Video Connection Question-DVI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2012, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brianlund186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My son is trying to set up a quasi HTPC with a new Radeon card (Don't know which one). It has (1) DVI-I and (1) DVI-D out put and he wants to feed a Samsung HDTV with HDMI and VGA inputs and a new but not high end monitor. I'm not sure what the monitor in is but I'm assuming either DVI-D or DVI-A but it could be VGA. Exactly how would you cable this? please let me know if you need more info.

Brian
brianlund186 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2012, 02:10 PM
Member
 
jdmag00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Townsend, MA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would get an dvi to hdmi cable, check monoprice.
jdmag00 is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, HDMI and DVI can be converted using a simple cable adapter. DVI to VGA however cannot.
sitlet is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Before you invest very much in convertors, you might consider getting a $20 video card that already has HDMI and VGA outputs.

What new Radeon card did he get that doesn't have HDMI?
Zon2020 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off