MCM and/or MB not scraping properly? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2012, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
I've noticed lately that I am not getting the movie plot or synopsis showing in Media Browser. I also noticed an error message on the log screen of Media Center Master saying something about not having access to a file on my system last night but it was late so I didn't copy/paste the message (it wouldn't let me do it!) and I was too tired to write it down..

Has anybody else experienced this? I'm using the free version of both programs.

Thanks.

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Are you guys sleeping today?

I thought for sure you'd have it all figured out for me by now..


Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I would look into ownership and permissions of the directory and/or file. I had similar problems before for files that were acquired by programs running as services.
cdru is offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
The mkv files are on my PC and not the HTPC. They are root-shared network drives that are mapped on the HTPC.

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
So nobody else is having this problem?

Should I un-install/install MCM?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have never had this problem. However, I have had to uninstall, re-install MCM multiple times for other "annoying" issues. Try that first.
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
What annoying issues would those be?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What annoying issues would those be?

For a while I had it where all the new movies that were *ahem* installed after March would have all their metadata, files, pictures and backdrops. But MCM would show them as "yellow"...which means no nothing in the file. I would be able to do the "refresh metadata" and violia...all the metadata was there! Also, always had issues with getting TV shows recognized. And you can forget about boxsets. You have to have them in individual folders in the "main" folder first...find the metadata in MCM and apply it. Then manually move the movies into the "collection" folder. Then, for some reason, MCM will recognize the movies as a "collection.

It's just stupid things. However, it is free.
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
So you did the refresh after an un-install and re-install?

Or should I just do a refresh?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdru View Post

I would look into ownership and permissions of the directory and/or file. I had similar problems before for files that were acquired by programs running as services.

For some reason a bunch of permissions were changed (or just flat out gone) on my network when I checked this morning. I've re-established them but had to head off to work. So maybe tonight I'll have time to reboot and see what happens.

Apparantly the ability to read the HDD was available in both MCM and MB but the writing permission was lost.

I'm a little perplexed as to why tis would happpen. I'm wondering if MSE or MS Defender decided on their own that my permissions were to liberal and changed them for me.

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Still failing and here's the message:

"Aborted: I do not have access to the Windows Media Center DVD cache located in C:\\Users\\HTPC\\AppData\\Roaming\\Microsoft\\eHome".

Will a re-install give me this back?

A folder called DvdInfoCache exists in that folder?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
IDK, but it seems to be working now, other than the incorrect aspect ratio..

I forced a refresh and it worked. Just buggy I guess but what do you want for nothin? A rubber bisquit?

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,581
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Maybe not. There's no folder art or movie.xml in the folder but the info showed up in MB? I should add that I did a manual refresh of the MB service from the taskbar.

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off