Anyone used one of the picoPSU-160-XT power supplies? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 06-11-2012, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Wondering if it will power a G530/4G RAM/SSD HTPC reliably. Anyone tried one?

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think it will as per the reports in the "habey" case thread. My setup is the same except i have an i3 2100 and i'm looking at the 120wat pico
rsoares28 is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a 120W wide voltage picoPSU and it is powered by a 19V adapter. The setup is a i5-2390T, ASRock H67M-ITX MB, SSD and ODD.

Wattage should be enough as my new server with 3 HDDs is running at 50W.
dksc318 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 06:30 AM
Member
 
KevBel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Never used one but you can probably go even lower-powered, closer to 100W, if that's all that's in your build.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Cutom user-styles, for a better new-AVS!
KevBel is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
You'd be hard pressed to consume 60W at full load with that setup. The picoPSU-90 would be a nice choice for that setup since it comes with the P4 ATX connector which you need for the G530.

http://www.short-circuit.com/categories/powercombos.html

I use a 84W AC adapter with my G620/H61/4GB/128GB SSD bedroom HTPC.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey Stardog , will this adapter http://hqrp.com/hqrp-120w-ac-adapter-compatible-with-hp-pavilion-zd7000-zd7001ea-zd7001us-laptop.html work with a 120wat pico? i have a I3 2100/ssd/4gb ram I also want to power usb tv tuner which has a molex connection.

Thanks
rsoares28 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsoares28 View Post

Hey Stardog , will this adapter http://hqrp.com/hqrp-120w-ac-adapter-compatible-with-hp-pavilion-zd7000-zd7001ea-zd7001us-laptop.html work with a 120wat pico? i have a I3 2100/ssd/4gb ram I also want to power usb tv tuner which has a molex connection.
Thanks

That's a 18.5V adapter so you'd need to use the picoPSU 120-WI-25 "wide input". Most all the other picoPSUs are 12V only.

I would also double-check the adapter tip is 5.5mm * 2.5mm. It appears that it would need to be to fit a zd7000 as it claims.

I believe too this is the one Assassin recommends?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 01:26 PM
 
wolverinegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this site might help you figure out what you need: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

pico's rock.
wolverinegod is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverinegod View Post

this site might help you figure out what you need: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
pico's rock.

According to this site, a G530/4GB/SSD/ODD system needs a 174W PSU. That's not even close to the real world.

I've built a bunch of different LGA1155 mini-ITX systems that use DC-DC / AC adapter power supply combinations with this basic configuraton of CPU, RAM, SSD and ODD and none of them has drawn over 60W at 100% load (Prime95) as measured at the wall with a Kill-A-Watt. I've used the G530, G540, G620 and i3-2100.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 02:50 PM
 
wolverinegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

According to this site, a G530/4GB/SSD/ODD system needs a 174W PSU. That's not even close to the real world.
I've built a bunch of different LGA1155 mini-ITX systems that use DC-DC / AC adapter power supply combinations with this basic configuraton of CPU, RAM, SSD and ODD and none of them has drawn over 60W at 100% load (Prime95) as measured at the wall with a Kill-A-Watt. I've used the G530, G540, G620 and i3-2100.

It's hard for me to comment on that as I'm not entirely sure which options you selected and i'm by no means a power expert ... that said, I just filled out a regular desktop with the g530, one dram ssd, one dvd burner and it says the system needs 130 for me (not 174). I know that site adjusts for things like form factor as well, but i think it's a good starting point. I've read several writeups on it from sites like maximumpc and i have yet to see anyone say it's terrible (i'm not saying it is or it isn't, i'm in no position to judge ... i'm just saying that those that are seem to speak highly of it from what i can tell).
wolverinegod is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a 10TB FreeNAS server running on a PIcoPSU 160

specs
ASROCK E350M1 {CPU fan lvl 1 in BIOS}
Pareema 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Intel EXPI9301CTBLK NIC
5 - WD20EARS 2TB HDD
picoPSU-160-XT PowerSupply
1 - Noctua NF-R8-1800 {lvl 1 manual speed control in BIOS}
Raidmax IT case

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
SUBCOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's mine with a 150 pico. I know I could have gotten by with a 90 to 120.

I3-2100T
8 gigs ram 2 X 4
60G SSD Vortex 2
1TB WD green drive
Hauppauge 2250
internal HD 2000

disabled in bios:
Onboard sound
COM ports

If I remember right it pulls 27-29 at idle and 40-45 playing 1080P. I haven't done a prime test.

Based on your post a 90 or 120 pico would be fine, but if you are going to load up the drives that's when you may want to go to a 150 or 160.
SUBCOB is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 260
WOW. Thanks all for the excellent info. Ordering one in just a few minutes.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverinegod View Post

It's hard for me to comment on that as I'm not entirely sure which options you selected and i'm by no means a power expert ... that said, I just filled out a regular desktop with the g530, one dram ssd, one dvd burner and it says the system needs 130 for me (not 174). I know that site adjusts for things like form factor as well, but i think it's a good starting point. I've read several writeups on it from sites like maximumpc and i have yet to see anyone say it's terrible (i'm not saying it is or it isn't, i'm in no position to judge ... i'm just saying that those that are seem to speak highly of it from what i can tell).

Without knowing how they calculate it, it's hard to understand how accurate it is for these low power systems. I can't explain the discrepancy without knowing their method. I only know what's I've measured which has been pretty consistent. I measure the usage of every new build that uses different components with the Kill-a-Watt at the desktop, playing 1080p and with Prime95. Of course, who knows where I wrote it down... smile.gif. SandyBridge 65W TDP, 4GB RAM, 64-128GB SSD and a tray or slot-load burner is usually around 25W-30W desktop, 40W 1080p video, 55-60W Prime95.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 06-12-2012, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

....you'd need to use the picoPSU 120-WI-25 "wide input". Most all the other picoPSUs are 12V only.
I would also double-check the adapter tip is 5.5mm * 2.5mm....
The older Thinkpad 16V, 72W AC adapters will fit. I have one powering the following:
i5-2400S (65W)
ASUS P8H61-I
intel 80GB SSD
BluRay ODD

Most power systems will be at maximum efficiency when it is operating close to maximum power rating.
dksc318 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by dksc318 View Post

The older Thinkpad 16V, 72W AC adapters will fit. I have one powering the following:
i5-2400S (65W)
ASUS P8H61-I
intel 80GB SSD
BluRay ODD
Most power systems will be at maximum efficiency when it is operating close to maximum power rating.

That's the same adapter I've used with the picoPSU 120-WI-25. My office was just throwing them out -- from old T30s and T41s -- so I grabbed a few.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Our notebooks at the office and at home all changed to the newer 20V types so we have a lot of these 16V Thinkpad adapters too. They are well built and more efficient than Targues adapters at standby.
dksc318 is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dksc318 View Post

The older Thinkpad 16V, 72W AC adapters will fit. I have one powering the following:
i5-2400S (65W)
ASUS P8H61-I
intel 80GB SSD
BluRay ODD
Most power systems will be at maximum efficiency when it is operating close to maximum power rating.

Excellent, thats the same motherboard i have. So i would need this? http://www.itxcanada.com/products/picoPSU_120_WI_25_120w_Wide_Input_12_25V_Wide_Input_DC_DC_Power_Converter-599-43.html

and it would work with the adapter i posted earlier? I worried about the adapter tip comment.... are you saying its the right size as "it would need to fit a zd7000"?
rsoares28 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsoares28 View Post

Excellent, thats the same motherboard i have. So i would need this? http://www.itxcanada.com/products/picoPSU_120_WI_25_120w_Wide_Input_12_25V_Wide_Input_DC_DC_Power_Converter-599-43.html
and it would work with the adapter i posted earlier? I worried about the adapter tip comment.... are you saying its the right size as "it would need to fit a zd7000"?

Yes, the picoPSU 120-WI-25 is the "wide input" one that can take from 12V to 25V input.

The picoPSU needs a 5.5mm * 2.5mm adapter tip. The specs for the linked AC adapter don't show the tip size. However, other adapters said to fit the zd7000 do say 5.5mm * 2.5mm so it's seems to be the right one. I would confirm the adapter's tip size before ordering. The voltage/amperage ratings look just right for the 120-WI-25.
rsoares28 likes this.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Yes, the picoPSU 120-WI-25 is the "wide input" one that can take from 12V to 25V input.
The picoPSU needs a 5.5mm * 2.5mm adapter tip. The specs for the linked AC adapter don't show the tip size. However, other adapters said to fit the zd7000 do say 5.5mm * 2.5mm so it's seems to be the right one. I would confirm the adapter's tip size before ordering. The voltage/amperage ratings look just right for the 120-WI-25.

Thank you very much for the help and advice, much appreciated!
rsoares28 is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsoares28 View Post

Thank you very much for the help and advice, much appreciated!

No problem -- happy to help!

What case are you putting this all in?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 06-13-2012, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Yes, the picoPSU 120-WI-25 is the "wide input" one that can take from 12V to 25V input.
The picoPSU needs a 5.5mm * 2.5mm adapter tip. The specs for the linked AC adapter don't show the tip size. However, other adapters said to fit the zd7000 do say 5.5mm * 2.5mm so it's seems to be the right one. I would confirm the adapter's tip size before ordering. The voltage/amperage ratings look just right for the 120-WI-25.

You will need a 4 pin Molex to 4 pin ATX12V adapter cable. Some MB will boot without this cable and some won't. If you also have an ODD, then you will need 4 pin Molex Y splitter and other pieces. My case is now full of wires. Use the Thinkpad 72W 16V adapter if you can stay under that power budget. Most of my computers will.
dksc318 is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 06-14-2012, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I already have a habey 800, its already setup, been working since november but ive been reading the psu and brick that comes with the habey is not the greatest... just looking to upgrade.

I dont have an ODD so my current molex is not being used. I have a genpix skywalker usb tuner that has its own brick connected with a molex cable. i'd like to remove the brick and just have the genpix power on and off with my pc using the pico's molex cable.

233
rsoares28 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off