True or False: The Intel iGPU "Struggles at HD Playback" - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: The Intel iGPU "Struggles with HD Playback"
True 0 0%
False 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Help me educate the uneducated and misinformed...

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...=2066&start=20


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Um. No it doesn't struggle at all.

My i3-550 (HD2000) will even allow the use of MadVR to switch to 24p (23.976, actually) from the Windows native 60i inside MPC-HC with no issues whatsoever. The playback is perfect, vibrant and stutter-free.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:03 AM
Member
 
echen1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Intel HD Graphics 3000 is actually not that bad at HD Video playback.
echen1024 is offline  
post #4 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 205
My opinion of it is that it plays video back fine.

The only thing I could imagine being a problem is if you use a motherboard that is not set up to take advantage of the integrated gpu, or is that not even a real issue?

I have used nvidia for 10 years mostly out of comfort with their control panel, but my next system will probably be built in the next 6-18 months and will use ivy bridge or whatever replaces it.

The Atom processor in my netbook struggles w/ HD playback, but I don't think thats the debate here


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #5 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Sonisame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No it does not suck at all,
I have Intel 3570k with Intel hd-4000, I can play 1080p mkv's or other blurays just fine on my 1080p display

sonisame
Sonisame is offline  
post #6 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
It does just fine.

I thought this was settled enough that there was no longer any need to even address this question.

By the way, I've been happily using an i3-2100 in our home theatre for nearly a year.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #7 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020 View Post

It does just fine.

I thought this was settled enough that there was no longer any need to even address this question.

By the way, I've been happily using an i3-2100 in our home theatre for nearly a year.

Apparently some of the rest of the world didn't get the memo and continues to spread misinformation.

I use the i3 2100 and G620T as well (and a NVidia 430).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #8 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Can I vote again?

Oh wait, this isn't an actual election.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Has anyone not had success with the Intel iGPU?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #10 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 01:57 PM
Member
 
wsume99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I know that there was a problem with XBMC Dharma and the Intel iGPU. If you use DXVA then you would get severe macroblocking. It would work ok if you just used the CPU for decoding but that means you use more power. I'm not sure if it has been corrected in Eden or not. I don't know if that qualifies as a Intel problem or not but that is the only issue I am aware of.
wsume99 is offline  
post #11 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsume99 View Post

I know that there was a problem with XBMC Dharma and the Intel iGPU. If you use DXVA then you would get severe macroblocking. It would work ok if you just used the CPU for decoding but that means you use more power. I'm not sure if it has been corrected in Eden or not. I don't know if that qualifies as a Intel problem or not but that is the only issue I am aware of.

There is no real reason to use DXVA though with a CPU as powerful as the Clarkdale, Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge. Even the G530 can handle XBMC 1080p without DXVA.

DXVA was made to offset the CPUs in platforms like the atom and zacate.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #12 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:01 PM
Member
 
musicguy980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

There is no real reason to use DXVA though with a CPU as powerful as the Clarkdale, Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge. Even the G530 can handle XBMC 1080p without DXVA.

DXVA was made to offset the CPUs in platforms like the atom and zacate.

the Igpu does struggle in xmbc on high bitrate blurays "Saving Private Ryan" is great example of one.
musicguy980 is offline  
post #13 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicguy980 View Post

the Igpu does struggle in xmbc on high bitrate blurays "Saving Private Ryan" is great example of one.

That's a problem in XBMC, not in the chip.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #14 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:17 PM
Member
 
musicguy980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is the chip none of my other cards have any problems, just the i3.
musicguy980 is offline  
post #15 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
No issues with full MKV rip of Saving Private Ryan here.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #16 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
None of movies in my collection that I've played back from mkv cause the i3 to struggle. I have Private Ryan ripped to mkv but haven't actually played it on my HTPC (Played it on my stand alone blu-ray player before building an HTPC). I suppose I'll need to go check that out.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #17 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
musicguy,

It may be the way you have your HTPC configured?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #18 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:25 PM
Member
 
musicguy980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt it but there's always a possibility. How do u have yours setup for xbmc.
musicguy980 is offline  
post #19 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Looks like others report no issues with Saving Private Ryan and the i3 either.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...5212#pid995212


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #20 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Google is an amazing tool. You can find anything.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...038#pid1098038


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #21 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicguy980 View Post

I doubt it but there's always a possibility. How do u have yours setup for xbmc.

I use MediaBrowser with MediaPlayerClassic-HomeCinema as the player, LAV Filters and MadVR for the video renderer. Some say that MadVR requires a discrete GPU. For me, it works just fine with the HD2000 graphics on the iGPU.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #22 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Proof positive that he was trying to use the unnecessary DXVA with an Intel CPU:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...719#pid1088719

So you were using it wrong. Turn off DXVA and try it again.

Quote:


I've posted this question before, but no one has answered it yet. I've got eden 11. dsplayer build installed. Everytime i use the pseudotv add on it crashes on me. Usually after i change channels. Whats strange is it only happens with dsplayer. If i use the default dvdplayer everything works fine, or if i use the eden hd audio build everything works fine. The only reason i use dsplayer is for dvxa 2, since my I3 cpu/gpu struggles with hi bitrate blurays, and cannot properly use xbmc built dvxa 2. I dont know how to post crash logs but would be willing too. Im at my wits end with this, and know somebody has to have come across this same problem.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #23 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Google is an amazing tool. You can find anything.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...038#pid1098038

As I said, that's a problem in XBMC, not in the chip.

Someday maybe they'll correctly implement DXVA.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #24 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Apparently some of the rest of the world didn't get the memo and continues to spread misinformation.

I use the i3 2100 and G620T as well (and a NVidia 430).


+1

Have used both those chips and no issues here either .

I also don't understand the fact that you (not the only one ) have been using this cpu in how many builds ? Selling them to how many people? How long have you been using this cpu ? How many complaints have you recieved that were directly related to the i3 ?

Ya, that's what I thought, NONE !
flocko is offline  
post #25 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 03:58 PM
Member
 
musicguy980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Proof positive that he was trying to use the unnecessary DXVA with an Intel CPU:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...719#pid1088719

So you were using it wrong. Turn off DXVA and try it again.

Dude you're a lame, I already said that the igpu was having trouble playing high bitrate blurays in xbmc. That's the reason I turned dvxa on , but in xbmc igpu has massive pixelation with dvxa turned on. So that post you pulled up of mine supported my claim.
musicguy980 is offline  
post #26 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicguy980 View Post

I already said that the igpu was having trouble playing high bitrate blurays in xbmc.

Note the operative words. It's an XBMC flaw, not a cpu flaw.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #27 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicguy980 View Post

Dude you're a lame, I already said that the igpu was having trouble playing high bitrate blurays in xbmc. That's the reason I turned dvxa on , but in xbmc igpu has massive pixelation with dvxa turned on. So that post you pulled up of mine supported my claim.

I love name calling. Really gets your incorrect point across and drives it home.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #28 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Oh here we go again.. No need for name calling guys.

I'm going to run Private Ryan in my set up and see how it goes. Any other High Bit files I should test out?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #29 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
flocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ya , I think the name calling is really not necessary. I usually assume everyone here is a mature adult

We are having a debate here .... no more no less !
flocko is offline  
post #30 of 91 Old 05-31-2012, 04:45 PM
Member
 
musicguy980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I apologize but this guy is always trying to belittle people, and no one ever calls him on it. I mean to go to xbmc and pull up a post I wrote to prove your point and still be wrong is lame. You might not be lame but your actions on this particular accident. I don't post much on this site but I'm always scanning thru threads to increase my knowledge. I've notice you are always borderline disrespectful to people who disagree with you, but because of your status here. No one ever calls you on it.
musicguy980 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off