ASRock h67m-itx won't post - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 04-16-2012, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've built a few PC's in the past but this has been the first to give me any trouble. Ordered the following from newegg for new htpc.

Asrock h67m-itx motherboard
Intel G620 CPU
Gskill F3-10666CL8D-4GBHK ram, ddr3 1333

Unable to get the mb to post. Take ram out and get the beep codes for no ram.

Went to local Fry's and picked up two additional sets of ram, another lga 1155 mboard and an Intel i3 2100.

None of the ram is listed as compatible on ASRock's site. Put new ram in ASRock board and no post. New cpu and no post. Tried several ram configurations with both cpu's but no post.

Throw the newegg stuff onto the new board and posts right up.

I've rma'd the ASRock and ordered a second one from newegg along with the memory that Assassin recommends G.Skill F3-10666CL9D-4GBNQ (also not on the ASRock compatibility chart).

I can't imagine the board is that finicky about ram but if it was dead would it throw the beep codes when the memory is removed?

Kidsmoke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my replacement board today and same situation. Using the exact ram that Assassin recommends with this board. Does this motherboard actually make a beep at boot? I have it on a workbench and haven't tried to hook up a display yet. I do get the error codes when I remove the memory and boot so I know speaker is working.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kidsmoke View Post

Got my replacement board today and same situation. Using the exact ram that Assassin recommends with this board. Does this motherboard actually make a beep at boot? I have it on a workbench and haven't tried to hook up a display yet. I do get the error codes when I remove the memory and boot so I know speaker is working.

We have been back and forth with ASRock on this actually.

We also have had some G620s that wouldn't post in the ASRock ITX. If we put in a i3 2100 it posted. The other strange thing is that I have a G620T in my bedroom with that same board that has never had even 1 issue.

ASRock worked with us and tried to replicate the issue and they could not. There are a few things that you can try. I would try to clear the CMOs first (that's what ASRock recommended as well). Then I would try to update the bios on the board.

Here are a few of the e-mails...

Quote:


On Mon, Apr 2, 2012 at 6:59 PM, xxxxxxxxxx@asrockamerica.com> wrote:
Hi Ben,
· Please try the steps below:

· Remove the mainboard from inside computer to outside. You can place the mainboard on empty mainboard box (to avoid short or static cause damage the maniboard )



· Clear the CMOS, adjust the clear CMOS jumper 1-2 to 2-3 for 5 seconds, then adjust back to 1-2 position.

· Things to connect (make sure connect as well) on mainboard is CPU, CPU cooler, Video on board (if available) otherwise Video card, 1 HD (with O/S), 1 power supply (24 pins + 8 pins with set 115V) and 1 memory module (A1 slot), system header (PW switch, reset switch)

· Once you have barebones system setup go to the bios, and load the default setting by press F9 and save exit out the bios.

· Try to duplicate the problem you had before.

· Keep us update see if the type of set up resolve your restart issue. If problem resolve please insert the hardware back one by one.

· Make sure the computer case base screw for mainboard should be same position as mainboard mounting holes and mounting to mainboard screws should not short the mainboard


1 Short Beep
One beep is good! Everything is ok, that is if you see things on the screen. If you don't see anything, check your monitor and video card first. Is everything connected? If they seem fine, your motherboard has some bad chips on it. First reset the DIMM's and reboot. If it does the same thing, one of the memory chips on the motherboard are bad, and you most likely need to get another motherboard since these chips are soldered on.
1 Long, 3 Short Beeps
You've probably just added memory to the motherboard since this is a conventional or extended memory failure. Generally this is caused by a memory chip that is not seated properly. Reseat the memory chips.
5 long Beeps
No video card or defective video card or bad slot. Reseat the video card or try different slots as well.
1 Long, 8 Short Beeps
Display / retrace test failed. Reseat the video card.


For memory:
· Remove all the memory sticks modules out.

· Insert 1 memory module only with proper dram voltage that require with ram, (DRAM voltage)

· Adjust the DRAM freq as well, save and exit out the bios.


For Power supply:
In some cases, power supply causes the system to instability or even no post due to not providing enough power. There’s a good chance to swap a power supply to test.


Thank you

ASRock America Support Team

Quote:


Ben;


We test two G620 CPU with H67M-ITX BIOS P1.30 and we could boot system normally.
Please kindly refer to the attached picture.

And please refer to below suggestions for testing first.
1. Clear CMOS to try again.
2. Re-install CPU and check whether CPU socket is fine.
3. If possible, please change another G620 and other CPU to check whether this issue is related to G620 CPU.

If any question, please kindly contact me.
Thanks for your help!

Quote:


From: Support [mailto:xxxxxxxxxxx@asrockamerica.com]
Sent: Tuesday, April 10, 2012 8:53 AM
To: Emily Tsai(蔡宜芳_ASR)
Subject: FW: H67m-itx and G620 processors
Importance: High

Dear Emily;

Could you please double check if the motherboard described below does have problems with G620 processor?
Our vendor mentioned below having some issues (with G620 motherboard does not shows BIOS screen) then they tested with Intel board and works.
Could you please check and confirm if there any problems ?

Quote:


We have tried these things.

Perhaps it is just one batch of Motherboards.

Both G620's failed to boot. At first we thought it might be the processor.

They both worked on the Intel boards.

Then we tried Asrock motherboard with i3 2100t and it worked fine.

-Ben

Quote:


Ben ;
I Will report what you described again ,probably the batch does not work with the G620

Still waiting to hear back from them. So have neither confirmed nor denied this. You may want to contact them as well.
assassin is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
BTW I will make a comment in my guide that this has yet to be resolved. We were hoping to hear back from ASRock this week on this issue.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I've tried the i3 2100 spare I bought locally and no luck. Reset cmos. Called ASRock and they say most likely memory compatibility.

Board is now out of stock at New Egg so I'll probably pick something else.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kidsmoke View Post

Yeah I've tried the i3 2100 spare I bought locally and no luck. Reset cmos. Called ASRock and they say most likely memory compatibility.

Board is now out of stock at New Egg so I'll probably pick something else.

Its not the RAM.
assassin is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Its not the RAM.

Yeah I'm inclined to agree. I've got 2 sets of g.skill and 2 of patriot and nothing works. I can't imagine the timing or voltage settings are causing a problem.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 04-19-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
To make this even more confusing I just talked to Ben with my team and he confirmed that he built a G620 + ASRock H67 ITX this week without any issues.

Must have been a bad batch of motherboards or bios. Or ASRock identified the problem and fixed it.
assassin is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 04-20-2012, 01:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

To make this even more confusing I just talked to Ben with my team and he confirmed that he built a G620 + ASRock H67 ITX this week without any issues.

Must have been a bad batch of motherboards or bios. Or ASRock identified the problem and fixed it.

I was gonna give up and order an Intel board but after some more research I found an individual who's had the same problem with a celeron G530 and ddr3 1333. Two boards fail to boot, gets beep codes with no memory. Tries to rma his cpu with Intel. Intel tells him to get memory specifically clocked at 1066, regardless if his 1333 ram is backward compatible. So he orders some kingston ddr3 1066 value ram and it boots right up.

According to Intel's site the G620 memory compatibility is the same, 1066. Although I tried the i3 2100 and it didn't work in either board, think I'll check some local shops tomorrow and see if I can find any 1066 and try it.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 04-20-2012, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I sold an HT80 with power supply to someone who used that ASRock H67M-ITX. It would not post -- looked like a power issue. I got the HT80 back and it tested fine with the PSU tester and I even did a full build with it -- no problems. I went back and forth with the manufacturer on what it could be -- they were as mystified as me. He swapped it for the ASRock Z68 mini-ITX and it's fine now. It was not a power supply issue.

[Edit]
Make it three now -- three ASRock H67M-ITX that will not POST (they turn on for a second then turn off) with this power supply. The last two were tested before they went out the door too and can run other motherboards without issue, even other ASRock boards. This makes NO sense. CPUs are all different too as far as I know -- two i3s and a Pentium (I think).

[Edit2]
I bought my own ASRock H67M-ITX and confirmed the issue on my test system. The H67M-ITX is incompatible with this particular power board. Other power boards work with the H67M-ITX and other motherboards work with the power board.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 04-21-2012, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DDR 1066 memory didn't work either. Sending both boards back to newegg. Maybe I'll gamble and try the asrock h77m-itx.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 04-21-2012, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ouch...thanks for the post. Was looking at the exact same setup Asrock h67m-itx + G620 for my parents. I was going to order them on Monday. Not now.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 05-06-2012, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
Sidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problems here with the ASRock h67m-itx and G530. Was working fine since Christmas but every once in a while it would have trouble powering up, as in no response when power button was pressed. Eventually it would always turn on but now it refuses to boot at all, no fans, nothing.
I thought it was an issue with my Antec ISK 300-65 but I hooked up the board to another PSU and nothing still.
Trying to decide now to go with another mini-itx board or migrate back to m-atx
Sidorian is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 05-06-2012, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a ASRock H67M-ITX. It works with everything I through at it, i3-2100T, i5-2400S, G530T, Kingston, Skill RAM, picoPSU, FSP PSU; pretty much everything.

I have an intel DH61AG that works with nothing, even after getting a 2nd board.
dksc318 is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 05-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Yus
Member
 
Yus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Add me to the list with these problems. Tried two CPUs. Didn't have extra RAM to try but I tried it in several configurations with no results. I'm RMAing it and trying a different board.
Yus is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 05-07-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yus View Post

Add me to the list with these problems. Tried two CPUs. Didn't have extra RAM to try but I tried it in several configurations with no results. I'm RMAing it and trying a different board.

I have sent a link to this thread to ASRock Customer Support.

I hope they fix this issue.
assassin is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 05-07-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I am curious if the ASRock H77M-ITX will have similar issues.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 05-07-2012, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I am curious if the ASRock H77M-ITX will have similar issues.

I was tempted to get one but decided on the Intel BOXDH67CFB3 ITX board instead. Was pretty happy when it posted right up after my experience with the two asrock boards.

Kidsmoke is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 08:48 AM
Member
 
HunterX82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm experiencing these issues now. Unfortunately I already bought the G620 processor and H67M board around Christmas time...and now I have the other parts to put together.

I power it up but unfortunately I am getting no video on my monitor, no post beeps or errors. The fans are running, everything seems to be working fine except no video to get into bios.
HunterX82 is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 121
So far I've used this memory with no issue with the H67M-ITX.

Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G (1 x 4GB)
G-Skill F3-10600CL8D-4GBHK 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Mushkin Essentials 996586 (2 x 2GB)

No issues with G530 and i3-2100 processor

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 09:09 AM
Member
 
HunterX82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems like the common theme here is to RMA the motherboard, so I may have to do that. I guess the G620 and H67M don't like eachother.
HunterX82 is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
HunterX82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called ASRock and the guy said there were no known issues with the G620 CPU and the H67M, so they are going to RMA the motherboard and send me a new one. I wonder if it will be a newer bios...

He did wonder if the PSU that came with the case was not strong enough to handle it...270 Watts

The bios I have now is P1.40-15B
HunterX82 is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 121
It's disheartening to hear that response from ASRock, both that they (or at least this rep) don't know about the issues AND they believe 270W is not enough to power the H67M-ITX. I can tell you from my own testing, it works perfectly fine with the 120W DC power supply and 84W AC adapter available with the Habey chassis.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 121
One other thing I find interesting looking at the OP's memory is the difference in reviews for the F3-10600CL8D-4GBHK vs F3-10666CL8D-4GBHK on Newegg. The former is 5 eggs, 249 reviews and the latter is 4 eggs, 409 reviews. I've always purchased the former, F3-10600CL8D-4GBHK and it works with my H67M-ITX.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Received this e-mail today from ASRock. Looks like they are starting to come around and recognize there is a problem.

Quote:


Please provide a total of motherboard you have problems with.
We can replace them as soon as possible; We have motherboards ready for replaced bad motherboard (cannot work with G620).

ASRock America Support

assassin is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 05-09-2012, 04:56 PM
Member
 
HunterX82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Received this e-mail today from ASRock. Looks like they are starting to come around and recognize there is a problem.

So they acknowledge there is an issue with the H67M and G620 cpu? I don't want to waste time in receiving another H67M just to have to turn around and RMA it again.

Can you forward me the entire email so I can send it to the ASRock representative that is setting up my RMA?
HunterX82 is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 05-10-2012, 03:21 AM
Newbie
 
BigScreen82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished a build using an Asrock H67M-ITX, Intel G620, and Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G and so far everything is working OK.
BigScreen82 is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 05-10-2012, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Sidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update on my problem with H67m-itx and G530
After two days I decided to put the system back together and try again. I pressed power and fan spun and it appeared the system was working again. Then I made the mistake of powering off and trying it again. No Luck, dead as can be.

I tried other power supplies and memory but my system refuses to turn on. I emailed ASRock to try and begin the RMA process.

Maybe a capacitor problem in my case?
Sidorian is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 05-10-2012, 08:37 AM
Member
 
HunterX82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigScreen82 View Post

I just finished a build using an Asrock H67M-ITX, Intel G620, and Kingston KVR1333D3N9/4G and so far everything is working OK.

What bios version do you have on your board? I am thinking mine is old and when they RMA my board they'll send one with an updated bios.
HunterX82 is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 05-10-2012, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too had two non-working H67/G620.

Instead went with a Asus and g620 and no issues.
JRace is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off