External Streaming of Ceton InfiniTV 4? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > External Streaming of Ceton InfiniTV 4?

Home Theater Computers

chrishet's Avatar chrishet
12:27 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 17
04-11-2012 | Posts: 177
Joined: May 2006
I am wanting to stream my cable service to my iPad...I travel a lot and have a weekend cabin. I had a Slingbox years ago that worked well for this but it has failed and now I also have a Ceton InfiniTV 4 that I use to stream to 2 PCs in my house (one being my HTPC). What are my options for streaming outside my home? TIA
Diverge's Avatar Diverge
02:41 PM Liked: 12
post #2 of 17
04-11-2012 | Posts: 294
Joined: Jan 2007
I think the only option might be these http://www.monsoonmultimedia.com/ which are similar to slingboxes, but have HDMI.

There is remote potato (which is just software), but it doesn't work for live tv. only recorded shows.

edit: I'm not sure now the the vulkano will work... the few hits I got in google showed people hooking them to xbox 360's running as media center extenders... seems odd. need to do some more research
chrishet's Avatar chrishet
03:11 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 17
04-11-2012 | Posts: 177
Joined: May 2006
I'll check these out....seems to me there is a good market for a SW solution for streaming from Media Center to an iPad app. I also used WinTV Extend for a while after my Slingbox failed (second one btw and absolutely no support from them)...it worked pretty good as well, but now that I have a Ceton I pulled my Hauppauge out...
jester3's Avatar jester3
03:46 PM Liked: 10
post #4 of 17
04-11-2012 | Posts: 11
Joined: Nov 2011
Try TellyServer from telly-app.com
It works pretty well for HDHomeRun tuner. If Ceton has a BDA driver, then it should work too (probably copy-free programs only).

See this thread for more discussion:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21514303
chrishet's Avatar chrishet
04:13 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 17
04-11-2012 | Posts: 177
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester3 View Post

Try TellyServer from telly-app.com
It works pretty well for HDHomeRun tuner. If Ceton has a BDA driver, then it should work too (probably copy-free programs only).

See this thread for more discussion:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21514303

That does look interesting...I need to investigate further, I tried the server and it could not find my tuner....but this appears to be the right solution for me...Thx!
netant's Avatar netant
04:33 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 17
05-11-2012 | Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishet View Post

That does look interesting...I need to investigate further, I tried the server and it could not find my tuner....but this appears to be the right solution for me...Thx!

For those who are interested as well, currently the 32bit TellyServer is not compatible with Ceton on 64bit Windows (and possibly all other CableCard tuners). This will be fixed by a 64bit build of TellyServer.
netant's Avatar netant
10:48 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 17
05-12-2012 | Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2007

Isn't it just a remote? The playback still has to happen on a real TV.
netant's Avatar netant
11:06 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 17
07-21-2012 | Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by netant View Post


For those who are interested as well, currently the 32bit TellyServer is not compatible with Ceton on 64bit Windows (and possibly all other CableCard tuners). This will be fixed by a 64bit build of TellyServer.

A beta version of the 64-bit InstaTV server (previously TellyServer) has been posted:

http://download.telly-app.com/InstaTV-Server-2.0.0-beta6-win64.msi

This is mainly for Ceton tuner on a 64bit Windows
erickotz's Avatar erickotz
11:28 AM Liked: 30
post #10 of 17
07-21-2012 | Posts: 1,131
Joined: Feb 2003
Have you tried calling Sling tech support? It's been about a year, but my Sling HD had failed about a year out of warranty (was dead) and I called Sling - they told me I could pay $30 for a support incident, and if they decided the unit was bad, they would replace the unit for free + refund the support incident cost even though it was out of warranty.
netant's Avatar netant
08:51 AM Liked: 10
post #11 of 17
07-25-2012 | Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishet View Post


That does look interesting...I need to investigate further, I tried the server and it could not find my tuner....but this appears to be the right solution for me...Thx!

UPDATE: InstaTV Server does not work with Ceton tuner (32bit or 64bit) since it does not have a *normal* BDA driver. On Windows, there is no application other than WMC7 will work with Ceton tuner.
Nukenbar's Avatar Nukenbar
11:06 AM Liked: 10
post #12 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 30
Joined: Jul 2004
Sorry to revive a dead thread, but has there been any progress on streaming to ipads/iphones from ceton's/WMC7? I remember trying to use remote potato last summer with limited results, but I'm not sure if I should give it a try or there is something new on the scene.
groove93's Avatar groove93
12:13 PM Liked: 12
post #13 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2007
I don't own a Ceton but I do own an HD Homerun which enables me to stream Live TV to my Iphone, Ipad, and web browsers outside of my network through the use of ORB.

The one problem with Orb is that Media Center cannot run simultaneously with Orb if you're attempting to stream live tv.

My set up consists of two USB Hauppage Tuners, and one HD Home Run Dual Network Tuner.

Here is my workaround for using Orb. I have Orb running on my laptop. HD HomeRun is configured to stream to this laptop at any point in time. This enables me to Have WIndows Media Center running on my HTPC while I can stream live TV with Orb as it grabs one of the Network Tuners.

Not sure how the Cetons are configured on your set up but if you have access to Network Live Television, and Orb can pick up your network tuners and stream that data to your mobile devices, then this may be a solution.
Dark_Slayer's Avatar Dark_Slayer
12:37 PM Liked: 327
post #14 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 2,742
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post

I don't own a Ceton but I do own an HD Homerun which enables me to stream Live TV to my Iphone, Ipad, and web browsers outside of my network through the use of ORB

Is the Live TV you are streaming ClearQAM or from and Antenna?
groove93's Avatar groove93
01:31 PM Liked: 12
post #15 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

Is the Live TV you are streaming ClearQAM or from and Antenna?

Antenna
Dark_Slayer's Avatar Dark_Slayer
03:26 PM Liked: 327
post #16 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 2,742
Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post

Antenna
As far as I can tell, orb caster's tv feed does not work for any cable tuners
ryanm1058123's Avatar ryanm1058123
07:14 PM Liked: 10
post #17 of 17
05-09-2013 | Posts: 24
Joined: Feb 2006
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=119865

problem solved. great piece of software. can run on windows or mac and easy to setup.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3