Can I get 7.1 audio over HDMI with the VIA VT1705 audio chipset? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Heloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning on building a cheap-ish HTPC system using an AMD A6-3500. I'm trying keep costs down on the motherboard and I think I'm going to get the ASRock A55M-HVS.

"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157277"

It has the VIA VT1705 audio chipset and the specs say that it has six audio channels. Right now, I'll only be getting audio out of my TV speakers but plan on adding a surround sound system later on. I think 5.1 surround will be good enough for me but I'm worried that I'll get the itch to go all the way to 7.1. If I'm using HDMI pass-through on whatever future audio receiver I get, will I still be able to get 7.1 audio or do I need to step up to something like the ASRock A75M?

"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?tem=N82E16813157260"

The secondary (and less important) question is, is there anything that the A75 northbridge does that the A55 doesn't that I might miss (given that I don't really care about USB 3.0)?

Lastly, for about the same cost, I could go with a Pentium G620 on an H61 platform. Is there any significant advantage to that setup? I think the CPU will be a little better but the GPU will be a little worse than the A6-3500 but either should have plenty of horsepower for 1080p video through XBMC and a couple of background apps right? I've heard that the AMD chip handles 23.xxx playback better and generally plays nicer with XBMC.
Heloc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you go hdmi connections all the way, you should have no problem getting 7.1. Just don't use the onboard audio. Use the AMD HDMI audio device.
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heloc View Post

It has the VIA VT1705 audio chipset and the specs say that it has six audio channels. Right now, I'll only be getting audio out of my TV speakers but plan on adding a surround sound system later on. I think 5.1 surround will be good enough for me but I'm worried that I'll get the itch to go all the way to 7.1. If I'm using HDMI pass-through on whatever future audio receiver I get, will I still be able to get 7.1 audio or do I need to step up to something like the ASRock A75M?

The Via Chipset refers to the onboard audio with analog outs.
The HDMI is connected and provided by AMD.
They will show up in Windows as two separate audio devices; just think of them as two separate sound cards. The AMD HDMI device can do up to 7.1 channels of HD audio.
hirent is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-28-2012, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 152
If your planning on using HDMI it will save you a lot of confusion if you disable your on-board sound at the Bios level.

Andy_Steb is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off