1080p HD MKV Files Stutter on HTPC. Please Help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 04-20-2012, 12:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Every 10 - 20 seconds there is a stutter or frame drop for a second or two when playing 1080p MKV files on my htpc. It happens in all programs including xbmc, vlc, power dvd, etc. All movies differ in the amount they stutter. Some stutter more than others, while some don't stutter much at all.

HTPC specs:
Sli 590
2600k cpu
16 gb ram

Let me know if you need any other info to diagnose the problem.


Thank you
promark255 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 04-20-2012, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
try installing THIS DIRECTX update OR
try updating your graphics drivers from the manufacturer of the GPU

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 04-20-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Is this from your HD or over a network connection?

hogues is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 04-20-2012, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
from hdd, i have all the latest updates
promark255 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 04-21-2012, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Matt Malone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are reports of this happening with the newer (I think the new 300.x drivers, but it may even go back to the late 29x releases) nvidia display drivers. I saw a few threads discussing it on the official Nvidia forums. I'm not experiencing the issue (GTX 470 with the newest 300 beta drivers, overclocking through Precision X, and disabling desktop scaling and HDMI audio out through the nvidia control panel. I use Media Player Home Cinema beta releases.) so I didn't really dig through the topics. But I'd suggest you take a look over there for a solution. I think the consensus is that it's a pretty much just a driver issue.
Matt Malone is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 04-21-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
hogues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yeah, I was thinking that it was a network issue, but try a different driver. I'm using 290.53 with a 440 and it works perfectly.

hogues is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 04-21-2012, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok il try downgrading my drivers. But then newer games wont run properly....
promark255 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 04-21-2012, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Try demuxing the mkv back to an avchd format and see what happens then.
audit13 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 04-21-2012, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Try demuxing the mkv back to an avchd format and see what happens then.

What program should I use?
And will this result in any loss of PQ?
promark255 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 04-22-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

What program should I use?
And will this result in any loss of PQ?

Use TSMuxer. There is absolutely no reduction in quality. MKV is a container.

Use TSMuxer with the mkv as the input file and avchd as the output. Look for the m2ts file in the stream folder. Many programs will play back the m2ts file with no problem.

Maybe you're having problems with the mkv due to header compression issues.
audit13 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 04-22-2012, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok il try, thanks.

header comp?
promark255 is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 04-23-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

Ok il try, thanks.

header comp?

MKV files have a header file which some programs can't handle properly.

This is an older article but could be relevant: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010...-side-effects/

No header required in an avchd format.
audit13 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 04-24-2012, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Do the files stutter when played on a diff PC? I had a similar problem. Some vids played smooth on my main PC, but would stutter on my HTPC. I am using MPC-HC as external player to MediaPortal, I did some reconfig and changed MPC-HC to us MadVR instead of EVR and viola, everything was back to normal. Something to consider (changing your filter tools).

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv: http://www.twitch.tv/epyon415
Twitter: @gundumgaming
YouTube Gameplay Videos
Epyon415 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 04-24-2012, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently im using Xbmc, what do you mean by changing filter tools?
promark255 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 04-26-2012, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
TimLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

Currently im using Xbmc, what do you mean by changing filter tools?

XBMC, are you running "Fullscreen in a Window"? If so, try just "Fullscreen". Do you have hardware acceleration turned on in XBMC? Try turning that on or off to see if things are better.
TimLCD is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 04-26-2012, 08:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 232
DXVA.

Does more harm than good in most instances, imo. AMD and Intel both.
assassin is online now  
post #17 of 20 Old 04-27-2012, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

DXVA.

Does more harm than good in most instances, imo. AMD and Intel both.

What rendering method should I use then?
promark255 is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 04-27-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

What rendering method should I use then?

"Auto Detect" or "Software".

Try both. See which you like better.
assassin is online now  
post #19 of 20 Old 04-27-2012, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Alan Winslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What refresh rate are you using? I have been having a stutter issue for a while which just was resolved last night. I did not realize on my GT430 card the refresh rate needed to be set to 23hz in the display settings in the windows control panel, not 24hz for MKV files. Playback is perfect now.
It had been playing at 24 hz with stuttters.
Using itunes i had to change to 60hz for smooth playback.
Give it a try.
Alan Winslow is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 04-29-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Winslow View Post

What refresh rate are you using? I have been having a stutter issue for a while which just was resolved last night. I did not realize on my GT430 card the refresh rate needed to be set to 23hz in the display settings in the windows control panel, not 24hz for MKV files. Playback is perfect now.
It had been playing at 24 hz with stuttters.
Using itunes i had to change to 60hz for smooth playback.
Give it a try.

OK il give that a try as well.

Thanks everyone!
promark255 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off