LG BD drive won't recognize "Rampart" blu ray - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-06-2012, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the LG GGC-H20L on my HTPC. I haven't had problems running other titles using AnyDVD, but for some reason the drive won't recognize the "Rampart" blu ray. My AnyDVD is up to date, and I don't see how it can be an AnyDVD issue because the drive doesn't even recognize that there is any disc in the drive. In My computer it shows the drive as empty. I've tried using 2 different discs from Netflix, so I don't think it's a damaged disc issue.

Any ideas on how to fix this issue? Again, all other blu rays I've tried have worked.
C E Jones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-06-2012, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Can you rip the disc using AnyDVD HD ? Have you checked on the Slysoft forums? Have you tried any other software/OS ?

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-07-2012, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I said in my post, the problem is that the drive does not recognize the disc at all. The computer has to recognize a disc before AnyDVD can do anything with it. Not every playback issue is about AnyDVD.
C E Jones is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 06-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sometimes I get a disc from Netflix that looks brand new with no scratches or fingerprints but neither of my bluray drives will read it at all. I just ask for a replacement and the next one will work fine. I think sometimes the discs are just screwed up when they are manufactured.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-08-2012, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone around here read posts, or just the titles???

As I said in my post, I got a replacement disc from Netflix, still have same problem. I've gotten plenty of damaged blu rays from Netflix, but never 2 in a row. I guess I'll try one more replacement disc, then just get the DVD if that one doesn't work either.
C E Jones is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-08-2012, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Sometimes pledge wipes help. Seriously. I had the same problem with multiple replacement Star Wars discs and finally, I used pledge wipes to "clean" the disc. In this case, I tried everything including changing the drive mode from DMA.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-08-2012, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
C E Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Shortcut, I'll try a more thorough clean on the disc I have now (my second one from Netflix). I did a quick T-shirt wipe on both discs, but I do remember having success in the past with some glasses-cleaner when nothing else would work (forgot to try that this time).
C E Jones is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-18-2012, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
tomlom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's odd, but i had exactly the same problem with the Rampart Blu-Ray in my Samaung Player. The disk would show the copyright screen, then the production company, and then nothing. I purchased the disc at Best Buy, and they exchanged it for a new one. Exactly the same thing happened, fresh out of the shrink-wrap.
tomlom is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-19-2012, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had a few disks that my LG drive wouldn't recognize even after getting a replacement. There's really nothing you can do about. It's caused by DRM and authoring of the disk. They basically will only work in a BD player.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-19-2012, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

I've had a few disks that my LG drive wouldn't recognize even after getting a replacement. There's really nothing you can do about. It's caused by DRM and authoring of the disk. They basically will only work in a BD player.

mcturkey is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off