HTPC with the latest AMD APU Trinity A10 by ARCTIC - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 38 Old 03-11-2013, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
klay99me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
klay99me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 38 Old 03-12-2013, 06:37 PM
Member
 
matt_helm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

No, after it was returned, I installed W7 from scratch. No errors at all.
matt_helm is offline  
post #33 of 38 Old 05-24-2013, 10:45 AM
Member
 
matt_helm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, I see they are now shipping & supporting these from inside the US, so you can skip all my comments about the USA/Hong Kong shipping!!!

For anyone else, mine really runs sweet these days.

I'm also asking if they will be adding BIOS support for the "Richland" APUs.
matt_helm is offline  
post #34 of 38 Old 05-24-2013, 09:05 PM
Member
 
azazel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is mostly stable these days, but every 3rd week or so I'll find it locked up, and the top of the chassis is almost burning to the touch. In those cases I'll power the unit off and leave it be for about 30 min or so and then power it on and it'll be fine for another few weeks.

It's kind of frustrating, but 3 weeks of stability at a time is long enough that it's tolerable. I just wish it could somehow run cooler.
azazel is offline  
post #35 of 38 Old 06-26-2013, 04:04 PM
Member
 
matt_helm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you updated to the latest BIOS.? I noticed they had a newer one. I have to make a boot disk somehow, or I'd have updated mine already.

BTW, anyone install the latest AMD drivers? I installed the latest Video ones, and they seem OK, but the chipset update BSOD my system. Had to do a system restore to fix that.
matt_helm is offline  
post #36 of 38 Old 10-29-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
KLoNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to grave-rob an old thread.

I've got the A8-4500 version of this and after a few issues I have this running quite well. Would love to upgrade it to either a A10-4600 (is it worth it?) or ideally, the A10-5750. Is there anyway possible this can be done?

Looks like Arctic has stopped production of this, but I think Zotec are the ones that did the work on the BIOS - maybe we should contact them about enabling the Richlands APUs?
KLoNe is offline  
post #37 of 38 Old 12-15-2013, 11:59 AM
Member
 
matt_helm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Arctic as completely dropped support for this machine. There doesn't even seem to be links for any driver. :-( Did anyone that bought it fine any AMD chipset drivers that worked. When I tried to add new AMD driver, I crash the machine.
matt_helm is offline  
post #38 of 38 Old 12-15-2013, 12:03 PM
Member
 
matt_helm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLoNe View Post

Would love to upgrade it to either a A10-4600 (is it worth it?) or ideally, the A10-5750. Is there anyway possible this can be done?

The chip is in a socket, so the older A10-4600 will work, and it is a bit faster, so .....

I was told, no way to get the A10-5750 without a BIOS upgrade, but again, you could try, as they do use the same socket. I haven't the slightest idea what would happen though.
matt_helm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off