Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 2269 Old 10-16-2012, 07:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
George Montemayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

That's what drills are for.wink.gif

I'm going to try and drill out all the rivets in the way within the next week or two. This will be my first time drilling through steel. What kind of oil lubricant should I use for the drill bit?
George Montemayor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 2269 Old 10-16-2012, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
If you're only drilling out a few rivets then you really don't need any special lubricant. High speed steel bits are the most common and the cheapest, but they dull the quickest. Chances are they'll be fine for drilling aluminum rivets. Otherwise, I'd recommend cobalt or other high quality bits like titanium for the job. You'll probably need a 1/8-inch bit, but check the actual rivet for the proper size.
captain_video is offline  
post #993 of 2269 Old 10-16-2012, 10:21 PM
Member
 
rekd0514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshaw88 View Post

Anyone have a suggestion for a 500w PSU than could fit (or at least come close to fitting) into a 2U?
I kicked around the idea of just kludging together a 500w PSU that I would just mount externally, or have it stick out of the top of the server. My 2U is out of sight, so it doesn't have to win any beauty contests.

http://www.seasonicusa.com/2u.htm

I would grab one of the gold rated ones on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seasonic-SS-400L2U-400W-80-Plus-Gold-EPS12V-2U-Server-Power-Supply-/200816537765?pt=US_Power_Supplies&hash=item2ec19930a5 $85
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seasonic-SS-500L2U-500W-80-Plus-Gold-EPS12V-2U-Server-Power-Supply-/200831290112?pt=US_Power_Supplies&hash=item2ec27a4b00 $101
rekd0514 is offline  
post #994 of 2269 Old 10-17-2012, 05:34 AM
Member
 
cshaw88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input
cshaw88 is offline  
post #995 of 2269 Old 10-17-2012, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

those are using 2U PSU standard size.

someone was complaining 2U PSU does not fit... since do not have 2U supermicro, I can not verify....

I use 2U PSU for previous AIC deal.
I measure my 4U micro server. 2U PSU should fit on 4U supermicro . I conclude that the 2U case length is shorten than 4U supermicro case
bima is offline  
post #996 of 2269 Old 10-22-2012, 01:15 AM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

True! But for a basement or garage... no problem!

My laundry room is about 45² ft, and has it's own air conditioning register. It is by far the coldest room in the house during summer. Even doing laundry a few times a week does not heat it up too much. This is where I'll place my rack. Still have to get (more) power and ethernet in there, but that's a smallish job for my electrical contractor.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #997 of 2269 Old 10-22-2012, 01:16 AM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z-95 View Post

Took some better pics with a real camera:

Nice.

What is the model of the rack? And would it be safe to stack a second one on top?
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #998 of 2269 Old 10-22-2012, 08:06 AM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just called; they have nothing at the moment. I sent an email and will be added to the waiting list.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #999 of 2269 Old 10-22-2012, 06:54 PM
Member
 
coolrunnings82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone needing a good PSU for these servers should check NewEgg's sale today. They're selling the Seasonic X750 for $99 shipped! That's the best price I've seen on it. I got mine at $120 and I have one running my server in this case. Best power supply I have ever had.
coolrunnings82 is offline  
post #1000 of 2269 Old 10-23-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

For those looking to find some extra AIC caddies: http://www.ebay.com/itm/AIC-N2-100-20131-Server-Hard-Drive-Caddy-Tray-Sled-RMC2E-/200813192430?pt=US_Drive_Bay_Caddies&hash=item2ec16624ee
I made a lower offer on 4 and it was accepted.

But a month later the seller tells me they couldn't find them (due to a move) and refunded my purchase. Bummer
wkearney99 is offline  
post #1001 of 2269 Old 10-23-2012, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Montemayor View Post

I'm going to try and drill out all the rivets in the way within the next week or two. This will be my first time drilling through steel. What kind of oil lubricant should I use for the drill bit?

You could get fancy if you want and go to the local hardware store and get a bottle of "tap oil" . If it is just a few small rivets I would cheat with some vegetable oil . DRILL SLOW !
flocko is offline  
post #1002 of 2269 Old 10-30-2012, 10:05 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Well, I pulled the trigger on one of the Supermicro 4U servers available on ebay currently, but got them without the trays. TAMS ships the servers in a strong box with excellent foam packaging. Got about 30 new trays off of ebay and newegg to finish it off with some spares.

Would like to thank the OP for making this public.

Now the time is coming to build it up and mod it a bit. I already have quiet Nexxus 80mm fans that I had from another project, so I will swap those in. Got a Corsair 850w PSU from newegg, 16Gb (4x4Gb) from ebay seller (turned out to be Kingston), and a pair of the 4219EE processors from Amazon (a no brainer upgrade at about $10 each even if I do end up doing software RAID). I need to get a couple HSF's for them. Also have a couple of 80G Intel SSD's for OS and possibly ZIL cache (not sure if I will do a ZFS flavor or WIndows/Flexraid).

I did try to order some replacement hard drive controllers, but did not do my homework sufficiently. I ended up ordering a couple 3ware 9550sx-12 controllers off ebay but they don't seem to support >2Tb drives ... a no go for me. So I will see what I can do with the stock hardware. I'm still not 100% positive the stock controllers will work with >2Tb drives, but we will see.

Then I have to start buying drives ... I have a few drives, including a 3Tb, that I can test with in the meantime.

Then ... to ultimately put it to use storing music and movies via ReQuest (which I also don't have yet ... but soon smile.gif)
AlphaG is offline  
post #1003 of 2269 Old 10-30-2012, 10:18 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

Well, I pulled the trigger on one of the Supermicro 4U servers available on ebay currently, but got them without the trays.

Is it one of the Supermicro SC846TQ units?
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #1004 of 2269 Old 10-30-2012, 10:21 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.lebowski View Post

Is it one of the Supermicro SC846TQ units?

Yes ...
AlphaG is offline  
post #1005 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

Got about 30 new trays off of ebay and newegg to finish it off with some spares.
Just curious, where did you find the drive trays and how much did they cost? I checked around and the cheapest I could find them was about $8 apiece. I figured it would cost me about $200 minimum for just the trays. The original server being offered was the same model with all trays included for only $50 more than the one you bought off ebay.

I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the Supermicro AOC-SAT2-MV8 cards that come with the server might support drives >2TB. The Supermicro website doesn't really specify this in the product details but I thought I read about it in a thread here that discusses SATA controllers.
captain_video is offline  
post #1006 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the Supermicro AOC-SAT2-MV8 cards that come with the server might support drives >2TB.
Also be aware you might not be able to get drivers for that card depending on what OS you're planning to run. I discovered ESXi 5 does not support the card. I replaced them with some IBM M1015 cards; better performance and current driver support. So be sure the controller itself is supported too.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #1007 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

Also be aware you might not be able to get drivers for that card depending on what OS you're planning to run. I discovered ESXi 5 does not support the card. I replaced them with some IBM M1015 cards; better performance and current driver support. So be sure the controller itself is supported too.
It should work fine with most Linux distributions as well as unRAID. If you're looking to use it with WHS or FlexRAID running in Windows newer than Win 2K you may be out of luck.
captain_video is offline  
post #1008 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 08:11 AM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

Also be aware you might not be able to get drivers for that card depending on what OS you're planning to run. I discovered ESXi 5 does not support the card. I replaced them with some IBM M1015 cards; better performance and current driver support. So be sure the controller itself is supported too.

It took me a few days to read through this thread, but yes, I understood that. I would prefer to virtualize now, not for any real need now, but for down the road when I'm tempted to put another computer for whatever reason in the "server room". To that end I might pick up those m1015's, but how do you get all 24 drives on m1015's? There are only two PCIe slots on this mobo ...
AlphaG is offline  
post #1009 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 08:14 AM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

It should work fine with most Linux distributions as well as unRAID. If you're looking to use it with WHS or FlexRAID running in Windows newer than Win 2K you may be out of luck.

While I'm not too old to learn a new OS (I've only toyed with Linux), I just don't have the time to put into it anymore. I would prefer to run the new Windows Server 2013 virtualized and FlexRAID for storage. So I will look again at the M1015 solution, but don't have a clue as to how I can get three of those adapters on this motherboard.
AlphaG is offline  
post #1010 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 08:22 AM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

Just curious, where did you find the drive trays and how much did they cost? I checked around and the cheapest I could find them was about $8 apiece. I figured it would cost me about $200 minimum for just the trays. The original server being offered was the same model with all trays included for only $50 more than the one you bought off ebay.
I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the Supermicro AOC-SAT2-MV8 cards that come with the server might support drives >2TB. The Supermicro website doesn't really specify this in the product details but I thought I read about it in a thread here that discusses SATA controllers.

I realize I paid more than everyone who saw this earlier, but I think it's still a good deal. Besides you all did the ground work already, I just spent a few days reading about it cool.gif

Drive sleds from newegg are 7.50 each. I got 16 on ebay for $4.75 each (lowest I've seen, but I cleared them out).
AlphaG is offline  
post #1011 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

I realize I paid more than everyone who saw this earlier, but I think it's still a good deal. Besides you all did the ground work already, I just spent a few days reading about it cool.gif
Drive sleds from newegg are 7.50 each. I got 16 on ebay for $4.75 each (lowest I've seen, but I cleared them out).
Which drive trays did you get? Have you tested them to make sure they fit? The Supermicro website lists them as MCP-220-00024-0B for the SC846TQ-R900B chassis. Newegg doesn't list this model on their website.
captain_video is offline  
post #1012 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 01:39 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I do not have the Newegg drive trays yet, but the ones from ebay fit physically. I have not installed a drive yet though.

edit ...

Woops ... the drive trays I ordered from newegg are incorrect. They seem to be the fixed drive trays, not useful. The ones I got from ebay are MCP-20-00001 so I'm not sure even these will work, but you are right, they are not the ones listed on the SM website for this server. Gotta head off the newegg order to cancel. mad.gif
AlphaG is offline  
post #1013 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 05:27 PM
Member
 
mexicanmike03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The super micro cards that come with the server do in fact support 3TB drives. I am currently running one fully populated in unraid 5.0beta for a useable 60TB.
mexicanmike03 is offline  
post #1014 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 05:37 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

I do not have the Newegg drive trays yet, but the ones from ebay fit physically. I have not installed a drive yet though.
edit ...
Woops ... the drive trays I ordered from newegg are incorrect. They seem to be the fixed drive trays, not useful. The ones I got from ebay are MCP-20-00001 so I'm not sure even these will work, but you are right, they are not the ones listed on the SM website for this server. Gotta head off the newegg order to cancel. mad.gif

The google shows this result when searching your part number. Can you confirm CA-MCP221 is on the tray somewhere?
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #1015 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

It took me a few days to read through this thread, but yes, I understood that. I would prefer to virtualize now, not for any real need now, but for down the road when I'm tempted to put another computer for whatever reason in the "server room". To that end I might pick up those m1015's, but how do you get all 24 drives on m1015's? There are only two PCIe slots on this mobo ...

if you bought from ebay ( opteron version of 4U supermicro),the motherboard only support pci-express 1.X
m1015 (pci express 2.X) supports 6G sata. I doubtly M1015 would give a boost performance compared with SAT2-MV8 (PCI-X).

I tried IR M1015 , the card did not detect properly, and switched back to SAT2-MV8
bima is offline  
post #1016 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
bima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mexicanmike03 View Post

The super micro cards that come with the server do in fact support 3TB drives. I am currently running one fully populated in unraid 5.0beta for a useable 60TB.
ditto, tested with seagate 3T drive ...

pretty old card but support 3T drive...
bima is offline  
post #1017 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 07:55 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.lebowski View Post

The google shows this result when searching your part number. Can you confirm CA-MCP221 is on the tray somewhere?

I do not know what that part number refers to, but there is a sticker inside the dummy trays that says MCP-220-00001-01. The plastic trays themselves have another part number imprinted on the bottom.

d1b77ca465e47c015f536d907b85dea8.jpg

658088d76ede75d6357d57503661efa6.jpg
AlphaG is offline  
post #1018 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaG View Post

It took me a few days to read through this thread, but yes, I understood that. I would prefer to virtualize now, not for any real need now, but for down the road when I'm tempted to put another computer for whatever reason in the "server room". To that end I might pick up those m1015's, but how do you get all 24 drives on m1015's? There are only two PCIe slots on this mobo ...
I have three controllers (8 drives x 3 controllers = 24 drives). I replaced the motherboard with one that had more x8 PCIe slots. But you could also address more drives off a SAS controller with a SAS expander, but be careful as not all controllers and expanders play nice with each other.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #1019 of 2269 Old 10-31-2012, 08:17 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

I have three controllers (8 drives x 3 controllers = 24 drives). I replaced the motherboard with one that had more x8 PCIe slots. But you could also address more drives off a SAS controller with a SAS expander, but be careful as not all controllers and expanders play nice with each other.

Well, changing out the controllers AND the motherboard would perhaps let me virtualize, but I am going to go with what I already have, especially with the indications above that the SAT2-MV8's will support 3Tb drives. The more I modify the already great deal of a system, the less of a value it becomes.

Well, I just placed my first order for the drives that will go into this system! A couple of 3Tb Western Digital Red's that are on Amazon for $164 each. Instead of pulling one of my working drives out of my desktop for testing, I'll wait for these drives to get here to make sure everything works.
AlphaG is offline  
post #1020 of 2269 Old 11-01-2012, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
If you start replacing motherboards and controllers you might as well just buy a brand new Norco 4224 and build a system from scratch. The best part of this deal was that you got a fully functional server that can support 24 drives. Aside from the recommended modifications to the chassis, all you needed to do was populate it with hard drives and install your OS to be up and running. Replacing major componenrts defeats the entire purpose and nullifies any savings.
GusGus748s likes this.
captain_video is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off