Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 06:54 AM
Member
 
huitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post


Wow, that is one overcrowded case. I hope you have all of the vertically mounted fans blowing air in the same direction. wink.gif The top fans look like they'd be overkill and will likely disrupt any laminar airflow that runs from front to back.

FWIW, I've got my unRAID server set up so that the drives spin down after extended periods. My internal server temps have dropped considerably, as have the individual drive temps. I'm only using the five case fans and a single CPU cooler. I never saw the need to go with a dual CPU setup for my situation since I'm only using it as a media server. There's a lag time involved when accessing drives that have spun down, but the whole thing runs much cooler than it did initially to the point where I'm thinking about going back to the Arctic Cooling fans I had installed as my first upgrade. The fans I'm using now are still noisier than I'd like.

 

the northbridge and the controller cards get pretty hot, so those fan definately help.  the air flow moves from the back of the case to the front and bigger fans blow down against the controller card and northbridge.

 

here is another picture of it all racked up:

huitin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
If you've got the air flow moving from back to front then you've got it backwards. The case is designed to draw air through the front of the case so it flows between the hard drives and exhausts out the rear of the chassis. If you're trying to blow it from the back then you're trying to thread the needle with the air flow by forcing it through the small slits in the backplane. You'll get minimal airflow between the hard drives using your setup, resulting in higher drive temps. If you reverse the direction of the airflow you shouldn't need the extra fans.
captain_video is online now  
post #2163 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 08:53 AM
Member
 
huitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

that's incorrect, when i received the server, the fan were setup directly like that.  

 

It was design to draw from back to front as with all the data center the cold air comes back the back to the front.

huitin is offline  
post #2164 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
rc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 44
When I received the 24 bay (and the 12 bay), the fans were set up to draw air from the front and exhaust through the back.
rc05 is offline  
post #2165 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by huitin View Post

that's incorrect, when i received the server, the fan were setup directly like that.  

It was design to draw from back to front as with all the data center the cold air comes back the back to the front.

You're wrong about this:
  • Airflow in a DC with HOT/COLD containment aisles is designed to go front to back.
  • We use Supermicro as our hardware platform. Without fail the fans in all the chassis are shipped blowing front to back.
  • If you received a Supermicro server with the fans blowing back to front, someone reversed the fans.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #2166 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by huitin View Post

that's incorrect, when i received the server, the fan were setup directly like that.  

It was design to draw from back to front as with all the data center the cold air comes back the back to the front.
As indicated by others, if you received your server in this configuration the fans were installed incorrectly. You'll never get sufficient cooling air to the drives by blowing air at a solid wall with small slits in it. By drawing air from behind it pulls air through the front and in between each of the drive bays for maximum cooling.

To see what I'm talking about, shut down the server and remove all of the drives. Fire it back up and hold a piece of paper in front of the open drive bays. Chances are the paper will barely move. Now shut it down and reinstall the fans so they pull air from the front to the back and repeat the experiment. The paper should get sucked up against the drive bays with far greater force as the fans are now creating a vacuum that will draw air through the slits in the backplane with much greater force. The vast majority of the air blown against the backplane from the rear will be deflected by the backplane and won't provide sufficient cooling for the drives.
captain_video is online now  
post #2167 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 11:04 AM
Member
 
claymca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
claymca is offline  
post #2168 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymca View Post

http://www.ebay.com/itm/400629354785?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Just won the auction above.
I hate to rain on your parade, but that thing looks pretty old. Eight drive bays is pretty skimpy for a server. The SATA controllers are only PCI, which means they're probably only SATA 1. The latest drives are up to SATA 3. The CPUs are only single core. You would have been better off using a standard mid tower case and an inexpensive motherboard with eight SATA ports if you only need eight drives.

In other words, you got what you paid for with a hefty shipping bill.
captain_video is online now  
post #2169 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 11:46 AM
Member
 
MrBostn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never seen a data center that has warm air in the front and cold on the back. I've only been to three different DCs in my life but all three had cold air isles where the fronts of the server faced the cold isle,
MrBostn is offline  
post #2170 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 12:48 PM
Member
 
claymca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I hate to rain on your parade, but that thing looks pretty old. Eight drive bays is pretty skimpy for a server. The SATA controllers are only PCI, which means they're probably only SATA 1. The latest drives are up to SATA 3. The CPUs are only single core. You would have been better off using a standard mid tower case and an inexpensive motherboard with eight SATA ports if you only need eight drives.

In other words, you got what you paid for with a hefty shipping bill.

Thanks for the reply. I will be using as a media server for the house. 8 drive bays is plenty for my home use. 8 x 2TB = approx 16GB minus the actual usable GB's.

claymca is offline  
post #2171 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
scline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by huitin View Post
 

you can actually get a newer powersupply, which the fan are quieter and plus it's energy efficent

 

PWS-920P-1R 920W high-efficiency (94%+) power supply with PMBus - OEM

 

Hrm I didn't know that and would love to get one but not for $150+ :o

Ebay does not have them for under 100. 1 power supply = 1/2 the cost of the server. I will keep an eye out for it if it goes down but for now I am happy with the free hack :]

scline is offline  
post #2172 of 2269 Old 12-26-2013, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
rc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Interesting teardown. Hopefully it doesn't overheat eek.gif. I would love to quiet down the PSUs.
rc05 is offline  
post #2173 of 2269 Old 12-27-2013, 06:56 PM
Member
 
armedmetallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm actually gong back to page 1 to read thru the gold that is this thread... in the meanwhile. a question..

My plan for this is to gut it out and use it as a JBOD case. I have an Expander and a standard PSU...

my question is about that back window... for the people that swapped it out, are you able to mount the standard PSU by using the screws? since the psu is laying on it's side, i'm assuming there isn't much force exerted on the window?

I'm not a fan of the double sided tape.
armedmetallica is offline  
post #2174 of 2269 Old 12-27-2013, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
scline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just got this in the rack, instead of getting rails (cant seem to find them for a decent price) I went with this http://www.ebay.com/itm/261302658925 for about $30. Working great so far :)

 

 

scline is offline  
post #2175 of 2269 Old 12-28-2013, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
scline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scline View Post
 

 

Hrm I didn't know that and would love to get one but not for $150+ :o

Ebay does not have them for under 100. 1 power supply = 1/2 the cost of the server. I will keep an eye out for it if it goes down but for now I am happy with the free hack :]

 

Bit the bullet and just purchased one :(

 

It was quiet for about 30-40 minutes then ramped up with my modifications it was not "loud" but the damn whine killed it. Ill report how the new ones sound when they come in.

scline is offline  
post #2176 of 2269 Old 12-28-2013, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by armedmetallica View Post

I'm not a fan of the double sided tape.
Me either. That's why I used a Velcro pad. You can still remove the PSU fairly easy and it's held securely in place by the Velcro. Home Depot sells Velcro in strips or rectangular pads of various sizes.
captain_video is online now  
post #2177 of 2269 Old 12-28-2013, 07:01 AM
Member
 
armedmetallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

Me either. That's why I used a Velcro pad. You can still remove the PSU fairly easy and it's held securely in place by the Velcro. Home Depot sells Velcro in strips or rectangular pads of various sizes.

thanks - i was thinking that or the velcro/Command ones. use them around the house to hang pictures.
armedmetallica is offline  
post #2178 of 2269 Old 12-29-2013, 11:42 AM
Member
 
armedmetallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for the folks recabling the newer version of this...

I noticed someone posted a pict (http://www.avsforum.com/t/1412640/are-you-looking-for-a-less-expensive-norco-4220-4224-alternative/450#post_22274062)

that almost seems like they numbered the drive bays from the bottom up. but the numbering of the backplane shows it going on the bottom, left to right.

is that a problem? do people care about locations ?

i'm parting this out and selling all the original components; if anyone is interested in anything from the insides, please let me know.
armedmetallica is offline  
post #2179 of 2269 Old 12-30-2013, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by scline View Post

Just got this in the rack, instead of getting rails (cant seem to find them for a decent price) I went with this http://www.ebay.com/itm/261302658925 for about $30. Working great so far smile.gif








I home-made similar L braces for many of my heavier components.
jbcain is offline  
post #2180 of 2269 Old 12-30-2013, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcain View Post

I have the following extras from my amd supermicro upgrade:

(4) 2gb matching lot of ram Kingston KVR667D2D4P5/2G

(2) AMD 2346 quad core 1.8ghz cpu's with matching numbers

(1) AMD 2346 quad core 1.8ghz cpu

if anybody is interested, PM me. I'll be putting them on ebay next weekend if no one here takes them.


Still have all this sitting around! PM me... cheap upgrade!

This is why I don't need the quad cores and ram anymore, wink.gif ! Real snappy SOB now!

jbcain is offline  
post #2181 of 2269 Old 12-30-2013, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Spec4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by scline View Post

Just got this in the rack, instead of getting rails (cant seem to find them for a decent price) I went with this http://www.ebay.com/itm/261302658925 for about $30. Working great so far smile.gif



Hey cool idea and if you put some Paste wax on those brackets between the two surfaces it will lessen the friction and make slide in and out real nice. I use this trick on my table saw to keep the fence sliding without drag.
Spec4 is offline  
post #2182 of 2269 Old 12-31-2013, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
tallnerd1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am thinking of ditching the Mobo/CPU that came with the SuperMicro Case and transplant my gaming rig parts into it. My question is will the case accept a standard size ATX Mobo or do I need to drill holes and such for the mounts?
tallnerd1985 is offline  
post #2183 of 2269 Old 12-31-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The case should accept a full ATX motherboard with no modifications. The only thing you might have to do is either install additional standoffs or relocate some of the ones that are already there to ensure they line up with the holes on the motherboard. I pulled the Supermicro board and installed my own microATX board that I had been using in my unRAID server.
captain_video is online now  
post #2184 of 2269 Old 12-31-2013, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

The case should accept a full ATX motherboard with no modifications. The only thing you might have to do is either install additional standoffs or relocate some of the ones that are already there to ensure they line up with the holes on the motherboard. I pulled the Supermicro board and installed my own microATX board that I had been using in my unRAID server.

I've thought on the idea of transferring the microATX boards myself to use in one of the SM servers I have...but then is the problem in attaching the SATA ports to the backplane, unless I can get one of the SAS cards with the SATA breakout cables.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #2185 of 2269 Old 01-02-2014, 07:38 AM
Member
 
huitin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

the ECC memory will help if you plan to leave it up 24x7

huitin is offline  
post #2186 of 2269 Old 01-02-2014, 11:51 PM
Newbie
 
bnevets27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried a heatsink like the ones bellow?

bnevets27 is offline  
post #2187 of 2269 Old 01-03-2014, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnevets27 View Post

Has anyone tried a heatsink like the ones bellow?



That looks like a Mac Pro G5 heatsink, doubt it would work.
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #2188 of 2269 Old 01-04-2014, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
bnevets27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanhdtv View Post

That looks like a Mac Pro G5 heatsink, doubt it would work.
The first one is for a Mac Pro. Why wouldn't it work?
bnevets27 is offline  
post #2189 of 2269 Old 01-04-2014, 02:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnevets27 View Post

The first one is for a Mac Pro. Why wouldn't it work?

I'm not sure if you could get the thing mounted to a PC motherboard, but if you could, and it was oriented properly, I'd think it would work really great in a 4U case with horizontal airflow.

If I had a signature, this is where it would be.
ajhieb is online now  
post #2190 of 2269 Old 01-04-2014, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
bnevets27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post

I'm not sure if you could get the thing mounted to a PC motherboard, but if you could, and it was oriented properly, I'd think it would work really great in a 4U case with horizontal airflow.

That's what I was referring to (mounting it in a 4U), seeing as that's what the majority of people in this thread are using. It's deigned for a LGA771 socket so it's not meant for desktop PC's (LGA775). It's silent and I would think it would provide really good cooling. I don't have any plans to buy one at the current point in time as I'm still fully stock (rear fans and power supplies). But if I go the silent route in the future these looks promising. Was just curious if anyone had tried.
bnevets27 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off