Is Media Browser "MISSION IMPOSSIBLE" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mad.gif

Just upgraded to the 2.6 release and everything is perfect, except.........................Media Browser thinks that (Mission Impossible and MI-2) are Mission Impossible (Ghost Protocol) which is listed 3 times but plays the correct movie in the folder!

Long time user of MB and it seems with every edition it screws up the metadata. I have cleared the cache numerous times tried renaming etc. all movies match the internet database names and all have the year shown in (....). Over 300 movies and a total of 3 wrong.

Help appreciated

Glenn
gmanhdtv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Im having the same problems with the movie 21, it pulls in 21 jump street, Kill Bill 1&2 are both showing Kill Bill 1 and Turista keeps showing Lost Paradise. Ill keep checking on the Media Browser forum but all they can say is to check your file structure and make sure you have the correct names. Which everything was fine before the upgrade.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 12:23 PM
Member
 
scott750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've had similar issues with MB. Pride and Glory coverart shows the German version. But the synopsis and everything else is in English and correct.

Is ther any way to manually edit the coverart?
scott750 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ok just got a reply from MB forum....Metadata Info Wrong

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott750 View Post

I've had similar issues with MB. Pride and Glory coverart shows the German version. But the synopsis and everything else is in English and correct.
Is ther any way to manually edit the coverart?

Yes go to the moviedb or wherever you get your artwork and save the poster you require as folder.jpg in the movie folder.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

Yes go to the moviedb or wherever you get your artwork and save the poster you require as folder.jpg in the movie folder.

Fixing the movie poster has always been easy with jpg image, however it does nothing for the actual movie information, actors, etc.

Like I said, every new release seems to fix a lot of issues and create new ones!rolleyes.gif
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-09-2012, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanhdtv View Post

Fixing the movie poster has always been easy with jpg image, however it does nothing for the actual movie information, actors, etc.
Like I said, every new release seems to fix a lot of issues and create new ones!rolleyes.gif

Agreed - I try all the front ends at some time in their dev cycles and I really want MB to work for me and while improvements are made it never really hits the mark with me or my system. Slow and cumbersome when refreshing information for display - even with the Media Browser Service running.

Although improvements have been made to the collection of metadata, it is still flaky at best and needs the addition of a 3rd party scraper to operate efficiently.

What is first class though is the playback with an external player - now with 'resume' function (luke certainly has nailed that one - with mpc-hc anyway, can't answer for TMT etc.) and its a great addition to the overall package.

What is an improvement is the ability to include the moviedb ID in the folder title to resolve conflict issues a nice addition. Don't think the system was ever intended to enable manipulation of metadata - that is seen as the domain of the various db's and third party scrapers, though it would have been nice to have the ability to change a wrong movie name from within the programme, rather than coming out and adding to the folder and rescraping. Some form of conflict check and a pop-up asking the user to confirm the correct title would IMO have worked better.

EDIT - I really should have given the app some time to refresh and display the information so, just to add some balance to the post. I downloaded all metadata via MCM after giving the internal scraper a test run - regrettably it failed fairly miserably - now with the MCM metadata firmly in place (and correct) MB is fairly whizzing along. Really snappy and animations are very smooth.

Now getting to the point where it is at last a viable alternative to XBMC and Media Portal.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-10-2012, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As of 2.6 however, there’s now a way to force MB to pick up a specific entry from TMDB. Just add [tmdbid=xxxx] to your folder name, where the ID number comes from the TMDB URL. You can find the combined Kill Bill (ID 78058) on TMDB here.

MB grabs the top-rated poster for each movie, which can sometimes be a foreign version. Just go to TMDB and save the poster you prefer as folder.jpg in your movie’s folder.


FYI the above solved all of my issues, 2.6 seems faster and more stable. Kudos to the dev team!biggrin.gif
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 06-10-2012, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
still having a problem with 21 even after renaming the file with the TMBD id, and also all of my HD DVD covers show up as Blu Ray. This just seens like to much work for something that wasn't broken. Going back to 2.5

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 06-10-2012, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfett View Post

still having a problem with 21 even after renaming the file with the TMBD id, and also all of my HD DVD covers show up as Blu Ray. This just seens like to much work for something that wasn't broken. Going back to 2.5

Don't use internal scrapers, but sounds like it isn't functioning as expected - perhaps something the devs over at the Commmunity Tracker should be made aware of - particularly as it is a new function.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 06-10-2012, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I know this isn't your question, but I've never had a problem with xbmc built in scraper. You should give that a try if you haven't already just to compare.
StinDaWg is online now  
post #12 of 22 Old 06-10-2012, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I must confess that, now that XBMC has HD audio, I'm using MB w/ MPC-HC less and less, and that's despite the fact that I think that the VQ and playback w/ madVR is generally superior to XBMC's player.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 12:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
No need to confess anything dukie - go with whatever floats your boat - me I've actually gone the other way. My preference is now MB with mpc-hc (MadVR & LAV). I don't see a great deal of difference between playback of HD material, but I have quite a collection of old BBC sitcoms as interlaced material and xbmc's playback of these just 'sucks' - the mpc-hc combination is way superior.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

No need to confess anything dukie - go with whatever floats your boat - me I've actually gone the other way. My preference is now MB with mpc-hc (MadVR & LAV). I don't see a great deal of difference between playback of HD material, but I have quite a collection of old BBC sitcoms as interlaced material and xbmc's playback of these just 'sucks' - the mpc-hc combination is way superior.

My Reclock experience has not been overly positive for 25p content and LPCM content.

XBMC, OTOH, has done better, particularly w/ LPCM. At various times, I've gotten my LPCM soundtracks from BR's to work well w/ MPC-HC/ LAV/ Reclock w/ WASAPI, but the slightest of modifications seem to turn everything to crap.

It really does hurt, though, because I strongly feel that the picture is just manifestly better w/ madVR.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 02:49 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thats strange but for LPCM I have to change ReClock's settings to simplier: "output sample rate - same as input" and increase ReClock's buffer a bit. Maybe parsing LPCM tracks from container affects playback, who knows. If those LPCMs stored on HDD I'd suggest to re-encode them to Flac - saves disk space, read operations and container parsing.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I don't re-encode to FLAC in part because my HDMI-equipped mac mini's transmit LPCM tracks losslessly in Plex.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 03:25 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmmm... needless to say that Flac is lossless encoder, after decoding you have the same data. As you wish though..

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewOrlnsDukie View Post

My Reclock experience has not been overly positive for 25p content and LPCM content.
XBMC, OTOH, has done better, particularly w/ LPCM. At various times, I've gotten my LPCM soundtracks from BR's to work well w/ MPC-HC/ LAV/ Reclock w/ WASAPI, but the slightest of modifications seem to turn everything to crap.
It really does hurt, though, because I strongly feel that the picture is just manifestly better w/ madVR.

I don't need WASAPI, therefore no need for ReClock, my experience of interlaced material, using purely madVR and LAV is quite spectacular compared to xbmc. I can't distinguish a difference in audio playback, with or without WASAPI, therefore no need to ReClock. I feel your pain though it does seem to be particularly sensetive to change.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've always used the built in scraper with Media Browser and rarely have any problems. I make sure to name each movie's folder exactly as it appears at TMDB. I also put the release year in parentheses after the name and that usually does it.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-11-2012, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

No need to confess anything dukie - go with whatever floats your boat - me I've actually gone the other way. My preference is now MB with mpc-hc (MadVR & LAV). I don't see a great deal of difference between playback of HD material, but I have quite a collection of old BBC sitcoms as interlaced material and xbmc's playback of these just 'sucks' - the mpc-hc combination is way superior.

What graphics card do you have? XBMC uses hardware deinterlacing with my ati 5450 card, so deinterlacing performance (uses vector adaptive) is the same in xbmc, wmc, mpc-hc, ect.
StinDaWg is online now  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-12-2012, 12:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

What graphics card do you have? XBMC uses hardware deinterlacing with my ati 5450 card, so deinterlacing performance (uses vector adaptive) is the same in xbmc, wmc, mpc-hc, ect.

An ATI 5670 - and I had all but given up on xbmc and interlaced material, until your post - damn you StinDaWg tongue.gif. Now you've made me revisit the issue, when I thought I was happy with my MB solution (I really need to pick one and run with it). Did some further digging and tweaking rolleyes.gif and found that there has been some considerable improvement (have they introduced a new ffmpeg build, or what). What do you find are the best settings for your card?
steelman1991 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-30-2012, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Sorry I just noticed you replied. XBMC has been able to do hardware deinterlacing since Eden (V11).

Set deinterlacing in ATI CCC to vector adaptive, then set deinterlacing in XBMC to "DXVA best".
StinDaWg is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off