Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 01:29 PM
Member
 
coolrunnings82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Cunningham View Post

Thanks, this thread is very informative! I ordered one of these units and can't till it arrives. I am happy that it can be quieted down, I am not sure exactly where I am going to stash mine so it is going to start out in my living room.
Me too. Hope you're not married because if you are, run for the hills after putting that in your livingroom. Supermicro gear is scary loud for an occupied room. That said, I ordered one too and am looking forward to quieting that thing down for use in my office. 24 bays of hotswap goodness is too much to pass up at this price!
coolrunnings82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Cunningham View Post

Thanks, this thread is very informative! I ordered one of these units and can't till it arrives. I am happy that it can be quieted down, I am not sure exactly where I am going to stash mine so it is going to start out in my living room.

Same here, or more likely a corner of the kitchen with an extra long Ethernet cable. I ant it quiet enough that I can't hear it from my couch, although I'm afraid the ever present hum could be annoying.

 

Curious - is there anyone who has one of these beasts who lives in an apartment?

Defcon is offline  
post #633 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 03:20 PM
Member
 
ugotd8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine is going in my basement, I've already got a 16 bay supermicro down there that I can't hear at all upstairs. But in the basement, that's another story. biggrin.gif
ugotd8 is offline  
post #634 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
dianasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like one of these servers but... too bad they don't ship to Canada... frown.gif
dianasta is offline  
post #635 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

Hi... Windows 7 installs perfectly... the only drivers that will need to be re-installed/updated are the ones for SATA cards wich can be found here

Been trying to install Win7 on my machine, but it doesn't seem to like this driver. I'm stuck.

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is offline  
post #636 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggrich76 View Post

Been trying to install Win7 on my machine, but it doesn't seem to like this driver. I'm stuck.

How are you trying to install it? I have it on 4 boxes with W7 with no problems?

My method was Properties, update driver, point manually to the location where you extracted it. You have to do it for each and every card you have.
Killroy is offline  
post #637 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

How are you trying to install it? I have it on 4 boxes with W7 with no problems?
My method was Properties, update driver, point manually to the location where you extracted it. You have to do it for each and every card you have.

↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑

What he said...

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #638 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you are now on a waiting list for the new Supermicro 4Us and or contemplating if you really need 24 bays biggrin.gif

TamSolutions has a Supermicro 2U (12bay) as well.



Here are the specs:

Supermicro SAS826TQ
Supermicro X7SBE
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Kingston 4GB RAM
(1) Supermicro SAT2-MV8
(2) 800 watt PSU (redundant)

All This For $189.00!!!

If you would like one of these machines before they are sold out... give TamSolutions a call at 801-796-1696... they only have about 17 or so left in stock!

The case fans in this machine are the same as the ones in the 4Us and are very loud... but they too can be very easily replaced with virtually silent fans.

The PSU fans are also much quieter than the ones that come with the 4U.

I have one of these machines as well... so if you have any questions... I would be glad to help.

Just thought I would share.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #639 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

If you are now on a waiting list for the new Supermicro 4Us and or contemplating if you really 24 bays biggrin.gif
TamSolutions has a Supermicro 2U (12bay) as well.

Here are the specs:
Supermicro SAS826TQ
Supermicro X7SBE
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Kingston 4GB RAM
(1) Supermicro SAT2-MV8
(2) 800 watt PSU (redundant)
All This For $189.00!!!

If you would like one of these machines before they are sold out... give TamSolutions a call at 801-796-1696... they only have about 17 or so left in stock!
The case fans in this machine are the same as the ones in the 4Us and are very loud... but they too can be very easily replaced with virtually silent fans.
The PSU fans are also much quieter than the ones that come with the 4U.
I have one of these machines as well... so if you have any questions... I would be glad to help.
Just thought I would share.

Damn!!! That is a sweet deal! The Mobo alone is $250 brand new at Newegg.
Killroy is offline  
post #640 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

I have one of these machines as well... so if you have any questions... I would be glad to help.
Just thought I would share.
Can I see the front of the unit?

Also, do you know the compatibility of that motherboard with VMware ESXi?
eric.exe is offline  
post #641 of 2364 Old 08-14-2012, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post

Can I see the front of the unit?
Also, do you know the compatibility of that motherboard with VMware ESXi?

Sure... It looks just like this... but with black drive bays.



Sorry... cant help with ESXi.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #642 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

How are you trying to install it? I have it on 4 boxes with W7 with no problems?
My method was Properties, update driver, point manually to the location where you extracted it. You have to do it for each and every card you have.

I couldn't get to that point, it must have been a bad iso because it kept asking for a driver during the initial installation. I copied over a different iso and it's working fine now.

Now to dig back through the posts and figure out which fans I can replace. These things are crazy loud!

EDIT: Are all 5 fans 80mm, or just the rear ones?

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is offline  
post #643 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggrich76 View Post

I couldn't get to that point, it must have been a bad iso because it kept asking for a driver during the initial installation. I copied over a different iso and it's working fine now.
Now to dig back through the posts and figure out which fans I can replace. These things are crazy loud!
EDIT: Are all 5 fans 80mm, or just the rear ones?

I used these: 80mm Arctic Cooling

All case fans are 80mm.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #644 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

If you are now on a waiting list for the new Supermicro 4Us and or contemplating if you really need 24 bays biggrin.gif
TamSolutions has a Supermicro 2U (12bay) as well.

Here are the specs:
Supermicro SAS826TQ
Supermicro X7SBE
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0Ghz
Kingston 4GB RAM
(1) Supermicro SAT2-MV8
(2) 800 watt PSU (redundant)
All This For $189.00!!!

If you would like one of these machines before they are sold out... give TamSolutions a call at 801-796-1696... they only have about 17 or so left in stock!
The case fans in this machine are the same as the ones in the 4Us and are very loud... but they too can be very easily replaced with virtually silent fans.
The PSU fans are also much quieter than the ones that come with the 4U.
I have one of these machines as well... so if you have any questions... I would be glad to help.
Just thought I would share.

pretty solid server case smile.gif, I saw one server at work before they sent to HQ for recycled( It should went to any liquidator company).
but..... case & PSU fans were loud!!!!!! . original PSU can be tamed with 2U PSU with thermal control fan smile.gif, just take the redundant PSU and replace with 2U non-redundant PSU
bima is offline  
post #645 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bima View Post

pretty solid server case smile.gif, I saw one server at work before they sent to HQ for recycled( It should went to any liquidator company).
but..... case & PSU fans were loud!!!!!! . original PSU can be tamed with 2U PSU with thermal control fan smile.gif, just take the redundant PSU and replace with 2U non-redundant PSU

These PSU fans are not that loud at all... when compared to the case fans. smile.gif For $20 you could swap out the case fans and have a very nice server...

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #646 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

I used these: 80mm Arctic CoolingAll case fans are 80mm.
I don't like those fans as much. They're not really PWM by themselves. They're designed to daisy-chain in-between the CPU fans and the motherboard. The idea being the fans would only run at the same amount as the processors. There's no way to connect them as just 4-pin PWM all on their own. Now, if you've got other 4-pin PWM fans and you WANT to set these up inline then, sure. But I'd prefer individual 4-pin PWM units.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #647 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

I don't like those fans as much. They're not really PWM by themselves. They're designed to daisy-chain in-between the CPU fans and the motherboard. The idea being the fans would only run at the same amount as the processors. There's no way to connect them as just 4-pin PWM all on their own. Now, if you've got other 4-pin PWM fans and you WANT to set these up inline then, sure. But I'd prefer individual 4-pin PWM units.

Yes they can be daisy chained to the CPU... but if you have 4 pin connectors on the mobo... you can connect these fans as individual PWM fans by themselves:


The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #648 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

These PSU fans are not that loud at all... when compared to the case fans. smile.gif For $20 you could swap out the case fans and have a very nice server...
Still loud when you plan to put in the office/living/bed room for me
bima is offline  
post #649 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bima View Post

Still loud when you plan to put in the office/living/bed room for me

True! But for a basement or garage... no problem!

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #650 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

True! But for a basement or garage... no problem!
I'll third the noise issue. Even with lots of efforts to quiet it down you're still going to end up with more noise than I think most people would tolerate around them. Especially spouses. While it's really tempting to have a beast like this, you really do need to have the right place to put it. It's big, heavy and a LOT louder than any sort of regular PC.

The upside is, once configured, you can put it somewhere out of the way. Provided you've got room and a shelf or rack capable of holding it. When you have this many drives in one place you DO NOT want to be keeping it on the floor. You've gotta get it up and away from dust, vibration or being hit by a vacuum cleaner. Drives are less fragile than in the past but they're still susceptible to heat and vibration or impact.

So if you don't already have a rack suitable for it you probably do not want one of these beasts... Otherwise you'll also have to make the argument for getting a rack and having space for it.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #651 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
 
ugotd8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Or a table. biggrin.gif
ugotd8 is offline  
post #652 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugotd8 View Post

Or a table. biggrin.gif

or a used metal tv table smile.gif, very sturdy. I have metal tv table with thick tempered glass ( bought on clearance 4 years ago).
I put my servers, and headless PCs( gone soon after finalizing VMs), and a big old APC UPS including 1U smart switch

this should be a temporary solution, the metal tv table is in living room,
bima is offline  
post #653 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 12:17 PM
Member
 
mexicanmike03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lackrack gentleman, lackrack http://wiki.eth-0.nl/index.php/LackRack. 10 Bucks and a little re-enforcement for 4u units and you are set.
mexicanmike03 is offline  
post #654 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mexicanmike03 View Post

Lackrack gentleman, lackrack http://wiki.eth-0.nl/index.php/LackRack. 10 Bucks and a little re-enforcement for 4u units and you are set.

hahha, I need to drive 2 hours for going to Ikea :|.... not fun...
bima is offline  
post #655 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

True! But for a basement or garage... no problem!

I do not have a basement, just a crawl space, and can not put in garage

impossible for me for 2 reasons:
1) summer is hot!!
2)) humidity is a silent killer
bima is offline  
post #656 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 01:51 PM
Member
 
mexicanmike03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Order online? I mean, shipping will cost just as much as the product, but hey, still cheaper than a rack.
mexicanmike03 is offline  
post #657 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by mexicanmike03 View Post

Order online? I mean, shipping will cost just as much as the product, but hey, still cheaper than a rack.
For what these beasts weight I'd never trust the crappy MDF glue-and-sawdust junk they tend to use for Ikea stuff. Yeah, it's clever hanging a router off a crappy end table, LOL and all that. But for something this heavy, with the potential for holding a considerable amount of data, I'd prefer something designed for the job. You do not want drives to fail because someone bumped against a piece of junk furniture and caused it to collapse.

As for alternative mounting: Show me your Rack.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #658 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

Yes they can be daisy chained to the CPU... but if you have 4 pin connectors on the mobo... you can connect these fans as individual PWM fans by themselves
Actually, you're right. The wiring wasn't immediately clear. They're wiring up the fans to the 4th PWM pin, but then they have a separate line for the pulse sensor (fan speed) which can be connected back into the CPU plug. So yes, they can be used standalone on a 4-pin header, it just didn't look that way at first glance. The cabling looks a bit ugly though. But they are nice and quiet. I've retrofitted them on both the case and the fanwall and it's a nice noise reduction.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #659 of 2364 Old 08-15-2012, 04:17 PM
Member
 
ugotd8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

For what these beasts weight I'd never trust the crappy MDF glue-and-sawdust junk they tend to use for Ikea stuff. Yeah, it's clever hanging a router off a crappy end table, LOL and all that. But for something this heavy, with the potential for holding a considerable amount of data, I'd prefer something designed for the job. You do not want drives to fail because someone bumped against a piece of junk furniture and caused it to collapse.
As for alternative mounting: Show me your Rack.

You want something sturdy for sure. Let's not forget HD vibration causing performance issues. See this thread for my own personal experience. :-)
ugotd8 is offline  
post #660 of 2364 Old 08-16-2012, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post

Also, do you know the compatibility of that motherboard with VMware ESXi?
From what little searching I've seen that board won't do VT-D, so no hardware pass-through in ESXi. That isn't to say that other aspects of ESXi wouldn't work, just not VT-d. But I didn't search exhaustively, just noted a few search results indicating problems with VT-d.
wkearney99 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off