The Transition from Media Browser to XBMC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 04-26-2012, 02:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using Media Browser for almost 3 years now, and Mymovies for 4 years before that. I have thousands of movies neatly organized with full xml metadata, posters and backgrounds I tediously picked out. One of my favorite things to do is to personally pick out the movie posters for my collection. I also have tons of TV Shows that have been organized and named using Media Center Master, Media Scout, and MetaBrowser.

That being said, I'm trying to make the transition to XBMC and I'm finding it difficult.

First: After struggling to get XBMC to recognize my TV Shows, I realized my Tv show naming scheme is all wrong for XBMC. It turns out every episode needs to have the season and the episode number in the file name. Currently I have the episodes in a folder called Season 0X, with the name of each episode as the file name. And in Media Browser format, each season has a metadata folder. Well XBMC doesn't recognize this set up. With over 4TBs of television shows, I'm a bit apprehensive in renaming each episode and downloading all new metadata. Also, when I added the movies to XBMC it refused to use my existing metadata and instead downloaded it's own movie posters. Some were even foreign..grrrr. I would prefer to use my own metadata since I personally picked it out.