running 2 HDMI video cards - Can video ouput be turned off on one of them so only audio passes to receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-18-2012, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this question has already been answered but I couldn't find a clear answer.

I want to set up a HTPC that is capable of 3D. The problem is that my Onkyo receiver does not support HDMI 1.4 so it will not handshake with a 3D signal. What I was thinking of doing is installing two video cards each having HDMI 1.4 outputs. I would like the first video card to send video directly to one of my tv's HDMI inputs and the other video card to send AUDIO ONLY to my reciver so I can take advantage of HD audio.

Will this work or are there any better options? I may be looking at this all wrong so I'd really appreciate help with this dillema.

Thanks for any help!!
mitsu2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-18-2012, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 210
HDMI does not carry audio unless there is video. Your Onkyo should be fine being driven from the 1.4 card, as it will inform the HTPC not to send it 3D video. This assumes the PC can service each HDMI card with what it needs.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-18-2012, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I'm a little confused because whenever I try to play a 3d bluray from my bluray player and pass it through my Onkyo TX-SR606, it drops both video and audio. Regular non 3D bluray will pass just fine. I'm assuming the same thing would happen with a HTPC? Would it not?
mitsu2k is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-18-2012, 09:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357

Yes, it works. "AUDIO ONLY" is not a correct expression. HDMI has to carry video. You will choose extended the desktop mode and send the unused second half of the desktop along with HD audio to AVR.

 

If you choose a NVIDIA card, you dont' have to buy another card as it supports dual audio stream. You will need two AMD cards, however. Look at this post.

renethx is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-18-2012, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Yes, it works. "AUDIO ONLY" is not a correct expression. HDMI has to carry video. You will choose extended the desktop mode and send the unused second half of the desktop along with HD audio to AVR.

If you choose a NVIDIA card, you dont' have to buy another card as it supports dual audio stream. You will need two AMD cards, however. Look at this post.

Thank you renethx!! Can you suggest to me a motherboard/cpu combo that will work good for this purpose? Maybe the Intel route is best?
mitsu2k is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 01:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357

If you are going to buy new CPU and mb, choose Intel Core i3-2100 or higher and a H77 (or H61, H67, Z68) chipset mb (for example, ASRock H77 Pro4-M); then you even don't need a graphics card. Connect HDMI port to the display and DVI to AVR (or vice versa). Yes, DVI port (with a DVI-HDMI adapter) supports audio, at least in ASRock mb.

renethx is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

If you are going to buy new CPU and mb, choose Intel Core i3-2100 or higher and a H77 (or H61, H67, Z68) chipset mb (for example, ASRock H77 Pro4-M); then you even don't need a graphics card. Connect HDMI port to the display and DVI to AVR (or vice versa). Yes, DVI port (with a DVI-HDMI adapter) supports audio, at least in ASRock mb.


is the H77 Pro4-M HDMI 1.4 to support 3d? Or does it matter?
mitsu2k is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry just saw in the specs it is 1.4a
mitsu2k is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much renethx!! I just ordered the MB you reccomended. That's rreally cool, I never heard of audio via DVI. IS it bitstream or lpcm as far as the HD audio?
mitsu2k is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 08:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357

Whichever. TMT/PowerDVD can bitstream TrueHD/DTS-HD as well as decode it to LPCM. But people usually bitstream TrueHD/DTS-HD.

renethx is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One quick question, I will be running an Intel I5-2500 cpu with this board. No plans to overclock. I have an Antec 350w power supply. Do you think this will be ok?
mitsu2k is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 06-19-2012, 11:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
renethx is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 06-20-2012, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mitsu2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at the manual for the ASrock MB and it did say that DVI port supports all HDMI features with DVI to HDMI adapter. However it makes no mention whether the adapter should be single link or dual link. I have this adapter but I'm not sure if I need a dual link for audio.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041902&p_id=2029&seq=1&format=2
mitsu2k is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 06-20-2012, 12:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsu2k View Post

I was looking at the manual for the ASrock MB and it did say that DVI port supports all HDMI features with DVI to HDMI adapter. However it makes no mention whether the adapter should be single link or dual link. I have this adapter but I'm not sure if I need a dual link for audio.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041902&p_id=2029&seq=1&format=2


HDMI is compatible only with single-link DVI. Every DVI-HDMI adapter supports only single-link DVI. The Monoprice adapter should work.

renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Onkyo , 3d Blu Ray Player Wifi Ready 1 Hdmi 3d Blu Ray With Touch Sensor Control Multi Format Disc , Blu Ray Players , Onkyo Tx Sr606 Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr606 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off