Any recent OrigenAE M10 builds - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-09-2012, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
halfordb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just wondering if anyone has recently (even within the last year) built their HTPC with the OrigenAE M10.

I am looking to do so soon, but I can barely find any build that are from 2010!

The computeraudiophile build used the M10, but they didn't use the front display, which I intend to do.

Anyway, I am in the early planning stages and was just hoping to poach some ideas. I have been reviewing Assassin's guides but the motherboard in his high-end mini-itx system doesn't seem to be available anymore (or at least in Canada).

I realize this is a pretty vague post, but truly any links / thoughts / suggestions are welcome.
halfordb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-09-2012, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I've done a few builds recently with the similar Iwill HT100. There's a few posts floating around here in the mini-ITX case thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post21902288

Some blog entries:
http://outsidethestb.blogspot.com/20...s-arrived.html
http://outsidethestb.blogspot.com/20...th-35-hdd.html

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-10-2012, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
halfordb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! I appreciate the links.

Do you know if the two cases are similar enough that two 2.5" drives are are possible in the M10 if I have the ODD as well?
halfordb is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-10-2012, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfordb View Post

Thanks! I appreciate the links.

Do you know if the two cases are similar enough that two 2.5" drives are are possible in the M10 if I have the ODD as well?

Short answer: yes

Long answer: Internally, the HT100 is basically the same as the m10 with the exception that the HT100's under-ODD mount allows you to rotate the SSD/HDD 90-degrees (if desired) so it doesn't interfere with the CPU HSF. I was able to install a 2.5" SSD in the side location and a 3.5" HDD turned 90-degrees underneath the ODD with the Gelid Slim Silence i-Plus installed. A 2.5" under the ODD doesn't interfere at all and was workable with a Silverstone NT07-1156. No idea about the stock cooler however.

The biggest difference between the m10 and the HT100 is the LCD/VFD. The HT100 doesn't come with one and fitting one is a homegrown solution. The Soundgraph VFD can be fitted it just takes a little work. I've been working with an LCD kit from LCDModKit.com to find an inexpensive solution. I know another guy who fit the Soundgraph LCD/VFD/IR kit with a little modding of the kit. As for IR receiver/remote, the HT100 is available with one (it's separate from the LCD/VFD module) and it's capable of turning the PC on from off.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-10-2012, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
halfordb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks again. I am really impressed with the knowledge on this forum and the willingness to share. I am sure I will need it in the future.
halfordb is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 06-10-2012, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
aramak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi there. I think I'm in the same boat as you are. I am currently in the process of trying to build a parts list around the Origen AE M10 case.

Here's what I have so far:

Case: Origen AE M10 (with VFD 210 for Linux compatibility)
http://www.shop.perfecthometheater.com/HTPC-aluminum-chassis-M10-VFD310-right-button-Black-HTPC-M10-VFD310-rb-B.htm?productId=349

Motherboard: ZOTAC ION-ITX S Series [IONITX-S-E]
http://www.zotacusa.com/products/motherboards/ion/zotac-ion-itx-s-series-ionitx-s-e.html

RAM: Kingston 2GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM Unbuffered DDR3 800 System Specific Memory Model KVR800D3S8S6/2G
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139220

Blu-ray Disk: Sony Optiarc Black Slim Internal 12.7mm Slot Blu-ray Combo Model BC-5650H-01
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118070

SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3B/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239049

My plan is to run a Linux-based XBMC install on this device. I'm primarily interested in streaming video from a server on my home LAN.

Anyway, I'm still in the planning stage, and cannot confirm whether or not the parts list above will work.

Feedback is welcome.
aramak is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 06-10-2012, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Those will all fit in the m10. What are you planning to use for the O/S and/or storage? SSD? HDD?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-10-2012, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
aramak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am planning to either use OpenElec or Ubuntu for my O/S to host XBMC. Since I plan on using a separate server for my video content (DVD/BD rips), I figured that I could get away with just using an SSD drive as my storage unit.
aramak is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-11-2012, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by aramak View Post

I am planning to either use OpenElec or Ubuntu for my O/S to host XBMC. Since I plan on using a separate server for my video content (DVD/BD rips), I figured that I could get away with just using an SSD drive as my storage unit.

That's ideal then. You can install the SSD in the side bay and not worry about anything under the ODD tray.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-31-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
diamond design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Proctorville, Ohio / Huntington, WV
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We were making a production run off of it but we are not now. I wasted some money on some custom rackshelves that I'll probably never sell now too since we are using a different chassis for our player frown.gif However, photos of the prototype M10 (and one of the shelves I'm stuck with):


diamond design is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-31-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
What made you decide not to use the m10?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-31-2012, 10:58 AM
Member
 
diamond design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Proctorville, Ohio / Huntington, WV
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing against this chassis. I wanted a 2U format, I didn't need the front screen, and I really needed a flex PSU setup so I could go to 300W. The 150w with even with the GT430 underclocked a little and the i-2300t version cpu was still pushing it to much.
diamond design is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 08-31-2012, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond design View Post

Nothing against this chassis. I wanted a 2U format, I didn't need the front screen, and I really needed a flex PSU setup so I could go to 300W. The 150w with even with the GT430 underclocked a little and the i-2300t version cpu was still pushing it to much.

Cool, thanks for the info. I was wondering if there was some defect or blocking issue you ran into.

These guys make some nice compact rackmount chassis: http://www.istarusa.com/istarusa/productlanding.php?division=istarusa&cat=Compact Rackmount Chassis

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off