Sometimes no sound when receiver is power-cycled - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2012, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mackworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need help with my HTPC.

I have a HTPC w/ a Radeon 6570 connected via HDMI to my Yamaha receiver.

This machine is kept on 24/7 because I use it for other things. My harmony remote just turns off the TV and the receiver. However, I have been having an issue where sometimes when everything gets turned on, sound doesn't work. My receiver shows that its not getting sound from the computer. The only fix I have found is to relogin or restart the machine.

Even when I do have sound, I get underscan which is another issue. That one I can live with for now.

Does anyone know if there is anything I can do to fix this? My fiance is getting frustrated (we use it for TV).
mackworth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2012, 09:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
HDMI detective.

Not free unfortunately.
assassin is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

HDMI detective.

Not free unfortunately.

Not free, but sooooo worth saving a crapload of effort w/ variable success.

Just buy it and don't go out a couple times this month.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 09:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewOrlnsDukie View Post

Not free, but sooooo worth saving a crapload of effort w/ variable success.

Just buy it and don't go out a couple times this month.

Completely agree.

Time is valuable.
assassin is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I got mine about 4 days ago and love it. I'm kicking myself for not getting it sooner.
audit13 is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:11 PM
Member
 
bluesynk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, nothing against the detective, I think it is fine product. However, why don't we allow the op to troubleshoot a bit more to isolate the problem. For one, I know ATI's driver 12.4 has some major hdcp issues. Reverting back to 12.3 usually resolves the issue. Just make sure to completely uninstall all ATI software and drivers. Hope this helps.
bluesynk is offline  
Old 06-03-2012, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesynk View Post

Hey guys, nothing against the detective, I think it is fine product. However, why don't we allow the op to troubleshoot a bit more to isolate the problem. For one, I know ATI's driver 12.4 has some major hdcp issues. Reverting back to 12.3 usually resolves the issue. Just make sure to completely uninstall all ATI software and drivers. Hope this helps.

I had tried it w/ every version (up to that point) of the ATI firmware for the 6970. I'd think I had it solved, and then the next day it would be screwed up again.

I literally spent 20+ hrs troubleshooting.

Picked up the HDMi detective 8 months ago, and haven't had to worry about it since.

Godspeed on troubleshooting for the OP, but I have enough crap to worry about on a daily basis. I just like to turn on the power button on my Harmony remote and watch TV and movies when I wanna watch them, without getting any annoyance from my wife.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewOrlnsDukie View Post

I had tried it w/ every version (up to that point) of the ATI firmware for the 6970. I'd think I had it solved, and then the next day it would be screwed up again.

I literally spent 20+ hrs troubleshooting.

Picked up the HDMi detective 8 months ago, and haven't had to worry about it since.

Godspeed on troubleshooting for the OP, but I have enough crap to worry about on a daily basis. I just like to turn on the power button on my Harmony remote and watch TV and movies when I wanna watch them, without getting any annoyance from my wife.

+1.

I couldn't get HD bitstreaming back when I had XP and a 5450. Purchased a slim and got TrueHD and DTS-HD MA right away.

I thought that the 5450 would solve my sync issues but it didn't. Got the Detective and everything has been golden since. I went from XP to Vista to 7 without issue.

I'm sure I spent way more than 20 hours on troubleshooting. The money I spent on the Detective is nothing compared to the wasted hours and frustration.

I also use my htpc for music playback. I can turn off my tv without the music cutting out.
audit13 is offline  
Old 06-04-2012, 01:51 PM
Member
 
uthijacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

HDMI detective.

Not free unfortunately.

Solved my problems as well.
uthijacker is offline  
Old 06-09-2012, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mackworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Completely forgot that I posted here...

Anyway, when you guys were talking about the HDMI detective I got worried that it was 100s of dollars. Only 85 on Amazon? Thats a bargain...


I will get this and see how it works. Thanks for the suggestions.
mackworth is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off