FlexRAID 2.0 Opinions? Thinking of going with it over UnRAID/SnapRAID - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
spectrumbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigahertz21 View Post

So if Killroy takes your offer and proves the bug does exist, do I get a free/highly discounted copy since if I didn't create this thread, this bug probably would have never been posted? Pleaseeeeeee

Hehe, sure. Why not?
Since you started the thread, I will grant you a free license too if Killroy comes through.

You can also download FlexRAID now and start with a free trial and help Killroy in unmasking the bug. That will make the process faster.
spectrumbx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I'm glad to see the sale got extended to May 5. But its now $60. I believe it was $40 at one point, then $50. So I'm assuming if its extended again it will be $70?

This strikes me as usual business practice (prices go up the more you wait) but in effect its punishing those who fully intend to buy FlexRaid but haven't had time to setup their servers or are waiting for things to become stable.
Defcon is offline  
post #63 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gigahertz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectrumbx View Post

Hehe, sure. Why not?
Since you started the thread, I will grant you a free license too if Killroy comes through.

You can also download FlexRAID now and start with a free trial and help Killroy in unmasking the bug. That will make the process faster.

Awesome, hope Killroy comes through, but I have my doubts since you said you tried to re-produce the same bug and couldn't do it. I'm just hoping Killroy has some kind of unique setup that will proof this bug is still there even in the newest version.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroyâ„¢ View Post

I will accept your offer.

So you know... I don't use any spanning, junctions and/or hard links, (PPU having a smaller usable space) and my PPU is always the same drive as my largest data drive and freshly formatted with absolutely no other app or files on the PPU drive. None whatsoever. I only use JBOD and no pooling.

It is not the first time I have received this error...this is the other one from my third box.

These are the only two logs I have left over from when I removed FlexRAID.

Code:
[2012-02-20 23:38:28,521] ERROR: [update] error: Invalid state: not enough usable space for parity! Space need: 268005783275
java.lang.RuntimeException: Invalid state: not enough usable space for parity! Space need: 268005783275
    at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: Invalid state: not enough usable space for parity! Space need: 268005783275
I was able to duplicate the error once on purpose just to make sure I was not crazy so I am confident I can do it again.


GOOOOOOOO Killroy! I got a free copy of FlexRAID riding on you if you can prove this bug is legit.

Even the Oregon cheerleaders are cheering for you

Gigahertz21 is offline  
post #64 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
spectrumbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigahertz21 View Post

Awesome, hope Killroy comes through, but I have my doubts since you said you tried to re-produce the same bug and couldn't do it. I'm just hoping Killroy has some kind of unique setup that will proof this bug is still there even in the newest version.
...

One of the key aspect in respect to software development is that you can never predict how the software you wrote will behave on every system.

Many of the bugs I have been fixing lately have been bugs affecting only a handful of users because of the particular aspects of their systems.
Maturity in software comes from fixing all these one offs as they come; and over time, the product simply becomes more robust as it gets all that baked in.

So, me not being able to replicate the issue does not mean it does not exist.
If it exists, my hope is to find it and nuke it.

With thousands of users pounding on FlexRAID from all sides and on all sort of systems, bugs are certainly being shaken out, which is a very good thing when you think long-term.
spectrumbx is offline  
post #65 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Parity creation has started. 46+TB should take about 30-35hours.
Killroy is offline  
post #66 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigahertz21 View Post

Even the Oregon cheerleaders are cheering for you


^That may become my new avatar.
Killroy is offline  
post #67 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post


^That may become my new avatar.

Hahah

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #68 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
5 hrs later ? ?
Lets see it

Put up or shut u...

No , not the Oregon girls either .... but cool all the same
flocko is offline  
post #69 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

5 hrs later ? ?
Lets see it

Put up or shut u...

No , not the Oregon girls either .... but cool all the same

Gonna take 30ish hours for him to finish.

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #70 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

5 hrs later ? ?
Lets see it

Put up or shut u...

Really?!?! Did you not read that 46+TB takes about 30-35hours to create the parity?
Killroy is offline  
post #71 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I guess this goes to show that anything can have fanboys.

bryansj is online now  
post #72 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Lars99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would also be interested in the SMART report.
Lars99 is offline  
post #73 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars99 View Post

I would also be interested in the SMART report.

If you are referring to mine, I have disabled SMART on my installation.
Killroy is offline  
post #74 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Lars99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

If you are referring to mine, I have disabled SMART on my installation.

Then how do you know you don't have excessive bad sectors on your parity drive?
Lars99 is offline  
post #75 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars99 View Post

Then how do you know you don't have excessive bad sectors on your parity drive?

Well, HDTune does just fine with that besides if you have Samsung Green Drives then any SMART program will be the death of them. I am not taking any chances.
Killroy is offline  
post #76 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

if you have Samsung Green Drives then any SMART program will be the death of them. I am not taking any chances.

What?

That was true for drives made in 2010 without the firmware update.

For any drive made in 2011 this isn't an issue. That has been in my hardware guide for over a year now.
assassin is offline  
post #77 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

What?

That was true for drives made in 2010 without the firmware update.

For any drive made in 2011 this isn't an issue. That has been in my hardware guide for over a year now.

And your point? I have several drives that fall in that situation. I did not upgrade the firmwares cause I lost several drives during the Seagate firmware debacle. I have over 68 drives. I have a bit of everything. There are other ways to check for errors.
Killroy is offline  
post #78 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

And your point? I have several drives that fall in that situation. I did not upgrade the firmwares cause I lost several drives during the Seagate firmware debacle. I have over 68 drives. I have a bit of everything. There are other ways to check for errors.

I have updated the firmware with a full drive. No issues at all and you really should do it.
assassin is offline  
post #79 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I have updated the firmware with a full drive. No issues at all and you really should do it.

I heard the same thing about the Seagate drives. They fell like dominoes. Not taking any chances.
Killroy is offline  
post #80 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 07:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

I heard the same thing about the Seagate drives. They fell like dominoes. Not taking any chances.

Well okay then.
assassin is offline  
post #81 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Really?!?! Did you not read that 46+TB takes about 30-35hours to create the parity?


Yes , really !! so sorry . I miss took myself for being perfect . Thanks

So some where in the neighborhood of 10:00 p.m. 5/2/12 and 2:00 a.m. 5/3/12 . That about right . Just want to be sure I'm watching , waiting .. oh boy !!
flocko is offline  
post #82 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gigahertz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

5 hrs later ? ?
Lets see it

Put up or shut u...

No , not the Oregon girls either .... but cool all the same


Guess you didn't read a few posts above yours.....it takes awhile to do parity.
Gigahertz21 is offline  
post #83 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigahertz21 View Post

Guess you didn't read a few posts above yours.....it takes awhile to do parity.

K , guess you did not read the "I am not perfect post " Right ?
flocko is offline  
post #84 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

Yes , really !! so sorry . I miss took myself for being perfect . Thanks

So some where in the neighborhood of 10:00 p.m. 5/2/12 and 2:00 a.m. 5/3/12 . That about right . Just want to be sure I'm watching , waiting .. oh boy !!

That's funny, that is exactly the time period I calculated...but if you think I am staying up that late to work on this you are more nuts than I am.
Killroy is offline  
post #85 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

That's funny, that is exactly the time period I calculated...but if you think I am staying up that late to work on this you are more nuts than I am.

No blame here man !! Let er run . Get some sleepeezzs
flocko is offline  
post #86 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 10:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Isn't SMART mostly useless? I remember reading the Google survey and the conclusion was you can't rely on SMART to predict when a disk will fail. Or am I mistaken?

I have a few F4 drives I haven't updated the firmware on as well. I have no extra space to copy the data off, and the procedure for the update (its destructive, must boot from dos, must be only disk attached to system) is cumbersome.
Defcon is offline  
post #87 of 252 Old 05-01-2012, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gigahertz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocko View Post

K , guess you did not read the "I am not perfect post " Right ?

Of course not, look at the time I posted it compared to yours...
Gigahertz21 is offline  
post #88 of 252 Old 05-02-2012, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
spectrumbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon View Post

Isn't SMART mostly useless? I remember reading the Google survey and the conclusion was you can't rely on SMART to predict when a disk will fail. Or am I mistaken?

I have a few F4 drives I haven't updated the firmware on as well. I have no extra space to copy the data off, and the procedure for the update (its destructive, must boot from dos, must be only disk attached to system) is cumbersome.

It is a stretch to call it useless.
SMART is not the most accurate method, but it does have some valuable predictive aspects.
What's more of an art than science is how we interpret the metrics.
Some metrics just speak for themselves (like massive read errors). The issue has been that a drive can still fail even when all the metrics look good.

With FlexRAID, SMART is also used for drive failure notification.
If a drive fails, you want notification ASAP before another drive fails or you make too many changes to your RAID.

Remembering that drives do tend to fail in bunches, responsiveness is critical.

Also, being able to run self-tests on the drives straight from the UI along with visual charting of every single monitored attributes, simply puts more tools at your fingertips to effectively manage your drives.
spectrumbx is offline  
post #89 of 252 Old 05-02-2012, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,386
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I have updated the firmware with a full drive. No issues at all and you really should do it.

+1

If you do it right there is no issues.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #90 of 252 Old 05-02-2012, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

+1

If you do it right there is no issues.

That's what they told me with the Seagate drives and out of 9 drives I updated the exact same way I lost 7.

The F4 drives work just fine with the old firmware, unlike the Seagates that were prone to data corruption with the bad firmware...so I am NOT taking any chances.
Killroy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off