G620 or 6450? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-19-2012, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BudgetHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all.
I ordered a new ASRock H67m B3 and a Pentium G620 yesterday to replace my Gigabyte EP45T-USB3P and C2D E7500.
Last week I bought one of the Gigabyte 6450 from Newegg and it's doing a great job so far.
When the new parts arrive next week should I ditch the new 6450 in favor of running off the MB HDMI or should I use the new 6450?
BudgetHT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-19-2012, 11:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dodgexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nr Brighton, England.
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Depends what you use your HTPC for.

If you want to use LAV/MAD VR you will probably see a big benefit using the discreet card.

If you use any enhancements in hardware acceleration, deinterlacing, noise reduction etc, again the discreet hard will win.

If you are just going to play back 1080p files/discs on a 1080p display, it won't make much of a difference.

Having said that your cpu will be more than adequate to software decode everything anyway, so it really doesn't matter that much, unless you are intent on reducing cpu usage.

Natalya Simonova: Do you destroy every vehicle you get into?
James Bond: Standard operating procedure. Boys with toys.
Goldeneye
Dodgexander is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-20-2012, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
winterescape's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For cost, simplicity, and heat start with just using the onboard graphics. If you find limitations add in your 6450
winterescape is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-20-2012, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by winterescape View Post

For cost, simplicity, and heat start with just using the onboard graphics. If you find limitations add in your 6450

+1.

My advice as well. Very little downside with this approach.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-20-2012, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BudgetHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice.
I'll try it from the MB 1st.
BudgetHT is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off