Official Whiteman Technology Delta DVR Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 75 Old 10-04-2012, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
With the Ceton DVR being shelved, is this still coming out?
almostinsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 75 Old 10-04-2012, 09:39 AM
Member
 
jaboki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

With the Ceton DVR being shelved, is this still coming out?

Refer to the dates, and take a guess.
jaboki is offline  
post #63 of 75 Old 10-04-2012, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
The Delta DVR was also supposed to be based on Windows-embedded, so I guess Whiteman will have similar issues as Ceton.

http://whitemantechnology.com/blog/
jim2100 is offline  
post #64 of 75 Old 10-04-2012, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is all over.. the only options we have is Tivo
acaoacao is offline  
post #65 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 05:35 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaoacao View Post

It is all over.. the only options we have is Tivo

My Moxi is still working...what about yours? That said, I am thinking seriously about WMC with Ceton. I need to find a good WMC remote control, but it seems the really good ones are out of production, based on the quick and limited research I did yesterday.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #66 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, Moxi is still working. I think I am beyond the break even period. That being said... I dread the options available to us. Sure I can build a box but two things worry me.. one.. remote control like you say and then... fixing it..
acaoacao is offline  
post #67 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 752
TiVo still works great. Hopefully the six tuner TiVo being worked on won't be limited to cable companies. I'm hoping they come out with a retail six tuner version next year.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #68 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Tivo screwed the pooch getting rid of OTA. I wish they would at least offer a plug in module (like the Dish 922) on a six tuner model that had VOD access with Time Warner and MoCa. That happens and I'd dump my piece of crap TWC provided boxes instantly!

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #69 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 10:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,672
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 762 Post(s)
Liked: 752
TiVo still has OTA on their two tuner Premieres. I have a couple of Elite/XL4 boxes for my primary content from FiOS and a two tuner Premiere for OTA and FiOS as a backup. With streaming I can still watch OTA on my Elite/XL4 boxes from my tow tuner Premiere.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #70 of 75 Old 10-05-2012, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yes, but Tivo still limits its recordings. If it recorded two OTA and two cable, then maybe I'd consider it.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #71 of 75 Old 06-18-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Apparently this thing is dead in the water. The website is dead and nothing here. It's too bad, the idea had potential and people are craving something, ANYTHING better than the garbage the Cable Companies are putting out.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #72 of 75 Old 06-18-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
What about using WMC and your HTPC? I use it every single day. It is a very fine PVR with EPG and I think better than the CableCo STB/DVR/EPG.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #73 of 75 Old 06-18-2013, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What about using WMC and your HTPC? I use it every single day. It is a very fine PVR with EPG and I think better than the CableCo STB/DVR/EPG.

Went that route, but the CableCard support for my Ceton devices was brutal and the Echo was a bust so everything went back.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #74 of 75 Old 06-18-2013, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Maybe try using the HDHR Prime?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #75 of 75 Old 06-19-2013, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenJF3 View Post

Apparently this thing is dead in the water. The website is dead and nothing here. It's too bad, the idea had potential and people are craving something, ANYTHING better than the garbage the Cable Companies are putting out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaporware
slowbiscuit is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off