu, it has to be opened from the mts file within the disc's "stream" folder. But that's not a problem. I just need to figure out which file are ones for the disc's menu screen.

Hopefully proper official support will come for MPC-HC soon.

Thanks again!
isamu is offline  
post #23 of 36 Old 04-08-2012, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try to use BDInfo v. 0.4.1 to have the right mpls info.
(you may find it here: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/BDInf...ions#downloads)
Open file > *.mpls...

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #24 of 36 Old 04-08-2012, 09:20 PM
Member
 
htcpmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im using windvd pro 11 and blu ray play back is very sharp and butter smooth.
htcpmike is offline  
post #25 of 36 Old 04-08-2012, 09:45 PM
Member
 
lawrence99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: carol stream illinois
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htcpmike View Post

im using windvd pro 11 and blu ray play back is very sharp and butter smooth.

+1

Eldon Tyrell:
"The light that burns twice as bright,
burns half as long. And you have burned
so very very brightly, Roy."
lawrence99 is offline  
post #26 of 36 Old 04-09-2012, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post

Balk, you are a GOD amongst men!! This worked!!! Thank you SO much!!!! OMFG I can't believe it!!!! BluRay playback on MPC-HC!!

I am already familiar with how to tweak MPC so i will proceed to make further tweaks but was totally unaware that I lacked the proper filters needed to play back BDs.

Keep in mind I cannot simply run the disc from the "open dvd" menu, it has to be opened from the mts file within the disc's "stream" folder. But that's not a problem. I just need to figure out which file are ones for the disc's menu screen.

Hopefully proper official support will come for MPC-HC soon.

Thanks again!

You don't need to find the file in the "stream" folder, you can simply use the "open folder" (or directory, I can't remember) and it will find and play the movie. I tend to rip to a folder (i.e. Avatar) with a Bluray structure underneath and I just need to point MPC-HC to this top level movie folder.

Tim
TimA is offline  
post #27 of 36 Old 04-09-2012, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 56
OP specifically mentioned he was not interested in ripping...
balky is offline  
post #28 of 36 Old 04-09-2012, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
My question about menu-less blu-rays players like XBMC and Jriver, is how do they know which stream to pick? A lot of movies have several streams that are feature-length. For instance I just ripped Beauty and the Beast, and it has two streams over an hour, the theatrical release and another which I believe has added scenes. In this case I wanted the theatrical. I'm curious what would happen if I played the blu-ray in Jriver. I'm guessing it would pick the longest, which is not what I want.
lockdown571 is offline  
post #29 of 36 Old 04-09-2012, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by htcpmike View Post

Im using windvd pro 11 and blu ray play back is very sharp and butter smooth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawrence99 View Post

+1

I've found Wind DVD to be the closest thing to a stand alone. Install it, run the update, pop in a disk, and it just works. No "well, you have to install this and that, and run these two things first, and identify the right file within the container, and have the right codecs. . . . . . ."

Install, put in a disk, get the popcorn, hit play, sit back and enjoy the movie.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #30 of 36 Old 04-09-2012, 12:50 PM
Member
 
htcpmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think windvd pro 11 is the best of the 3 TMT 5, PDVD 12. I cant see getting any better playback, its as sharp and smooth as your going to get. You can get it on ebay pretty cheap
htcpmike is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off