new netflix... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Insane HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone else see the new interface to the netflix player? i haven't tried it out on the htpc, but looks very slick. i know it will be a cold day in hell before we see an update to the mce plugin but at least they are doing something

http://myquest4happiness.blogspot.com/
its my blog about bmw's, primal eating, pc gaming...whatever i feel like :)
Insane HTPC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe 6 Pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hampton, GA USA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I really like the look and functionality it offers but it's completely useless to me until it's rolled into the WMC plugin. I have a wireless all in one keyboard and mouse but I definitely don't want to have to pull it out every time I want to use Netflix when I could use my Harmony remote instead. Hopefully MS and Netflix get their heads out of their butts and roll the updated UI out to us WMC users as well.

Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand.
Joe 6 Pack is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dan4081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe 6 Pack View Post

Yeah, I really like the look and functionality it offers but it's completely useless to me until it's rolled into the WMC plugin. I have a wireless all in one keyboard and mouse but I definitely don't want to have to pull it out every time I want to use Netflix when I could use my Harmony remote instead. Hopefully MS and Netflix get their heads out of their butts and roll the updated UI out to us WMC users as well.

I so wish there was an easy way to integrate this into XBMC.

Not to stray off target, but do you have XBMC as a plug-in to WMC Joe?
Or do you use both WMC and XBMC seperately?

Just trying to figure out, as an XBMC user, the easiest, smoothest way to access netflx also.

Thanks in advance......

Revo Ion...XBMC For Windows...Dharma RC2
dan4081 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe 6 Pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hampton, GA USA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm a bit of a head case so I actually have Boxee, Hulu Desktop, Plex, SecondRun.TV, and XBMC integrated into WMC. I only get a couple channels free OTA so I like to have as many options as possible available in case a plugin doesn't work in one program or I can't find something.

I've been meaning to check out XBMCFlicks which is supposed to integrate Netflix into XBMC but if it doesn't allow me to control it with my remote then it's probably going to be pretty useless for me. I tried the Plex Netflix app but it only got as far as listing stuff. Anything I clicked on and tried to play just returned me to the item so I gave up on it.

Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand.
Joe 6 Pack is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spivonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the new Netflix player still Silverlight-based? I bet they moved it to HTML5. Hopefully an update is coming for the WMC plug-in.
spivonious is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Considering Silverlight is more/less a dead tech (though still supported), let's hope it moved to HTML5. However, has there EVER been an update to the WMC plugin? Would be nice, but I don't see it happening. Please tell me I'm wrong... please?
tgrinch is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 200
i just tried it. probably wouldve never known if not for this thread. its definitely still silverlight

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-17-2012, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe 6 Pack View Post

I've been meaning to check out XBMCFlicks which is supposed to integrate Netflix into XBMC but if it doesn't allow me to control it with my remote then it's probably going to be pretty useless for me. I tried the Plex Netflix app but it only got as far as listing stuff. Anything I clicked on and tried to play just returned me to the item so I gave up on it.

I got XBMCFlicks setup last night with no problems. I haven't tried it with a remote though, just keyboard/mouse.
Maklar is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-18-2012, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Joe 6 Pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hampton, GA USA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There is another add-on called XBMCFlix-o-mate that's supposed to allow you to use your remote to control it but you have to use a program like Event Ghost and I honestly can't be bothered to go through all that. I'll just hold out for the meager chance that MS or Netflix decides to update the MCE app. In the meantime, I'll just use my PS3 if I want to watch something in 1080p with 5.1 or a TV show with a lot of episodes that I don't feel like scrolling through.

Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand.
Joe 6 Pack is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off