16GB or 32GB memory? Wich latency and speed? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-24-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, Im choosing the memory for a HTPC build. Im getting a H77 motherboard and a Ivy bridge intel graphics 4000 processor

The HTPC will be used for 720P and 1080i recording from TV shows and movie editing. I will not be gaming on this HTPC or using a videocard.

so, my questions:

1)Should I go with 16GB or max out 32GB? I may want to edit movies while recording in the background, and I dont know if 16GB is already enough

2)Regarding Latency, I've seen 7-8-8-24 and 9-9-9-24 timings. Should I go with the standart CL9 or get the CL7?
LeandrodaFL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-24-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post

Hey all, Im choosing the memory for a HTPC build. Im getting a H77 motherboard and a Ivy bridge intel graphics 4000 processor

The HTPC will be used for 720P and 1080i recording from TV shows and movie editing. I will not be gaming on this HTPC or using a videocard.

so, my questions:

1)Should I go with 16GB or max out 32GB? I may want to edit movies while recording in the background, and I dont know if 16GB is already enough

The right question is 4GB or 8GB, and the answer is, 4GB is plenty. Unless you're planning on running a 50-node Exchange server I can't imagine why 32GB would even enter your mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post

2)Regarding Latency, I've seen 7-8-8-24 and 9-9-9-24 timings. Should I go with the standart CL9 or get the CL7?

The answer is: it won't matter the slightest bit. Buy the 9.

By the way, the only way you're getting HD4000 video today is with an i5-3570K, which is several orders of magnitude more CPU than you need for your planned HTPC.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-24-2012, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have an i3 with the 3000 processor, and I does perfectly well with my dual use computer (HT and home). I can let the daughter watch movies on the 92 inch screen/projector while I work on the second monitor, with no problems whatsoever. I do not, however, do any gaming.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-24-2012, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
4, I dont know why you think you need a workstation as an HTPC

Recording has virtually no effect on performance, when Im playing a game and the computer starts to record I dont even notice it.
idividebyzero is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-24-2012, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanksf or the reply, Im gonna get intel 4000hd anyways, but Im gonna wait for the batch of low tdp processors. I might in the futre add a videocard and do gaming
LeandrodaFL is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off