Help no digital 7 channel sound from Sapphire 7970 HDMI ?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-24-2012, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I've been playing around with a new HTPC I've recently built and experimenting with XBMC and DVDFab but I've hit a snag I can't figure out... The (AMD/ATI) Sapphire GPU- 7970's HDMI output to the Pioneer Elite VSX-52 doesn't work for audio.

I thought maybe it's the AVR but it's the card more specifically I think it's the driver. The HDMI appears under the sound in the control panel but it's shows as grayed out (not hooked up etc..) I did download a realtek driver (V.270 I think ) that would allow me to get stereo (2 channel and Analog sound only) sound to work but I can't figure out how to get digital 7 channel??

I was up to 3 am last night messing with it and installed about 10 different ATI drivers but nothing seems to work... anyone have any ideas?

Do I have to use the optical sound from the MOBO and just stick with the Video from the Graphics card HDMI in order to get full 7.1 channel digital sound?

Cheers
Calvin
calv1n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-24-2012, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hirent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In my imagination!
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is pass-through turned OFF in the AVR? Pass-through is used to send the signal from the source to the TV even if the AVR is OFF.
If pass-through is ON, then the HTPC will see the two TV speakers and will not allow you to set more than two speakers.

Make sure you have the AMD HDMI driver selected during installation.
After installation, configure AMD HDMI Audio Device and see if you can set 7.1 speakers.
hirent is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-24-2012, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hirent

Thanks for the response. My main issue i can't seem to get the AMD HDMI audio drivers to install and show the sound devices properly so they can be selected as the default...it's very confusing and from a google search I'm not alone there are a lot of folks wrestling with this one...I'll try the pass through suggestion though thanks that can't hurt!

Cheers
Calvin
calv1n is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-25-2012, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
calv1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Problem solved for some reason the 5th time I reinstalled the driver the HDMI allowed selection and everything works now:confused: Oh well alls well that ends well I guess. Thanks for posts

Cheers
Calvin
calv1n is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off