2 extenders on one HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-30-2012, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to run 2 extenders at the same time utilizing different tuners through WMC? I am trying to create a setup strictly for DVR use via extenders? Can I run a less powerful HTPC if I only plan on serving media off of it to the extenders and not playing video out from it?

Thanks in advance
zeedub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-30-2012, 08:55 PM
Member
 
daidavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure ... I have 3 extenders (2 Xbox 360, 1 Linksys) running off a single HTPC (Core i3). The PC has 6 tuners (Ceton InfiniTV 4, SiliconDust HDHomeRun).
daidavel is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 68
We have 4 extenders and 8 tuners (CetonInfiniTV4 and 4X Magyca ClearQAM)

Not sure what you mean by "less powerful" HTPC does not need to be "powerful" to begin with. Without the extenders, or with just one extender, Intel ATOM Dual core was more than enough to drive live TV from 2x ATI DCT's.

One thing to keep in mind is that Microsoft recommends 1 CPU core and 1 Gb of RAM per extender connected.

If you have TV connected to the HTPC, add another core for it, as well.

With 4 extenders and a TV connected to HTPC, I can run all 5 TVs with 8 Gb of RAM without a hitch.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
zeedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. As far as powerful I meant SandyBridge vs Atom. I am going to try and build a Sandy box but was curious how cheap i can go.
zeedub is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 205
atom will be a non starter. i have a 2.3ghz core 2 duo and having one extender on tests its limits. i have two extenders, but i cant i dont have any reason to run both and my pc at once.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeedub View Post

Thanks for the reply. As far as powerful I meant SandyBridge vs Atom. I am going to try and build a Sandy box but was curious how cheap i can go.

I'm running dual extenders with a Pentium G630. It's one of the lowest-end Sandy Bridge offerings there is, and it works fine. I believe the Celeron G430 (dual core 2.4GHz SB) is about $50. Add a cheap mobo (just be wary of non-Intel NICs on board), and it's not much more than Atom while offering massively better performance.
mcturkey is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeedub View Post

Thanks for the reply. As far as powerful I meant SandyBridge vs Atom if I wasn't
using the HTPC to directly play the media on a display but rather the extenders.
Im not sure if it pegs the CPU as much by using the box in that way.

Playing on the HTPC does not peg CPU since the video is handled by the GPU. But, with Sandybrdige, I don't know if those two are seprated, or it uses CPU cycles to render video.

Using extender peg CPU, since most of the work is done by the CPU, and only little of the work is actually performed by the extender it self.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I believe WMC supports up to five extenders, IIRC.
captain_video is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-31-2012, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I believe WMC supports up to five extenders, IIRC.

This is five extenders at once, yes? You can register more than that, but can only have 5 running at the same time. I haven't hit this max, but thought that was the general rule.
tgrinch is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-01-2012, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I believe that is the case. I don't think there's a limit as to how many extenders you can connect to the main PC but rather how many it can support simultaneously.
captain_video is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off