Help with ffdshow audio decoder and AC3(S/PDIF) option - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys. I'm using Media Player Classic, and I'm having a problem with the FFDshow audio decoder. If I check "AC3(S/PDIF) encode mode", it automatically disables FFD Audio decoder *entirely* upon restarting MPC and I get no sound. This never used to happen before. I have resample checked and have the rate set to 48000hz

My receiver is a 7.1 Toshiba and I'm feeding it from PC via HDMI.

My graphics card is ATI 5870.

Finally, here's a screenshot of my settings:



Can anyone tell me how to resolve this issue? I'd really like to be able to utilize the AC3(S/PDIF) encode mode option. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
isamu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK I can now get ffdshow to enable with the AC3(S/PDIF) encoder option checked, but I still get no sound at all. I've tried setting my AMD 5870's audio output to both 16bit 44000Hz and 24bit 48000Hz. No dice. Please help
isamu is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-30-2012, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK guys I figured out the problem....In ffdhow, under the "Mixer" tab, turns out I had "OutPut Speakers Configuration" set to 3/1/2 - 6 Channels, when it should have been set to 3/0/2 - 5 Channels.

I also had "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" unchecked under the Exclusive tab within my AMD5870 Audio properties settings. That box should always be checked. I made a couple other changes as well, but I don't quite remember what they were LOL.

I'll keep you posted if the sound cuts off or if ffdshow disables again. In the mean time the AC3(S/PDIF) Encoder option is working for now so all is good
isamu is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off