hdmi not detected: gigabyte R455 - Marantz SR5006 - Samsung TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cstorry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I'm trying to get my HTPC updated to HDMI.

System specs
Shuttle SG31G2 windows 7
Gigabyte GV-R455D3 video card with HDMI (and VGA)

VGA connected to LCD monitor
HDMI connected via Marantz SR5006 to Samsung LCD TV

When the PC is connected directly to TV, HDMI is recognized and works fine (audio and video)

When PC is connected through AVR to TV (and any input other than the one on which the PC is connected) the PC claims to have an HDMI attached device (of course I don't see or hear it since the AVR has selected a different input)

When PC is connected through AVR with the appropriate HDMI interface selcted to connect input to TV then the PC says there is no device connected to HDMI and I get no video or sound. (i.e. I switch AVR to select input to which PC HDMI cable is connected)

This according to ATI Catalyst control center.
I'm running latest drivers (8.951.0.0)

When I try moninfo it tells me that the monitor info is the same when selecting the proper input or not on the AVR.

There are some differences in the moninfo report when connecting the PC directly to the TV but mostly in the audio section.

So my question is - how do I figure out what is wrong ?

Why is the device attached to the HDMI port not seen by the PC when the AVR has selected the PC as input ?

Why does moninfo see it but not the catalyst driver and hence windows 7 ?

Any help appreciated ...
Thanks
Chuck
cstorry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do you have another card that you can test?

Are you playing Blu-Ray files?
HD Audio?

If so, upgrade your card to the HD5000 or HD6000 series. These will bitstream HD audio to your AVR, the HD4550 will not.

Two birds with one stone!
hirent is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cstorry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another observation is that on rebooting the PC that the boot messages come out on both the VGA attached display and the hdmi through AVR to TV up until the windows screen then the HDMI monitor goes blank

I'm guessing that this is the point at which some more sophisticated ATI driver software takes over and kills the HDMI connection for some unknown reason.
cstorry is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cstorry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
unfortunately no other PCI-E video cards and nothing with HDMI

Not using BlU-Ray on PC - I have a stand-alone Bluray player so no need.

Just trying to use mediacenter with my tuner card (but need HDMI input for my AVR)
cstorry is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstorry View Post

that the boot messages come out on both the VGA attached display

There's your problem: dual displays!
Do you have the VGA connected while trying to use the HDMI connection?
Disconnect the VGA and then boot the PC with just the HDMI connection.
hirent is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cstorry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I disconnected the VGA display and only have the HDMI AVR TV connected and I get the same thing

TV display shows boot messages right up to the windows screen then the TV display goes blank and reports NO Signal

Can't say what the PC thinks since I dson't have other display connected but I bet it thinks no displays are connected ...
cstorry is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstorry View Post

I disconnected the VGA display and only have the HDMI AVR TV connected and I get the same thing

With the VGA & HDMI connected, try 'Detect Displays' in CCC.
You may want to look into an EDID override; search for that thread in this forum. It has some good info.

I still think your best bet is to try a different video card.
The HD5450 is on sale for $16 AR.

It will help rule out your AVR as the problem.
hirent is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-25-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cstorry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDMI interface works when I switch the AVR away from the PC input and when I plug it into the TV directly all automatically - no need to detect displays.

I did try detect display from CCC but it did not find the HDMI connected display when it was connected through the AVR.

However moninfo did read that there was the AVR connected so I don't understand why catalyst doesn't see it.

I guess I have to spend money to narrow the options

5450's aren't that cheap if you want to pick it up locally rather than wait for mail order but lets see what happens with a new card

Thanks
Chuck
cstorry is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Marantz Sr5006 Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr5006 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off