Are You Looking For A Less Expensive Norco 4220 / 4224 Alternative? - Page 78 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2335 Old 10-09-2014, 08:30 AM
Member
 
onyxbfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
Understood. I was using NAS in the generic sense, not specifically something like a Synology or Netgear ReadyNAS. I should have said a separate storage server for backups.

I have a Dell PERC H700 and a Dell PERC H310 I haven't flashed or installed yet. Both have mini-SAS SFF8087 connections. I have an older Dell PE2900 server that I'm playing with. I'll probably start off with it, and eventually build another server and put the 2900 to use as a backup machine.

I'm just considering options at this point.
Morning All,

Since the Supermicro 4U 24Bay cases from Tamsolutions are NLA. Some people love their Norcos and some after a great deal of trial and tribulations love them. Are there any other cases besides Norco that people are using? I've seen some of the X-cases. They seem to have better build quality but they are pricey when you factor in S/H from overseas.

Thanks in advance.
onyxbfly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2335 Old 10-09-2014, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,104
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
Understood. I was using NAS in the generic sense, not specifically something like a Synology or Netgear ReadyNAS. I should have said a separate storage server for backups.

I have a Dell PERC H700 and a Dell PERC H310 I haven't flashed or installed yet. Both have mini-SAS SFF8087 connections. I have an older Dell PE2900 server that I'm playing with. I'll probably start off with it, and eventually build another server and put the 2900 to use as a backup machine.

I'm just considering options at this point.
I think it's easier to build in a normal chassis, whether that be normal desktop style or server style, because you need a mobo, CPU, RAM, etc.... These are more add on cases. A great deal for that, but not really a stand alone server solution without serious mods. The original products in this thread or something like those make more sense. But again, I did not go that route because I wanted modern hardware. I would certainly recommend the Norco 4220 and modern and affordable consumer level hardware having done that a few times now. In addition to mine, I've built about 5 more like it for other members and they all seem to fit job well. I know a few of the regulars in my server thread have followed the same path and are happy also.
onyxbfly likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2313 of 2335 Old 10-10-2014, 06:25 AM
Member
 
onyxbfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I think it's easier to build in a normal chassis, whether that be normal desktop style or server style, because you need a mobo, CPU, RAM, etc.... These are more add on cases. A great deal for that, but not really a stand alone server solution without serious mods. The original products in this thread or something like those make more sense. But again, I did not go that route because I wanted modern hardware. I would certainly recommend the Norco 4220 and modern and affordable consumer level hardware having done that a few times now. In addition to mine, I've built about 5 more like it for other members and they all seem to fit job well. I know a few of the regulars in my server thread have followed the same path and are happy also.

Thanks for the info. I'll be looking at the Norco when its time to pull the trigger!!!!
onyxbfly is offline  
post #2314 of 2335 Old 10-10-2014, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Take a look at the Rosewill server cases if you are looking for a Server Style chassis on the cheap. They are good quality cases.

I opted for the RSV-L4500. Great starter case. I didn't think I would need hot swap cages at first, otherwise I would have opted for the 4411. They now have a 4412, and can't seem to readily find the differences.

Anyhow, I've been populating the Rosewill case with Norco Hot swap bays as I go. Eventually I'll take the plunge to a Norco case, but it'll be a while before I get to that point.

Just an option to consider
onyxbfly likes this.

wiley165 is offline  
post #2315 of 2335 Old 10-10-2014, 08:10 PM
Member
 
onyxbfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiley165 View Post
Take a look at the Rosewill server cases if you are looking for a Server Style chassis on the cheap. They are good quality cases.

I opted for the RSV-L4500. Great starter case. I didn't think I would need hot swap cages at first, otherwise I would have opted for the 4411. They now have a 4412, and can't seem to readily find the differences.

Anyhow, I've been populating the Rosewill case with Norco Hot swap bays as I go. Eventually I'll take the plunge to a Norco case, but it'll be a while before I get to that point.

Just an option to consider

Thanks for the the heads up. The Rosewills look great but I would be SOL since I currently have 12 drives that I have data on. The next step up would be a 16 bay case or a add on case like Mfusic is researching. I think the best thing that I can do is get the biggest case I can and wk my way from there. Then again when its time to buying parts etc then the wallet has strong affect on things. I can aim for a Norco but if I have Rosewill money....you know the rest! Thanks once again.
onyxbfly is offline  
post #2316 of 2335 Old 10-16-2014, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
ja00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those looking for rails, I have 2 sets that will fit the SC846 chassis. PM me for pricing if interested. Thanks.
ja00 is offline  
post #2317 of 2335 Old 10-16-2014, 07:25 PM
Member
 
AlphaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally getting around to configuring my Supermicro storage server. I have been testing out different NAS software solutions going from FlexRAID to UnRAID to FreeNAS. DDR2 ECC memory has come down in price so I picked up 64Gb in 4Gb modules. I already had one four DIMM set but got the other three (48Gb) for $120 on eBay.

Problem is the board slows the memory down and I get a lot of ECC errors if I populate all slots. It's fine with all but four slots filled. I can't say for sure if there is a bad DIMM but this does not seem to be the case. I am running memtest on the new DIMM's one set at a time until I sort it out.

Anyone else fill all memory slots and have no issues?
AlphaG is offline  
post #2318 of 2335 Old 10-21-2014, 08:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,104
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 999
I got my case in. It looks nice. For the $$ it's a deal for sure. I will try to hook it up soon, my basement is a mess. Building wifey a closet out of MDF, and painting floor in the unfinished side. I have tools and speaker parts all over the place... Taking up my PC building workbench. I will need to finish my current project and clean up the mess before I can start taking apart my server. I did just buy another 4TB drive yesterday for $135 shipped free on the egg...

So I have a few of those and a few 3TB's to add once I get things running.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2319 of 2335 Old 10-21-2014, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
NNate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I got my case in. It looks nice. For the $$ it's a deal for sure. I will try to hook it up soon, my basement is a mess. Building wifey a closet out of MDF, and painting floor in the unfinished side. I have tools and speaker parts all over the place... Taking up my PC building workbench. I will need to finish my current project and clean up the mess before I can start taking apart my server. I did just buy another 4TB drive yesterday for $135 shipped free on the egg...

So I have a few of those and a few 3TB's to add once I get things running.
Sweet, post pics when you get your new case integrated.
NNate is offline  
post #2320 of 2335 Old 10-21-2014, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
davidtt485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have my expander from the case connected to an m1015 and it works great so far i cant wait to start filling it up.
davidtt485 is offline  
post #2321 of 2335 Old 10-31-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,104
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 999
For those following or want to see I set up the new expansion chassis I bought on ebay and posted about it here: Mfusick's How to build an affordable 30TB Flexraid media server: Information Requested.!


I would say that for the short money these expansion chassis cost they are a great value. Also the SAS expanders too, for a DIY case project.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #2322 of 2335 Old 11-10-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
onyxbfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja00 View Post
For those looking for rails, I have 2 sets that will fit the SC846 chassis. PM me for pricing if interested. Thanks.
Interested. YGPM.
onyxbfly is offline  
post #2323 of 2335 Old 11-10-2014, 06:42 PM
Member
 
thomps33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just saw this thread. I would have picked up 2 of those suckers... that's dirt cheap! I'll have to keep on watching ebay...

Is anybody aware of a suitable alternative?

Last edited by thomps33; 11-10-2014 at 06:52 PM.
thomps33 is offline  
post #2324 of 2335 Old 11-10-2014, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Years ago it seems (around 2008 I believe), I acquired a failed telecom company's assets. Among them were a few gems. Like these..



There were 8 of these 2U chassis (with 12 hotswap bays each) in the company's warehouse, and a whole bunch of 1U chassis. Once I did the costing for the whole thing, I realized, these things costed me less than $20/piece. I added SAS expander boards to these, and these have been humming along amazingly.
ajhieb likes this.
kapone is offline  
post #2325 of 2335 Old 11-10-2014, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Aryn Ravenlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapone View Post
Years ago it seems (around 2008 I believe), I acquired a failed telecom company's assets. Among them were a few gems. Like these..



There were 8 of these 2U chassis (with 12 hotswap bays each) in the company's warehouse, and a whole bunch of 1U chassis. Once I did the costing for the whole thing, I realized, these things costed me less than $20/piece. I added SAS expander boards to these, and these have been humming along amazingly.
Wow. THe things I would do if I had that sort of data centre capability.
Aryn Ravenlocke is online now  
post #2326 of 2335 Old 11-10-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryn Ravenlocke View Post
Wow. THe things I would do if I had that sort of data centre capability.
lol. I think you're getting by. Those SE3016 chassis are a real good buy as well, and lately they have become dirt cheap.
kapone is offline  
post #2327 of 2335 Old 11-11-2014, 07:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,104
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Just loud. Stupidly annoying loud. I'll put a stop to that when I get back from FL.
Mfusick is offline  
post #2328 of 2335 Old 11-11-2014, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
ja00's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyxbfly View Post
Interested. YGPM.
Apologies. But apparently I can only send PMs to certain members due to my limited posts. For those interested in the rails please PM me again with your email so I can respond for now. Thanks.
ja00 is offline  
post #2329 of 2335 Old 11-12-2014, 07:04 AM
Member
 
onyxbfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja00 View Post
Apologies. But apparently I can only send PMs to certain members due to my limited posts. For those interested in the rails please PM me again with your email so I can respond for now. Thanks.

You got it!
onyxbfly is offline  
post #2330 of 2335 Old 11-12-2014, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
pglover19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ja00 View Post
For those looking for rails, I have 2 sets that will fit the SC846 chassis. PM me for pricing if interested. Thanks.
I am interested.. Sent you a PM several days ago.
pglover19 is offline  
post #2331 of 2335 Old 11-12-2014, 08:17 PM
Member
 
thomps33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been looking at some of these used servers on Ebay. I've heard some systems won't recognize larger hard drives. Seeing that I would like to use 5 or 6tb WD green or red drives; how would I make sure the server will recognize these drives?
thomps33 is offline  
post #2332 of 2335 Old 11-12-2014, 11:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomps33 View Post
I've been looking at some of these used servers on Ebay. I've heard some systems won't recognize larger hard drives. Seeing that I would like to use 5 or 6tb WD green or red drives; how would I make sure the server will recognize these drives?
You would need to add hard drive controller(s) which support large drives, such as the IBM M1015 or Dell H310.


--
There are two kinds of people. Those who can extrapolate from missing information.
politby is online now  
post #2333 of 2335 Old 11-13-2014, 11:06 PM
Member
 
cantalup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomps33 View Post
I just saw this thread. I would have picked up 2 of those suckers... that's dirt cheap! I'll have to keep on watching ebay...

Is anybody aware of a suitable alternative?
if you need 2U server $130+$50 shipping -> http://www.ebay.com/itm/SuperMicro-X...item462c37206a

it was roughly $199+ shipping $50 from Tamsolution.
cantalup is offline  
post #2334 of 2335 Old 11-15-2014, 03:28 PM
Member
 
thomps33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you, I'm looking for a 24 bay unit. Biggest thing holding me back is figuring out how much processing power it needs. I would like to be able to transcode to H.265 in the future. Rumor is that it's a very intensive process compared to transcoding H.264? Problem is not many people have experience doing it. Maybe I should just get something that covers my needs now and worry about that when the time comes.
thomps33 is offline  
post #2335 of 2335 Old 11-17-2014, 02:47 PM
Member
 
cantalup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomps33 View Post
Thank you, I'm looking for a 24 bay unit. Biggest thing holding me back is figuring out how much processing power it needs. I would like to be able to transcode to H.265 in the future. Rumor is that it's a very intensive process compared to transcoding H.264? Problem is not many people have experience doing it. Maybe I should just get something that covers my needs now and worry about that when the time comes.
H265 need more processing power than H264 as I know. I believe E3 Xeon low-end can handle easily. do not forget to get decent RAM, 16G Ram is minimal based on my overview.

I saw one on ebay total was $340 with my Zip . it is gone now.

or if you need 16 bays 3U supermicro case only. there is one . you can put best offer. the lowest one that I try is $175+ shipping($55) today. this first one offer was $185+ $55 shipping on last week. cheaper $10.

I am thinking to get one to replace my rosewill 4U server case due on rattle noise and aging 5X3.5 hot swap. lesson learn: buy enterprise server case with hot swap for a long run.

I have 4U AIC and 4U Supermicro from TamSolution, Serve me well, one broken handle of caddy on AIC. I bought 6 replacement caddies for AIC: $15 total.

good luck!
cantalup is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Norco Rpc 4020 4u Rackmount Server Chassis W 20 Hot Swappable Sata Sas Drive Bays , Norco

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off