Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 2270 Old 05-14-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobber8742 View Post

Just got my email for availability. I was put on the waitlist April 1. They even reduced the price from $349.99 to $319.99 until the end of May. Only downside is they do not have rail kits available. Anyone no if other rail kits can be used on these machines? I'm new to servers, so I don't know if they are a standard thing or if they are different for each machine.

The rails for these servers are part number MCP-290-00057-0N and can be found for around $70.00 new. Get the correct rails, they're solidly built and don't require cage nuts or screws to install.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 2270 Old 05-14-2013, 08:24 PM
Member
 
smurfman2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, after many months of waiting I am finally officially in the club and made my order today.

Thanks to everyone on this thread. There is a wealth of good questions and knowledgeable and experienced answers in here.

So I thought a well framed answer to the following power efficiency MOD questions would be helpful to us all new and old.

1. Existing Power Supply is loud and inefficient for our purposes: So with an up front detailed MOD of this thread in the first post it is assumed that you will reduce and improve efficiency. The efficiency improvements are not highlighted in the MOD just the "how to" part. Is 750W for a 24 drive config the correct target? Also, what is anyone's experience in payback on such a MOD? There is random data in the thread, but a targeted response to this question might be helpful as a summary.

2. Also, I read some things regarding RAM configuration: What is the best RAM config for a simple NAS with this box with the goal of reducing power consumption? Is it worth thinking about?

3. I think the above are the two primary power efficiency MODs. Are there any more worth mentioning?

4. I think that is always good to compare current technology. I know this is a deal and solid server hardware. Is there a solution that really reduces power as far as CPU/MB. My guess is probably not since if you have 24 drives what is the point.
smurfman2002 is offline  
post #1443 of 2270 Old 05-14-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfman2002 View Post

Well, after many months of waiting I am finally officially in the club and made my order today.

Thanks to everyone on this thread. There is a wealth of good questions and knowledgeable and experienced answers in here.

So I thought a well framed answer to the following power efficiency MOD questions would be helpful to us all new and old.

1. Existing Power Supply is loud and inefficient for our purposes: So with an up front detailed MOD of this thread in the first post it is assumed that you will reduce and improve efficiency. The efficiency improvements are not highlighted in the MOD just the "how to" part. Is 750W for a 24 drive config the correct target? Also, what is anyone's experience in payback on such a MOD? There is random data in the thread, but a targeted response to this question might be helpful as a summary.

2. Also, I read some things regarding RAM configuration: What is the best RAM config for a simple NAS with this box with the goal of reducing power consumption? Is it worth thinking about?

3. I think the above are the two primary power efficiency MODs. Are there any more worth mentioning?

4. I think that is always good to compare current technology. I know this is a deal and solid server hardware. Is there a solution that really reduces power as far as CPU/MB. My guess is probably not since if you have 24 drives what is the point.

If it helps - I'm using a 650watt Antec Tripower with 24 drives, a Xeon E5606, and 16GB RAM with no issues.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #1444 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

The rails for these servers are part number MCP-290-00058-0N and can be found for around $70.00 new. Get the correct rails, they're solidly built and don't require cage nuts or screws to install.

That's great...will these rails install with square or round-holes in the rack?
AVTechMan is offline  
post #1445 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 06:18 AM
Member
 
smurfman2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't get the luck intel board. I have the AMD Opteron 2346HE.

Do you know what your power consumption was before and after your MOD?
smurfman2002 is offline  
post #1446 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVTechMan View Post

That's great...will these rails install with square or round-holes in the rack?

Server racks should always have square holes, which is what these will fit.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #1447 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 01:17 PM
Member
 
stl drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just offered the same server. How are the performanceon these AMD Opteron setups. I will be using it as a storage server.
stl drifter is offline  
post #1448 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 01:23 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stl drifter View Post

I was just offered the same server. How are the performanceon these AMD Opteron setups. I will be using it as a storage server.

For storage only, it's overkill. Too many watts being consumed by the processor, unnecessary RAM, etc.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #1449 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Yeah, you could use a CPU 1/4 the speed and power to just serve just as a media storage.
Killroy is offline  
post #1450 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 02:13 PM
Member
 
stl drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about running some VM's on it.
stl drifter is offline  
post #1451 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 02:36 PM
Member
 
ninja6o4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stl drifter View Post

What about running some VM's on it.
I intend to run VM's on mine. VMs by nature don't suck a lot of resources on their own - it depends on what you intend on doing with said VMs.

I ordered some more ram and 2 faster cpus (2423 HE 6-cores) off ebay and will be juicing this badboy up. I'll be running Plex, and other file processing apps, as well my own domain network at home. Even then I won't use it all.
ninja6o4 is offline  
post #1452 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 02:46 PM
Member
 
stl drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im looking to do the same. Are these dual cpu motherboards with just 1 cpu installed?
stl drifter is offline  
post #1453 of 2270 Old 05-15-2013, 02:56 PM
Member
 
stl drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nevermind , I just googled it.rolleyes.gif
stl drifter is offline  
post #1454 of 2270 Old 05-16-2013, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Well, got the email back from Andy earlier and my server is on the way! Can't wait to put this unit to work! biggrin.gif
AVTechMan is offline  
post #1455 of 2270 Old 05-16-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Mine too!
Killroy is offline  
post #1456 of 2270 Old 05-17-2013, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
davidtt485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
One question to the people who are getting them now, around what time did you put your name on the list, i have been waiting a while and i saw a post earlier that makes me believe i was skipped over frown.gif
davidtt485 is offline  
post #1457 of 2270 Old 05-17-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtt485 View Post

One question to the people who are getting them now, around what time did you put your name on the list, i have been waiting a while and i saw a post earlier that makes me believe i was skipped over frown.gif

I was added on 2/12 for this round.
Killroy is offline  
post #1458 of 2270 Old 05-17-2013, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I was added around early March.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #1459 of 2270 Old 05-17-2013, 11:40 AM
Member
 
dubboxster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What kind of PSU are you going to replace with ? Thanks.
dubboxster is offline  
post #1460 of 2270 Old 05-18-2013, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
After studying some of the older posts on this thread, I listened to the fan sound sample that was given for the PSU's. The stock 900w PWS-902-1R was obviously the loudest. My case of course will come with that PSU. I looked around and saw that there's the SM PWS-920P-1R which is supposed to be more energy efficient and quieter. Has anyone tried that PSU?

I'm not sure what the benefit of having a redundant PSU is, but I am going to find out via research.

I also have another question....since I plan to install WS2012E, would I need to find drivers for the hardware or what?
AVTechMan is offline  
post #1461 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Thank you UPS for not destroying my new case...


Gotta love the extra thick packing foam.


They still have the factory plastic on the handles...were these things ever used before?


No dust anywhere.


These are a lot less cluttered than the AIC cases from the first batch.


All the MV8 cards are version 3 so they may not even need driver updates for 3TB+ drives.
Killroy is offline  
post #1462 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Wednesday ....hurry up UPS!!
AVTechMan is offline  
post #1463 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
OK... I think I am being stupid but what's the BIOS and boot option keys for this mobo? I tried almost every single F-key. The manual is not very informative.
Killroy is offline  
post #1464 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

OK... I think I am being stupid but what's the BIOS and boot option keys for this mobo? I tried almost every single F-key. The manual is not very informative.

Try DEL.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #1465 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

Try DEL.

Thanks. I will try that in the morning. I thought I tried it but maybe I did ESC.

Any problems installing W7 from USB Flash drive?

Now I have to order a HX850 to replace these jet engines of PSUs. Can't forget those fans either.
Killroy is offline  
post #1466 of 2270 Old 05-20-2013, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Thanks. I will try that in the morning. I thought I tried it but maybe I did ESC.

Any problems installing W7 from USB Flash drive?

Now I have to order a HX850 to replace these jet engines of PSUs. Can't forget those fans either.

I only use USB for installs now, much faster :-)

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #1467 of 2270 Old 05-21-2013, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Jobber8742's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this is going to be going basically in a utility room, so noise will not be a real factor for me. Are there any mods that people deem necessary to this machine if noise is not an issue?
Jobber8742 is offline  
post #1468 of 2270 Old 05-21-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobber8742 View Post

So this is going to be going basically in a utility room, so noise will not be a real factor for me. Are there any mods that people deem necessary to this machine if noise is not an issue?

If noise is NOT an issue then they come pretty much ready to go. But don't under estimate the noise these things make. You may think that your utility room is far enough away to not hear them but you may change your mind when you turn them on. Unless you have worked with these types of servers before you really can't imagine how loud they are. So don't be surprised if you find yourself modding them anyways.

The only mod I would do if noise was NOT an issue would be the PSU. Not because of the noise but due to the energy efficiency of having a single 850W over two 920s.

I just spent 45 minutes installing W7 and I have a splitting headache from the oscillating fans sitting next to this thing.
Xeriser likes this.
Killroy is offline  
post #1469 of 2270 Old 05-21-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

If noise is NOT an issue then they come pretty much ready to go. But don't under estimate the noise these things make. You may think that your utility room is far enough away to not hear them but you may change your mind when you turn them on. Unless you have worked with these types of servers before you really can't imagine how loud they are. So don't be surprised if you find yourself modding them anyways.

The only mod I would do if noise was NOT an issue would be the PSU. Not because of the noise but due to the energy efficiency of having a single 850W over two 920s.

I just spent 45 minutes installing W7 and I have a splitting headache from the oscillating fans sitting next to this thing.


The bolded really can't be stated enough. I had this installed in our basement in a closet off of the guest room. And I could hear those high-pitched whirring beasts from upstairs, even while watching TV. It was really the pitch as much as the pure db level.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #1470 of 2270 Old 05-21-2013, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
BTW, anyone have the exact part number for the air shroud? Mine did not come with one and there seems to be several listed here but none seem to be for the SC846: http://www.avadirect.com/Chassis-Air-Shrouds

EDIT - Is it the MCP-310-48003-0N?
Killroy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off